english version / version française
Negus
Invernomuto [see all titles]
Humboldt Books [see all titles]
 Invernomuto Negus
Edited by Emanuele Guidi & Invernomuto.
Texts by Anna Della Subin, David Katz, Emanuele Guidi, Frida Carazzato, Invernomuto.

Graphic design: Invernomuto.
published in December 2014
bilingual edition (English / Italian / German)
21 x 26 cm (softcover, no spine)
112 pages (duotone ill.)
€18.00
ISBN: 978-88-908418-2-8
EAN: 9788890841828
in stock
 
Artist's book based on a complex project linking Vernasca, Ethiopia and Jamaica according to two points of view, placing certain critical moments in Italy's colonial history in relation to the symbolism of Rastafarian tradition.
Negus has originated from a very specific historical event dating back to the time of the Italian occupation in Ethiopia in 1936, when a wounded soldier was forced to return to Vernasca (PC), Invernomuto's native town. On the occasion of his return, the community organized a joyful and obscure ritual in the main square during which was burnt the effigy of Haile Selassie I, last Negus of Ethiopia as well as the Messiah according to the Rastafarian cult, developed in Jamaica during the early 30s.
Invernomuto's project follows an itinerary that is initially biographical, but that expands and develops, linking Vernasca, Ethiopia and Jamaica according to two points of view: certain critical moments in Italy's colonial history are placed in relation to the symbolism of Rastafarian tradition.
The book, further development of the project Negus, contains an extensive visual section developed drawing on various personal archives, two unpublished essays by David Katz and Anna Della Subin and an interview with the two artists held by Frida Carazzato and Emanuele Guidi.
Published on the occasion of the projects I-Ration, at ar/ge kunst (2014), and Negus – Far Eye, for the media façade at Museion (2014), Bolzano.
Invernomuto was conceived by Simone Bertuzzi and Simone Trabucchi in 2003. Its media of choice are sound and the moving image. Other possible forms are sculpture, publishing, and live actions.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Negus
Invernomuto [tous les titres]
Humboldt Books [tous les titres]
 Invernomuto Negus
Edité par Emanuele Guidi & Invernomuto.
Textes de Anna Della Subin, David Katz, Emanuele Guidi, Frida Carazzato, Invernomuto.

Conception graphique: Invernomuto.
paru en décembre 2014
édition trilingue (anglais / italien / allemand)
21 x 26 cm (broché, sans dos)
112 pages (ill. bichromie)
18.00 €
ISBN : 978-88-908418-2-8
EAN : 9788890841828
en stock
 
Livre d'artiste (publié dans le cadre du programme ambitieux et singulier d'Humboldt, jeune maison d'édition italienne qui entreprend de réinventer le genre du récit de voyage) basé sur un projet reliant les sombres heures de l'histoire coloniale de l'Italie, celle de l'Ethiopie et le symbolisme de la tradition rastafari en Jamaïque.
Negus prend sa source dans un événement historique particulier datant de l'occupation italienne en Ethiopie en 1936, quand un soldat blessé a été forcé de retourner à Vernasca (Emilie-Romagne), la ville natale du duo d'artistes Invernomuto. A l'occasion de son retour, la communauté a organisé un rituel obscur sur la place principale au cours duquel a été brûlée l'effigie de Haïlé Sélassié Ier, dernier Négus d'Ethiopie et messie selon le culte rastafari, développé en Jamaïque au début des années 1930.
Initialement biographique, le projet suit un itinéraire qui se développe en reliant Vernasca, l'Ethiopie et la Jamaïque selon deux points de vue : certains moments critiques de l'histoire coloniale de l'Italie sont mis en relation avec le symbolisme de la tradition rastafari.
Le livre, qui constitue un prolongement à part entière du projet éponyme, contient une vaste section visuelle composée de diverses archives personnelles, deux essais inédits de David Katz et Anna Della Subin et un entretien avec les artistes.
Publié à l'occasion des projets I-Ration à ar/ge kunst (2014) et Negus – Far Eye, pour la façade du Museion (2014), Bolzano.
Invernomuto est le nom du projet pluridisciplinaire (son, vidéo, sculpture, édition, événements) conçu en 2003 par Simone Bertuzzi et Simone Trabucchi.