extract
Auspices of a variable sky
François Quintin
(p. 11-13)


The crystal-clear ringing of the chimes can already be heard from the Schoolyard.
When entering, on the opposite wall, a simple piece of newspaper, torn-out from Le Monde is encircled inside a Plexiglas cover.The title has been transformed by two red “S”s, allowing the visitor to read it as a new enigma : LeS MondeS. There would be several of them then, placed one on top of another, like a disorganized layer-cake. For this, the artist only needed a red felt pen, just as the surgeon only needs his scalpel to reach the heart. The fine gothic architecture of these printed letters, these few characters on which our resigned reading has been based since the Western world of Gutenberg, are thus etched out by a radically economical artistic gesture.
Mircea Cantor declared in the past that he no longer wished to take photographs as such. Even so, he comes from the world of images, from photography, graphic design, and video, but he always finds himself confronted with the cruel question of the vanity of producing “yet another image”. Even though he makes things visible, what he produces is not motivated by the desire to create images, but to create meaning, to present objects of strong symbolic density. Mircea Cantor creates works like monuments, with the ambition of saying things once and for all.However, his propositions are never doctrinal. It is a work of affirmation, but he confers on the viewer the entire responsibility for his interpretations, his reading. He transforms ideological barriers into translucent surfaces through which one may read unpredictable futures. He unfolds certainties in order to give form to all that is uncertain, and through shapes to materialize a serenity in the irresolute, since we are indistinctly under the auspices of a variable sky.

The tinkling of the chimes accompanies us more precisely.
Since we have opened our dialogue about the exhibition, I have been struck by Mircea Cantor's ability not to answer questions, but rather to give them new perspective, taking enough distance always to be able to consider the poetic outcome.The question of economy, for instance, is omnipresent.Whether it is this Chaplet – barbed wire drawn onto the wall by pressing aligned inked fingerprints, surrounding the space – or Stranieri – a modest table on which four loaves of bread have been cut into by kitchen knives, and whose open wounds seem to be oozing salt – or the work which gives the exhibition its title, Ciel variable – written on the ceiling in candlesmoke – these works all demonstrate the artist's power to reach the sensitive and the human, with a great economy of means. Rosace, majestically welcoming the visitor, evokes more precisely the question of an alternative economy.The work was generated by the encounter of a woman on Beaubourg's square, overshadowed by the Parisian temple of contemporary art.She makes star-shaped ashtrays out of soda cans.When asked how much they cost, she answers : “give me what you want, and take what you want”. Mircea Cantor was troubled by this imposition of an unusual economic relationship requiring humanistic responsibility, unquotable on the stock market, in which the simultaneous presence of individuals and their mutual trust instantly overtake monetary value. Mircea Cantor wanted to involve the work of this person,who had so simply formulated a human economic utopia, in his symbolic construction. The piece takes the form of a rosette. It not only evokes the stained-glass windows of the Cathedral, but also, in a more ecumenical manner, yantras or other types of shapes used in iconoclastic worships… Mircea Cantor decided this after noticing the air vent of a building in Rheims, the result of an ongoing mutation of forms coinciding with the alchemy of ideologies, to which the artist is particularly attentive. In this anecdote the symbolic power present in this mutation of the object emerges, a way of formulating a desired future freed from instructions, allowing the conception of a different organization of the world and its values. This position may be found in the philosophy of Charles Fourrier or in the writings of Henry David Thoreau. Mircea Cantor told me to what extent the assurance of Thoreau's theses, in total counterpoint with his time, had accompanied him during the conception of this exhibition.

The pure, metallic tinkling spreads like a rumor.
Climbing the stairs, we find ourselves face-to-face with a drawing depicting a kind of French garden in the clouds. It is a collaborative work, which the artist has been carrying out with his 10-year old nephew. In this exchange, which has evolved over a period of five years, Mircea Cantor has entrusted this particularly bright child with a series of tasks, such as inventing worlds, playing a game in which the rules are made up along the way, or drawing the artist's biography. Here, Alex Mura˘rescu, after reading the passage of the Apocalypse of St John, offers his interpretation of Celestial Jerusalem. This call for creative candor by the artist who becomes commissioner, subtly foregrounds the question of intellectual authority, since the singular work only exists in the non-referential balance of this exchange.

