les presses du réel

Ultrablack of Music

 - Ultrablack of Music
The ultra-blackness manifesto: a Deleuzian reading of the philosophical and socio-political stakes of the current electronic music scene (publication marking the reactivation of the influential label Mille Plateaux, with texts by an ensemble of international musicians, artists and theorists: Frédéric Neyrat, Achim Szepanski, Holger Schulze, Gerriet K. Sharma, Bernd Herzogenrath, Corry Shores, Marcus Schmickler, Thomas Brinkmann, Thomas Köner...).
Ultrablack of Music speculates on the manifold ways in which the objective, inhuman soundworlds, which roar underneath humans' sensological apparatus, pervade and smoothly colonize our humanoid-alien, affective and cognitive capacities—and how to construct ways out of the mess of the Master Rhythms of Sonic Thanaticist Capital and its stratagems of annihilation and pulpification.
Speculative rhythm productions drive the mathematical ope-rationality and its decisional self-amputations to the edge and create the missing corporeality that rewires our affective capacities and inhibitions by un-mooring, alienating/de-realizing our relations to the killing abstractions (reductive Binarism, identitism/autism), the techgnostical mindset and its mystifications.
Ultrablackened music confronts and pushes us also into the experimentation with this nameless in-between, in which new temporalities can emerge whose winding paths and outcomes can neither be predicted nor guaranteed.
Its cruel love vigorously informed and fueled by the hate in ending this world, as we know and sonically experience it.
The book includes a compilation, which can be downloaded, with tracks from Automatisme, Thomas Köner, B Ashra, Bienoise, bpmf, SIFIR, echonaut, EPS, Marcel Daemgen, Mijk van Dijk, Khem One, Solar Debris, Grupo Coral a Voz do Alentejo na Quinta do Conde feat Dr Walker, Dr. W, Dr. NoiseM, omsk information & dr walker, stine m, svensyntetics, NicoNote, Pavel Zhagun, Schmickler Rohrhuber, Somnambule, Stefan Paulus, The Allegorist, Thomas Brinkmann, Bill B. Wintermute, DJ Durbin, Gerriet K. Sharma, Antonia Manhartsberger, Siegfried Kärcher, Woulg, Zoy Winterstein.

Achim Szepanski (born in Karlsruhe) was a member of the German experimental noise band P.D. in 1980, and then P16.D4 in 1982. He is the founder of the legendary and highly influential electronic music labels Force Inc. (1991) and Mille Plateaux (1993). He also works as an author and lecturer, mainly on philosophy topics. His research focuses lately primarly on Speculative Capital. His recent publications are Capitalisation 1 & 2, Non-Marxism, Capital and Power in the 21th Century, and Imperialism, State-Fascism and the War Machines of Capital. He is the editor of NON.

2nd edition (2023).
Edited by Achim Szepanski.
Texts by Jan Heintz, Frédéric Neyrat, Achim Szepanski, Holger Schulze, Zafer Aracagök, Shintaro Miyazaki, Gerriet K. Sharma, Txgen Meyer, Taylor Adkins & Joseph Weissman, Bernd Herzogenrath, Corry Shores & Melike Başak Yalçin, Algorithmic Committee, Jose Rosales, Stefan Paulus, Marcus Schmickler & Julian Rohrhuber, Thomas Brinkmann, Thomas Köner, Alessio Kolioulis, Benjamin Noys, Bill B. Wintermute.

Graphic design: Kerstin Davies.
published in March 2020
English edition
19 x 27 cm (softcover)
268 pages (b/w ill.)
ISBN : 978-3-00-064816-8
EAN : 9783000648168
in stock
press releases

 top of page