english version / version française
Erik Dietman – La Verticale (Millésimes 1962 à 2001)
Nicolas Bourriaud [see all titles]
La Panacée [see all titles]
Nicolas Bourriaud Erik Dietman La Verticale (Millésimes 1962 à 2001)
published in December 2018
bilingual edition (English / French)
14,8 x 21 cm (softcover)
180 pages (color ill.)
€18.00
ISBN: 978-2-490123-02-5
EAN: 9782490123025
in stock
 
Collection of essays by Nicolas Bourriaud on the protean, poetic and Rabelaisian Swedish artist Erik Dietman.
This collection of essays by Nicolas Bourriaud on Erik Dietman is published on the occasion of his exhibition at La Panacée, “The Vertical (Millésimes 1962-2001)”. Covering all periods of his work, it revolves around recurring themes—language explored in its pœtic richness, its double meanings and its aporias; rejoicing and death; Art as drift, refuge and commentary on life… These texts, accompanied by a long interview, mark a relationship nurtured, over time, through conversations and active attention. They describe various facets of a prolific work. This book will give the opportunity to discover Erik Dietman, who defined himself as a “test pilot”, through his relationship with gastronomy, materiality, fellow artists, Nordic legends and playfulness.
Published on the occasion of the eponymous exhibition at La Panacée, Montpellier, from October 13, 2018, to January 13, 2019.

As a multidisciplinary artist, Erik Dietman (1937-2002) deliberately kept himself on the margins of the artistic movements of his time, despite having some affinities with them. A free-thinker, it is was an inde-pendent artist that he created a corpus of personal works that oscillate between reality and poetry. His criticism of the avant-gardes is tinged with subtle humour. The drawings, the assemblages, the sculptures, look like puzzles giving a material existence to the word. His three-dimensional vocabu-lary, ranging from composite assemblies to monumental bronzes, combines narration with figuration and is oriented towards the creation of a sort of visual spoonerism. His art has naturally imposed itself as one of the most original contributions to sculpture of the 20th century.
French art critic, theoretician, and curator Nicolas Bourriaud (born 1965) was a cofounder and codirector of the Palais de Tokyo in Paris (2000–2006), Gulbenkian Curator for Contemporary Art at Tate Britain, director of the Ecole nationale supérieure des Beaux-Arts in Paris. He is currently the artistic director of Montpellier Contemporain, a new institution based in Montpellier, France, and dedicated to the contemporary arts. He is the author of the landmark publication Relational Aesthetics, published in 1998, and still inspirational today for many artists, curators, and art professionals worldwide.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Erik Dietman – La Verticale (Millésimes 1962 à 2001)
Nicolas Bourriaud [tous les titres]
La Panacée [tous les titres]
Nicolas Bourriaud Erik Dietman La Verticale (Millésimes 1962 à 2001)
paru en décembre 2018
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
14,8 x 21 cm (broché)
180 pages (ill. coul.)
18.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-490123-02-5
EAN : 9782490123025
en stock
 
Recueil de textes (illustré) de Nicolas Bourriaud sur l'œuvre d'Erik Dietman, artiste suédois protéiforme, poétique et rabelaisien.
Ce recueil de textes de Nicolas Bourriaud sur l'œuvre d'Erik Dietman est publié à l'occasion de son exposition à La Panacée, « La Verticale (Millésimes 1962-2001) ». Couvrant toutes les périodes de son travail, elle s'articule autour de thèmes récurrents – le langage exploré dans sa richesse poétique, ses double-sens et ses apories ; la jouissance et la mort ; l'art comme dérive, refuge et commentaire sur la vie… Ces textes de circonstance, accompagnés d'un long entretien, témoignent d'une relation qui s'est nourrie, au fil du temps, de conversations et de regards bienveillants et actifs. Ils décrivent diverses facettes d'une œuvre foisonnante. On y retrouvera les relations d'Erik Dietman, qui se définissait comme un « pilote d'essai », à la gastronomie, à la matière, à ses compagnons artistes, aux légendes nordiques et au jeu.
Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition éponyme à La Panacée, Montpellier, du 13 octobre 2018 au 13 janvier 2019.

Artiste pluridisciplinaire, Erik Dietman (1937-2002) s'est volontairement tenu en marge des mouvements artistiques de son époque avec lesquels il entretenait toutefois quelques affinités. Libre-penseur, c'est en artiste indépendant qu'il crée un corpus d'œuvres personnelles, oscillant entre réalité et poésie. La critique qu'il dresse contre les avant-gardes se teinte d'un humour subtil. Les dessins, les assemblages, les sculptures, s'articulent comme des rébus donnant une existence matérielle au mot. Son vocabulaire plastique, allant de l'assemblage composite au bronze monumental, conjugue la narration à la figuration et s'oriente vers le champ de la contrepèterie visuelle. Son art s'est imposé naturellement comme l'une des contributions les plus originales de la sculpture du XXe siècle.
Commissaire d'exposition, écrivain, critique d'art et théoricien mondialement connu notamment pour le concept d'esthétique relationnelle, Nicolas Bourriaud (né en 1965), co-fondateur et co-directeur, avec Jérôme Sans, du Palais de Tokyo à Paris de 2000 à 2006, co-fondateur des revues Documents sur l'art (1992-2000) et Perpendiculaire (1995-1998), a été conservateur pour l'art contemporain à la Tate Britain, professeur à l'université de Venise, chef de l'Inspection de la création artistique à la direction générale de la création artistique du ministère de la Culture, directeur de l'Ecole nationale supérieure des Beaux-arts de Paris. Il dirige actuellement le centre de culture contemporaine la Panacée à Montpellier.