english version / version française
A Brief History of New Music
Hans Ulrich Obrist [see all titles]
Les presses du réel Criticism, theory & documents [see all titles]
Hans Ulrich Obrist A Brief History of New Music
Edited by Lionel Bovier and Hans Ulrich Obrist.
Texts by Elliott Carter, Brian Eno, Kraftwerk, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Pauline Oliveros, Yoko Ono, Steve Reich, Terry Riley, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Iannis Xenakis.

Published with JRP|Ringier.
published in January 2014
English edition
15 x 21 cm (softcover)
264 pages
ISBN: 978-2-84066-619-6 / 978-3-03764-190-3
EAN: 9783037641903
in stock
An anthology.
Following the success of “A Brief History of Curating” (now available in five different languages), this publication gathers together interviews with pioneering musicians of the 1950s to the 1980s. The book thus brings together avant-garde composers such as Elliot Carter, Pierre Boulez, and Karlheinz Stockhausen; originators of electro-acoustic music such as François Bayle, Pauline Oliveros, Iannis Xenakis, and Peter Zinovieff; Minimalist and Fluxus-inspired artists such as Tony Conrad, Phill Niblock, Yoko Ono, Steve Reich, and Terry Riley; as well figures such as Brian Eno, Kraftwerk, Arto Lindsay, and Caetano Veloso. Their contributions map the evolution of the musical field, from early experiments in concrete and abstract music, to the electronic development and the hybridization between Pop and avant-garde culture.

“What a generous and incredible documentation of modern composers' minds and spirits!! It reveals their different characters, moods, methods, and more—proper fertile!!!” —Björk
Second edition (revised edition, 2016).

See also Hans Ulrich Obrist: A Brief History of Curating; music (index).
Curator and critic Hans Ulrich Obrist (born 1968 in Zurich, lives and works in London) is considered one of the most influential figure in the art world. He joined the Serpentine Gallery (London) as Co-Director of International Exhibitions and Programmes and Director of International Projects in 2006.