english version / version française
9e Biennale d’art contemporain de Lyon – L’histoire d’une décennie qui n’est pas encore nommée
Les presses du réel Contemporary art [see all titles]
  9e Biennale d’art contemporain de Lyon L’histoire d’une décennie qui n’est pas encore nommée
Edited by Stéphanie Moisdon and Hans Ulrich Obrist.
Texts by Anselm Jappe, Paul Veyne, Ralph Rugoff, François Cusset, Stefano Boeri, Okwui Enwezor, Mehdi Belhaj Kacem, Michel Houellebecq, Saâdane Afif, Pierre Joseph.
Graphic design: M/M (Paris).
published in 2007
French edition
18 x 23,5 (softcover)
304 pages (500 colour ill.)
€28.00 €18.00
(special offer)
ISBN: 978-2-84066-221-1
EAN: 9782840662211
in stock
Catalogue of the 9th Contemporary Art Lyon Biennal (The History of a Decade that has not yet been named), curated by Stéphanie Moisdon and Hans Ulrich Obrist, from September 19 2007 to January 6 2008.
This publication is concerned with play, mapping, and the experience of a collective writing. Thought of as a history, geography, and contemporary art book, it is the result of a series of delegations, invitations, and programs of those who conceived the event. Bringing together 70 “players” from around the world, divided into two groups according to whether they are artists or critics and exhibition curators, the project was developed around a central question: How to define the current decade. If the task of the first group was to choose responses among those proposed by artists today, the second group, benefiting from an open curatorial proposition, had to sequence these choices or confront them with others. Altogether, these subjectivities, framed by a few rules of presentation find themselves here as participants in an exercise of determining, repositioning, and reframing a decade and an object – art – the course of which is, as the yardstick of all-purpose concepts today, more and more indispensable.
This catalogue is also available in English edition (hardcover).

With Stéphanie Moisdon, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Saâdane Afif, Jennifer Allora & Guillermo Calzadilla, Wilfrid Almendra, Yves Aupetitallot, Pierre Bal-Blanc, Virginie Barré, Daniel Birnbaum, Jérôme Bel, Giovanni Carmine, Etienne Chambaud, Claude Closky, Delphine Coindet, Keren Cytter, Alain Declercq, Philippe Decrauzat, Willem De Rooij, Daniel Dewar & Grégory Gicquel, David Evrard, Hu Fang, Urs Fischer, Cyprien Gaillard, Ryan Gander, Mark Geffriaud, Wade Guyton, Dave Hullfish Bailey Norma Jeane, Pierre Joseph, Raimundas Malašauskas, Benoît Maire, Pierre Malphettes, Didier Marcel, Francis McKee, Nathaniel Mellors, Mathieu Mercier, Markus Miessen, Stefan Nikolaev, Olivier Nottelet, Vincent Pécoil, Bruno Peinado, Abraham Poincheval, Seth Price, Lili Reynaud-Dewar, Thomas Saraceno, Josh Smith, Simon Starling, Rirkrit Tiravanija, Armando Andrade Tudela, Rosemarie Trockel, Eric Troncy, Nomeda & Gediminas Urbonas, Annie Vigier & Franck Apertet, Dorothea von Hantelmann, Kelley Walker, Nomeda & Gediminas Urbonas, Tirdad Zolghadr...

See also the catalogues of the 14th, 13th, 12th, 11th (volumes 1 and 2), 10th (volumes 1 and 2), and 7th editions.