At last the tinkling reveals the source of its gentle alarm.
Monument for the end of the world is the anticipatory commemoration of a future event. It is the model of a city made of fragile pieces of wood, featuring a dominant crane from which the chimes are suspended.With the wind, the jingling of suspen- 12 ded musicality delicately warns us of an impending end, the end of the world, perhaps that which was promised to us, or those lost in the process of standardization. This is not the project of a monument to come, but the expression of a different kind of monumentality. The first concern of the maker of monuments is its resistance to time. Made of bronze or of stone, the commemorative object must last as long as possible. Here, the monument consists of fragile materials, as perishable as we are, as the worlds we cross and we share, still captive of the resonance of the chimes, inviting us to rethink our visit of the exhibition, while considering that the end of the world might begin with the rumor.
A narrow corridor leads to the last room. In the dark, a 16mm film shows the slow combustion of a flag of which we only perceive the shadow – the negative of an icon – the last moments of a black square on a white background. The looped film reminds us how much its own consistency is degradable and fragile. The shadow of the flag that begins to burn, evokes in a way the anxiety of the first projectionists, when movies were printed on highly inflammable celluloid film.With Shadow for a while, Mircea Cantor conveys the vulnerability of the emblematic affirmation of pre-established communities, nationalistic or otherwise. He thus refutes their power to erase singularities.
In parallel, the small painting entitled The Spring presents a dawning sky obstructed by dead branches, with a burgeoning nest in the middle. For Mircea Cantor, there is no real community when there is collective blindness. He is, himself, a very active member of an artistic and intellectual renaissance in Romania, particularly in his native city of Cluj. The nest, whether familial, social, cultural, or intimate, evokes our capacity to tuck in our individualities, our power to build worlds the stability of which only becomes possible with our desire to share.
I wish to thank Mircea Cantor here for his extreme generosity. I would also like to thank Mihnea Mircan, as well as the great artist Ion Grigorescu, for their participation. Finally, my thanks go to the Lycée Val de Murigny in Rheims, where Mircea Cantor was able to work in residency and produce Shadow for a while.This book accords special attention to the exhibition Ciel variable, while also bringing together a great number of the artist's works, as well as an original portfolio testifying to his attentive observation of the worlds, full of signs of an unforeseeable future.


 top of page

les presses du réel
extrait
Les augures d'un ciel variable
François Quintin
(p. 14-16)


De la Cour des Elèves, on entend déjà les traits cristallins du carillon.
En entrant, en face, au mur, un simple morceau déchiré du journal Le Monde est cerclé d'une coiffe en plexiglas. Le titre est transfiguré par deux «S» rouges, laissant le soin au visiteur de le lire comme une nouvelle énigme : LeS MondeS. Il y en aurait donc plusieurs, les uns sur les autres, comme des mille-feuilles en désordre. L'artiste n'a eu besoin que d'un feutre rouge, comme le chirurgien n'a que son bistouri pour accéder au cœur. La fine architecture gothique de ces lettres imprimées, ces quelques lettres qui installent notre lecture résignée depuis l'occident de Gutenberg, se trouve ainsi entaillée d'un geste artistique d'une économie radicale.
Mircea Cantor avait déclaré par le passé ne plus vouloir faire de photographies, au sens de la pratique. Il vient pourtant de l'image, de la photo, du graphisme, de la vidéo, mais se pose toujours à lui la question cruelle de la fatuité de faire « une image de plus ». Même s'il donne à voir, ce qu'il produit n'est pas motivé par le désir de faire des images, mais celui de faire sens, de poser des objets de forte densité symbolique. Mircea Cantor fait des œuvres comme des monuments, avec l'ambition de dire les choses une fois pour toutes. Cependant, ses propositions ne sont jamais doctrinales. C'est une œuvre d'affirmation, mais il confère au spectateur la responsabilité entière de ses interprétations, sa lecture. Il transforme les barrières idéologiques en des surfaces translucides au travers desquelles on peut lire des futurs imprévisibles. Il défait des certitudes pour donner corps à l'incertain, matérialiser par des formes une sérénité dans l'irrésolu, puisque nous sommes indistinctement sous les auspices d'un ciel variable.

Les tintements du carillon nous accompagnent plus précisément.
Depuis que nous avons entamé le dialogue autour de l'exposition, j'ai été frappé par la faculté de Mircea Cantor, non pas à répondre aux questions, mais à leur donner une nouvelle dimension, à prendre assez de distance pour se permettre de toujours envisager l'issue poétique.La question de l'économie, par exemple, est omniprésente.Que ce soit ce Chaplet – fil de fer barbelé dessiné à même le mur par des empreintes de doigts alignées, qui enceint l'espace – que ce soit Stranieri– table modeste sur laquelle quatre morceaux de pain sont entaillés de couteaux de cuisine, et dont les plaies semblent rendre du sel – ou encore l'œuvre qui donne son titre à l'exposition, Ciel variable – écrit à la fumée de bougie au plafond – ces œuvres montrent un pouvoir de l'artiste à toucher au sensible et à l'humain avec une très grande économie de moyens. La Rosace, accueillant avec majesté le visiteur, évoque plus précisément la question d'une économie alternative. L'œuvre est née d'une rencontre. Celle d'une femme sur le parvis de Beaubourg, à l'ombre du temple parisien de l'art contemporain. Elle fabrique des cendriers en forme d'étoile avec des canettes de sodas. Lorsqu'on lui demande le prix, elle répond : « donne moi ce que tu veux, et prends ce que tu veux ». Mircea Cantor a été troublé par cette imposition d'une relation économique inhabituelle qui commande à la responsabilité humaniste, un marché qui ne peut être coté en bourse, où la co-présence des individus et la confiance mutuelle prennent instantanément le pas sur la valeur monétaire. Mircea Cantor souhaitait impliquer dans sa construction symbolique le travail de celle qui avait si simplement formulé une utopie humaine de l'économie.L'œuvre prend la forme d'une rosace. Elle n'évoque pas seulement les vitraux de la cathédrale, mais aussi, de façon plus œcuménique, les yantras ou d'autres registres de formes de cultes iconoclastes… Il a pris cette décision en voyant une bouche d'aération d'immeuble à Reims, résultat d'une mutation perpétuelle des formes prises dans l'alchimie des idéologies, à laquelle l'artiste est particulièrement attentif. Il y a dans l'anecdote la puissance symbolique de cette mutation de l'objet, une façon de formuler un avenir souhaitable qui s'affranchit des mots d'ordre, qui se permet de penser une autre organisation du monde et de ses valeurs, une posture qu'on peut retrouver dans la philosophie d'un Charles Fourrier, ou les écrits d'un Henry David Thoreau. Mircea Cantor me disait combien l'assurance des thèses de Thoreau, en contrepoint total avec son temps, l'avait accompagné dans la conception de cette exposition.

