english version / version française
Damien Cabanes [see all titles]
Analogues [see all titles] Monographs [see all titles]
order
print send a link
back to description table of contents
 
excerpt
 
Part of what's happening
Olivier Kaeppelin
(excerpt, p. 8)


The first word that comes to mind as I think of the work of Damien Cabanes is the word solitude. Solitude of his work in its day which, disregarding movements and fashions, asserts itself in its demandingness, its necessity.
Damien Cabanes is not isolated, he is at the centre of current international affairs in the arts and in dialogue with artists of every generation, whether close to his own preoccupations or otherwise. He is not isolated, he is alone. His work is produced with no indulgence towards these aesthetic ‘flavours of the month’ that we are supposed to adapt to, but in the untiring pursuit of pictorial or sculptural territories favourable to his subject matter, whatever it may be. His art seeks to construct them for it to appear and deploy in a presence enlivened by surprises and puzzles. This subject matter is not readily definable; it is best summed up by saying ‘any human thing supposed to be complete must be for that very reason infallibly faulty’ (1).
There is something paradoxical about hoping to attain the fullness of a human thing, the heart radiant with what is, whilst knowing that, to do so, one must never give in to the desire for perfection. Perfection is deceptive and leads astray. It loses one in the control or skill that causes the subject of the search to be overlooked. This is a temptation that, with such dazzling technique, Damien Cabanes can face. He never gives in to it because what he experiments first and foremost, in each work, is human nature, the nature of things that only exist in the manifestation of an unstable substance composed of failure, defection and deception. Strangely, this state of affairs, this ‘phenomenon’, produces no melancholy, no depression, but just the opposite, an energy composed of intensities, acmes, chasms, disorder, movements, non-sense, that generate a subdued joy of action, play, spending, carrying us off into the body, the landscape, the virtual infinites of the abstract form. This refusal to give in to a smooth, balanced consistency, accompanied by the philosophical statement of its opposite through the ‘infallibly faulty’, makes Damien Cabanes’ position similar to that of writers like Herman Melville or Ezra Pound, and also Jean Dubuffet, Lucian Freud, or certain Art Brut artists, who are a great passion of his.
The effect of this determination, the acceptance of this contradictory proposition, playing on the humour and absurdity of the ‘infallibly faulty’, results in causal reasoning in order to gain productive freedom. It triggers an extreme attention or a fascination for an unknown territory in which paths are opened up towards so many new lives.

(...)


1 In Herman Melville, Moby Dick, quoted by Peter Szendy in Les Prophéties du Texte-Léviathan, p. 118, Les Éditions de Minuit, 2004.
 
[top]

Fermeture des bureaux & interruption des expéditions du 7 au 23 août : les commandes reçues dans l'intervalle seront traitées à partir du 24. Merci pour votre patience !
les presses du réel
extrait
Une part de ce qui arrive, maintenant
Olivier Kaeppelin
(extrait, p. 6)


Le premier mot qui me vient à l'esprit, en pensant à l'œuvre de Damien Cabanes, est le mot solitude. Solitude de son œuvre, dans son temps, qui, quels que soient les courants ou les modes, s'a$rme dans son exigence, sa nécessité.
Damien Cabanes n'est pas isolé, il est au cœur de l'actualité internationale de l'art et dialogue avec les artistes de toutes les générations, proches ou éloignés de ses préoccupations. Il n'est pas isolé, il est seul. Son œuvre se fait sans aucune complaisance avec les dominantes esthétiques du moment dont nous serions censés nous accommoder, mais dans la poursuite incessante des territoires picturaux ou sculpturaux, favorables à son sujet, quel qu'il soit. Son art cherche à les constituer pour qu'il paraisse, se déploie, en une présence animée de surprises et d'énigmes. Ce sujet n'est pas facile à définir, disons, pour être le plus synthétique, que c'est « une chose humaine supposée complète » et pour cela « infailliblement défectueuse (infallibly faulty (1)) ».
Il est paradoxal d'avoir l'espoir d'atteindre la plénitude d'une chose humaine, le cœur rayonnant de ce qui est, tout en sachant que, pour y parvenir, il ne faut jamais céder au désir de perfection. Celle-ci, trompeuse, égare. Elle vous perd dans la maîtrise ou le métier, qui font oublier l'objet de la recherche. Cette tentation, Damien Cabanes peut l'avoir tant sa technique est brillante. Il n'y succombe jamais car il expérimente avant tout, dans chaque œuvre, la nature humaine, la nature des choses qui n'existent que dans la manifestation d'une substance instable faite de défaillance, de défection, de déception. Étrangement, cet état de fait, ce « phénomène », ne provoque aucune mélancolie, aucune dépression mais, au contraire, une énergie faite d'intensités, d'acmés, d'abîmes, de désordre, de remuements, de non sense, qui génèrent une joie sourde de l'action, du jeu, de la dépense, nous emportant dans le corps, le paysage, les infinis virtuels de la forme abstraite. Ce refus de céder à une cohérence lisse, équilibrée, accompagné de l'a$rmation philosophique de son contraire à travers « l'infailliblement défectueux », rapproche la position de Damien Cabanes de celles d'écrivains comme Herman Melville, Ezra Pound, mais aussi de celles de Jean Dubuffet, de Lucian Freud, ou de certains artistes de l'art brut, qui suscitent, chez lui, une grande passion.
L'effet de cette volonté, l'acceptation de cette proposition contradictoire, jouant de l'humour et de l'absurde, de « l'infaillible défectueux », provoque un laisser-aller de la raison pour la conquête d'une liberté féconde. Elle déclenche une attention extrême ou une fascination pour un territoire inconnu dans lequel nous nous frayons des ouvertures vers autant de vies nouvelles.

(...)


1 In Moby Dick, Herman Melville cité par Peter Szendy in Les Prophéties du texte-Léviathan, p. 118, Les Éditions de Minuit, 2004.


 haut de page