english version / version française
Spectres #01 – Composing Listening
Spectres [see all issues]
  Spectres Composer l’écoute
Edited by François Bonnet and Bartolomé Sanson.
Texts by Félicia Atkinson, François Bayle, François Bonnet, Drew Daniel, Brunhild Ferrari, Beatriz Ferreyra, Stephen O'Malley, Jim O'Rourke, Eliane Radigue, Régis Renouard, Larivière Espen, Sommer Eide, Daniel Teruggi, Chris Watson.

Graphic design: Bartolomé Sanson.

Published with the INA GRM.
published in February 2019
bilingual edition (English / French)
12,5 x 20 cm (softcover)
256 pages (ill.)
€14.00
ISBN: 978-2-36582-031-8
EAN: 9782365820318
in stock
 
Spectres – Composing Listening presents a series of texts by composers (Félicia Atkinson, François Bayle, Brunhild Ferrari, Stephen O'Malley, Jim O'Rourke, Eliane Radigue, Chris Watson...) who discuss personal dimension in the practice of experimental sound art and music.
This book has been conceived as both a prism and a manual. Following the “traditional” arc of electroacoustic composition (listen—record—compose—deploy—feel), each of the contributions collected together here focuses in on a personal aspect, a fragment of that thrilling territory that is sonic and musical experimentation.
Although the term “experimental music” may now have be understood as referring to a genre, or even a particular style, we ought to hold on to the original use of this term, which was based more on an approach than on any particular aesthetic line to be followed. The experimental is first and foremost a spirit, the spirit of the exploration of unknown territories, a spirit of invention which sees musical composition more as a voyage into uncertain territories than as a self-assured approach working safe within the bosom of fully mapped out and recognized lands.
Spectres is an annual publication dedicated to sound and music experimentation, co-published by Shelter Press and Ina GRM – Groupe de Recherches Musicales.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Spectres n° 01 – Composer l’écoute
Spectres [tous les numéros]
  Spectres Composer l’écoute
Edité par François Bonnet et Bartolomé Sanson.
Textes de Félicia Atkinson, François Bayle, François Bonnet, Drew Daniel, Brunhild Ferrari, Beatriz Ferreyra, Stephen O'Malley, Jim O'Rourke, Eliane Radigue, Régis Renouard, Larivière Espen, Sommer Eide, Daniel Teruggi, Chris Watson.

Conception graphique : Bartolomé Sanson.

Publié avec l'INA.
parution prévue en 2018
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
12,5 x 20 cm (broché)
256 pages (ill.)
14.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-36582-031-8
EAN : 9782365820318
à paraître
 
Spectres – Composer l'écoute présente une série de textes de compositeurs français et étrangers qui s'entretiennent sur l'importance de la dimension personnelle dans la pratique de l'expérimentation sonore et musicale. Il s'agit du premier numéro d'une revue annuelle librement inspirée des Cahiers recherche/musique publiés par l'Ina GRM à la fin des années 1970.
Cette publication a été pensée comme un prisme et un manuel. Suivant l'arc « traditionnel » de la composition électroacoustique (écouter – enregistrer – composer – déployer – ressentir), chacune des contributions regroupées ici pointe un aspect personnel, fragment de territoire passionnant qu'est celui de l'expérimentation sonore et musicale.
Si le terme de musique expérimentale a pu être assimilé à un genre, voir à un style, il ne faut pour autant pas oublier l'usage initial de ce terme, qui était basé plus sur la démarche que sur la ligne esthétique adoptée. L'expérimental, en effet, est d'abord un esprit, un esprit d'exploration des territoires inouïs, un esprit d'invention qui voit dans la composition musicale plus un voyage vers des terres incertaines qu'une démarche assurée produisant dans le giron de terres balisées et reconnues.
Spectres est une publication annuelle consacrée à l'expérimentation sonore et musicale, coéditée par Shelter Press et l'Ina GRM – Groupe de Recherches Musicales.