Editions Mego

Portraits GRM

Perpetrating the fertile collaboration initiated in 2012 with Recollection GRM, INA GRM and Editions Mego offer the Portraits GRM complementary series, no longer focused on the "classic" GRM repertoire but towards recent creations commissioned by the GRM to artists from all horizons. Under the aegis of François J. Bonnet, the Portraits GRM series focuses on important and emerging figures of the experimental music scene and highlights the notion of work rather than album. By reaffirming the concept of musical work, the Portraits GRM series seeks to renew with the pioneering work that the GRM Collection series but also the Philips Prospective 21e Siècle collection had achieved so admirably: offer a panorama of current musical experimentations and embrace a more durable scope with works that manage to extract themselves from an increasingly tyrannical and increasingly hazardous present-time. At a time when nothing knows how to "leave a mark", this series aims to address both current listeners, and explorers of the future. Many releases in the collection are contemporary works by two different musicians, each piece taking up the space of one side. Longer works however, fill an entire record.
The GRM Portraits series program is continued as part of the Shelter Press label catalog beginning in 2022.
Okkyung Lee - Statistique Synthétique / Teum (the Silvery Slit) (vinyl LP)
Editions Mego
currently out of stock
A split album as part of the GRM Portraits series with two electroacoustic pieces by Florian Hecker (computer-generated multiphonic sounds and resynthesized recordings of localized textures) and Okkyung Lee (an acousmatic piece written for computer-generated sounds, pre-recorded materials and cello that was developed for the Acousmonium sound diffusion system during a residence at Ina GRM, Paris, in January 2019).
Lucy Railton - Forma / Metabolist Meter (Foster, Cottin, Caetani and a Fly) (vinyl LP)
Editions Mego
Two pieces that evolve with grace and inspiration in the vast domain of the sound world, each with their own agenda.
Jim O\'Rourke - Shutting Down Here (vinyl LP)
Editions Mego
sold out
Recorded at INA GRM and Steamroom, covering a period of thirty years, the gap between the two visits Jim O'Rourke made to the GRM, featuring Eiko Ishibashi on piano, Atsuko Hatano on violin and viola and Eivind Lonning on trumpet, Shutting Down Here is considered by O'Rourke himself as his “most meaningful” release.

 top of page