Le tintement pur et métallique se répand comme la rumeur.
En montant les escaliers, on se trouve face à un dessin représentant une sorte de jardin à la française dans les nuages. Il s'agit d'une œuvre de collaboration que l'artiste réalise avec son neveu âgé de 10 ans. Dans cet échange sur cinq ans, Mircea Cantor confie à cet enfant particulièrement éveillé toute une série de tâches à réaliser : inventer des mondes, jouer à un jeu dont on détermine les règles en cours de route, dessiner la biographie de l'artiste... Ici Alex Mura˘rescu, après lecture du passage de l'Apocalypse de St Jean, nous livre son interprétation de la Jérusalem Céleste. Cet appel à la candeur créatrice par un artiste devenu commanditaire pose subtilement la question de l'autorité intellectuelle puisque l'œuvre singulière n'existe que dans l'équilibre non référentiel de cet échange.

Enfin le tintement révèle la source de son alarme douce.
Monument for the end of the world est la commémoration par anticipation d'un événement futur. La maquette d'une ville faite de fragiles pièces de bois, présente en son surplomb une grue de laquelle pend le carillon. Au gré du vent, le tintement d'une musicalité suspendue nous alarme avec délicatesse d'une fin prochaine, celle du monde, peut-être celui qu'on nous promet, peut-être ceux qu'on perd dans l'uniformisation générale. Ce n'est pas le projet d'un monument à venir, mais l'expression d'une monumentalité autre. Le premier tracas du fabricant de monuments est sa résistance dans le temps. En bronze ou en pierre, l'objet commémoratif doit durer le plus longtemps possible. Ici le monument est constitué de matériaux fragiles, aussi périssables que nous, que les mondes que nous traversons, que nous partageons, encore captifs de cette résonance du carillon qui nous invite à repenser notre parcours dans l'exposition, tout en se disant que la fin du monde commencera peut-être par la rumeur.
Par un corridor étroit on accède à la dernière salle.Dans la pénombre, un film 16mm montre la lente combustion d'un drapeau dont on ne perçoit que l'ombre – une icône en négatif – les derniers instants d'un carré noir sur fond blanc.Le film mis en boucle nous rappelle combien sa matière est dégradable et fragile. L'ombre du drapeau qui commence à s'enflammer évoque un peu les angoisses des premiers projectionnistes, lorsque le cinéma était couché sur des pellicules hautement inflammables.Avec Shadow for a while, Mircea Cantor désigne la vulnérabilité de l'affirmation emblématique de communautés pré-établies, qu'elles soient nationales ou autres, et dont il refuse le pouvoir d'effacement des singularités.
En écho, la petite peinture titrée Le Printemps présente un ciel d'aurore traversé de branches mortes, au milieu desquelles un nid bourgeonne.Pour Mircea Cantor, il n'est pas de communauté véritable dans l'aveuglement collectif. Lui-même est un membre très actif d'une renaissance artistique et intellectuelle en Roumanie, particulièrement dans sa ville de Cluj. Le nid, qu'il soit familial, social, culturel, intime, évoque notre faculté à blottir nos individualités, notre pouvoir à bâtir des mondes dont la stabilité n'est possible que par notre désir de partage.
Qu'il me soit permis de remercier ici Mircea Cantor pour son extrême générosité. Je souhaite également remercier Mihnea Mircan, ainsi que le grand artiste Ion Grigorescu, pour leur participation. Enfin, le Lycée Val de Murigny, à Reims, où Mircea Cantor a pu faire sa résidence et produire l'œuvre Shadow for a while. Ce livre porte une attention particulière à l'exposition Ciel variable, mais rassemble également une majorité d'œuvres de l'artiste, ainsi qu'un portfolio original témoignant de son observation attentive des mondes où fourmillent les signes d'un avenir imprévisible.


 haut de page