les presses du réel

Tacet #03 – From Sound Space

(ebook PDF )
 - Tacet #03
3rd issue of the sound arts and experimental music annual review, devoted to the question of sound space.
Featuring: Alvin Lucier, Kirsi Peltomäki, Michael Asher, Seth Cluett, Jeffrey Mansfield, Michael Gallagher, María Andueza Olmedo, Arthur Stidfolde, Éric La Casa & Jean-Luc Guionnet, Christina Kubisch, Maryanne Amacher, Paul Panhuysen, Douglas Kahn, Emmanuel Holterbach, Christian Wolff, Paul Hegarty, Ivana Miladinović Prica, Tom Mays...
Tacet is a new research publication dedicated to sound arts and experimental music. Published annually and bilingually (French, English), its ambition is to create an interdisciplinary and international space of reflection for this practices, in all its aesthetic diversity.
Tacet, as John Cage showed so well in 4'33'', designates a moment of silence observed by an instrumentalist during the whole period of a movement. By extension, it becomes, as the title of this publication, a moment of introspection, of reflectivity and reflection, where music interrupts itself to give way to research and theoretical questioning.
aims, in this way, on the side of sound arts and experimental music, to contribute to the renewal of theoretical research by confronting and intersecting artists and musicians' speeches, studies coming from aesthetics and philosophy of art, from the critical renewal of musicology, from cultural studies and gender studies, from political thought, from social sciences and geography.
Tacet is part of the Ohcetecho series, dedicated to sound arts and experimental music, published by Les presses du réel (editorial board: Matthieu Saladin and Yvan Etienne).
Edited by Yvan Etienne, Bertrand Gauguet and Matthieu Saladin.
published in June 2014
bilingual edition (English / French)
448 pages (b/w ill.)
ISBN : 978-2-84066-629-5
EAN : 9782840666295
press releases

 top of page