les presses du réel

Fog (+ 2 DVD)

Fujiko Nakaya - Fog (+ 2 DVD)
First comprehensive monograph dedicated to the Japanese artist's fog sculptures: a luxurious box set gathering an annotated catalogue raisonné of Fujiko Nakaya's Fog Works she has created for public spaces all over the world, as well as her video works and paintings, a video DVD featuring selected fog sculptures as well as two rarely seen videos by Nakaya, and an interactive DVD-ROM containing a vast database of her work.
Sculpting fog is a decidedly unusual art. Fujiko Nakaya is its pioneer. This first comprehensive monograph presents more than fifty of her Fog Works created for public spaces all over the world, as well as her video works and paintings. The artist's texts and drawings, archive items, videos and previously unpublished essays by French and Japanese authors, document this exceptional art approach, which reinvents the meeting between art, science and technology. A DVD-ROM and a DVD Video include some rare videos by the artist, as well as a substantial filmed documentation about her Fog Sculptures, from the famous Pepsi Pavilion in 1970 to the most recent ones in 2011.
Fujiko Nakaya (born 1933 in Sapporo, Hokkaido) pioneered video art in Japan and was the first to explore new technologies in landscape art. Since the 1970s, she has been creating “Fog Sculptures,” or misty environments offering visitors a surprising visual, bodily, and mental experience.
Edited by Fujiko Nakaya and Anne-Marie Duguet.
Texts by Michel Butor, Anne-Marie Duguet, Marion Halligan, Pierre-Damien Huyghe, Yuji Morioka, Urara Nakamura, Fujiko Nakaya, Kenjiro Okazaki, Bill Viola...

DVD-ROM graphic design and programmation: doubleNegatives Architecture.
published in October 2012
trilingual edition (English / French / Japanese)
19,5 x 14 cm (softcover)
416 pages (color & b/w ill.)
ISBN : 978-2-9518132-2-9
EAN : 9782951813229
in stock
press releases
Fog (+ 2 DVD) Fog (+ 2 DVD)

 top of page