english version / version française
Black Transparency – The Right to Know in the Age of Mass Surveillance
Metahaven [see all titles]
Sternberg Press [see all titles] Monographs and artists' books [see all titles]
 Metahaven Black Transparency The Right to Know in the Age of Mass Surveillance
published in January 2016
English edition
12,8 x 20 cm (softcover)
288 pages (100 ill.)
ISBN: 978-3-95679-006-5
EAN: 9783956790065
out of print
 
Built by the design collective Metahaven, the project Black Transparency questions how information is organized globally and what role the concept of transparency occupies within it. This book engages transparency's junctions with design, architecture, and pop culture through Metahaven's research on technology, structures of information, networks and the Internet.
A Google executive once said: “If you want to liberate a society just give them the Internet.” But how does one liberate a society that already has the Internet? Publicly, modern government adheres to the twin ideals of institutional transparency and personal privacy. In reality, while citizens are subjected to mass surveillance, government practice goes unchecked. A new generation has taken to the Internet to defend the right to governance without secrets. From Bradley Manning and WikiLeaks to LulzSec and Anonymous, from the Icelandic Modern Media Initiative to the revelations of Edward Snowden, a coalition is breaking through the secrecy that lies at the core of the modern state. The story gets more complex when open government is contrasted with black transparency, and when a geopolitical rift between the West and Russia becomes the dividing line for whistleblowers and transparency activists seeking refuge. What is transparency for one may be propaganda for the other.
Metahaven is an Amsterdam-based research and design collective on the cutting blade between politics and aesthetics. Metahaven's work—both commissioned and self-directed—reflects political and social issues in provocative graphic design objects. Metahaven has been supporting WikiLeaks through their graphic design work. Its work has been published and shown world wide.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Black Transparency – The Right to Know in the Age of Mass Surveillance
Metahaven [tous les titres]
Sternberg Press [tous les titres] Monographies et livres d'artistes [tous les titres]
 Metahaven Black Transparency The Right to Know in the Age of Mass Surveillance
paru en janvier 2016
édition anglaise
12,8 x 20 cm (broché)
288 pages (100 ill.)
22.00 €
ISBN : 978-3-95679-006-5
EAN : 9783956790065
en stock
 
Le projet « Black Transparency » mis en place par le collectif néerlandais Metahaven, qui conçoit le design graphique comme un outil politique, questionne la notion de transparence à l'heure de la mondialisation de l'information. Cet ouvrage opère des connexions entre transparence et design, architecture et pop culture à travers les recherches de Metahaven sur la technologie, les structures de l'information, internet et ses réseaux.
« Si vous voulez libérer une société, vous n'avez qu'à lui donner accès à internet » déclara un jour un dirigeant de Google. Mais comment libérer une société qui vit déjà avec internet ? Officiellement, les gouvernements modernes adhèrent aux idéaux conjoints de la transparence institutionnelle et de la vie privée. En réalité, alors que les citoyens sont sujets à la surveillance de masse, les pratiques gouvernementales restent incontrôlées. Une nouvelle génération a choisi internet comme outil pour défendre le droit à une gouvernance sans secrets. De Bradley Manning et WikiLeaks à LulzSec et aux Anonymous, de l'Initiative islandaise pour la Modernisation des Médias jusqu'aux révélations d'Edward Snowden, une coalition s'est formée qui met à jour les secrets de l'État moderne. L'histoire se complexifie encore quand une démocratie ouverte s'oppose à une transparence « noire », et lorsqu'une rupture géopolitique entre l'Occident et la Russie devient une ligne de démarcation pour lanceurs d'alertes et activistes cherchant l'asile politique. Quand la transparence de l'un devient la propagande de l'autre.
Basé à Amsterdam, Metahaven est un collectif de recherche et de design aux préoccupations à la fois politiques et esthétiques. Qu'ils soient commissionnés ou autonomes, les projets graphiques provocateurs de Metahaven constituent un reflet de problématiques politiques et sociales actuelles. Ce soutien de Wikileaks a vu son travail publié et exposé dans le monde entier.