english version / version française
Bright
Rebecka Tollens [see all titles]
United Dead Artists [see all titles]
Rebecka Tollens Bright
published in June 2018
no text
30 x 40 cm (softcover)
32 pages (b/w ill.)
€15.00
ISBN: 978-2-37543-054-5
EAN: 9782375430545
in stock
 
This publication explores the fascinating world of Franco-Swedish artist Rebecka Tollens: Inspired by her own dreams, these lead pencil drawings conjure a troubled atmosphere intermingling themes of Nordic mysticism, sorority and childhood. The publication highlights a series devoted to the Sami people from the Far North.
Published on the occasion of the eponymous exhibition at Arts Factory, Paris, from May 3 to June 16, 2018.
Rebecka Tollens (born 1990 in Stockholm, lives and works in Paris), a French-Swedish artist whose work reveals a real maturity of approach while hinting at the atypical course of her early life. Rebecka long had ambitions for a career in international law and human rights. She participated in a humanitarian mission in Ghana and took a road trip across South America before deciding to study illustration in Paris. Discontent with the inculcation of certain rigid ideas in the academic environment, Rebecka soon developed her own projects, creating album covers for compatriots Say Lou Lou, collaborating with Danish musician Lisa Alma, Aurora and Grand Blanc.
An internship at the Arts Factory gallery in 2013 gave Rebecka the opportunity to meet founders Effi Mild and Laurent Zorzin. These resolute headhunters of the contemporary graphic arts scene quickly recognised something unique in Rebecka's work, and encouraged her to set aside her illustration practice to develop a more personal approach to the themes and the style of her drawing. As ideas emerged and intensified and Rebecka sketched unceasingly, the need for an exhibition became evident to the gallery owners, even though Rebecka was still a student, completing a Master degree at Ecole de Condé.
Her works evokes a coming-of-age of feminine desire through several series of autobiographical drawings. From childhood estrangement to volatile men, Rebecka Tollens shows us a clear and uncompromising view of her education, her sexual awakening and various love affairs. This is daily life—the painful and the comical—seen through a resolutely feminist lens. One night stands and surreal family dinners appear amongst dreamlike Scandinavian landscapes reminiscent of those from the artist's youth, created with graphite on paper and an intuitive sense of composition.
Laurent Zorzin, Arts Factory

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Bright
Rebecka Tollens [tous les titres]
United Dead Artists [tous les titres]
Rebecka Tollens Bright
paru en juin 2018
sans texte
30 x 40 cm (broché)
32 pages (ill. n&b)
15.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-37543-054-5
EAN : 9782375430545
en stock
 
Publication regroupant les splendides dessins de l'artiste franco-suédoise Rebecka Tollens. Réalisées à la mine de plomb, ces œuvres inspirées des rêves de l'artiste sont imprégnées d'une atmosphère trouble, entremêlant les thèmes de la mystique nordique, de la sororité et de l'enfance. L'ouvrage met en avant une série consacrée aux Samis, peuple autochtone du Grand Nord.
Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition éponyme à la galerie Arts Factory, Paris, du du 3 mai au 16 juin 2018.
Jeune artiste à la double culture franco-suédoise, Rebecka Tollens (née en 1990 à Stockholm, vit et travaille à Paris) étonne déjà par son parcours atypique et la maturité de sa production. Si elle se destine tout d'abord au droit international, Rebecka, après une mission humanitaire au Ghana et un road-trip de cinq mois en Amérique du Sud, change radicalement de voie en 2011 pour se lancer dans des études d'illustration à Paris. Pas vraiment à l'aise avec le formatage souvent imposé par les premières années de ce cursus, elle développe très vite ses propres projets, réalise des pochettes de disques pour ses compatriotes Say Lou Lou, collabore avec Lisa Alma, crée des affiches pour Aurora ou le groupe Grand Blanc, tout en s'essayant à l'auto-édition.
A la faveur d'un stage en 2013, Rebecka rencontre Effi Mild et Laurent Zorzin, les fondateurs de la galerie Arts Factory, alors sur le point d'ouvrir leur nouvel espace de la rue de Charonne. Ces infatigables têtes chercheuses repèrent au détour de carnets de recherches les bases d'un univers singulier et l'encouragent à mettre de côté les contraintes liées à l'illustration, pour évoluer vers un dessin plus personnel. Peu à peu les idées jaillissent, les croquis s'enchaînent, gagnent en profondeur et les deux galeristes programment la très remarquée exposition « Viens ! » au mois de mars 2015, alors même que Rebecka est encore étudiante, terminant un Master à l'Ecole de Condé.
Des fêlures de l'enfance à l'inconstance des hommes, Rebecka Tollens livre un regard lucide et sans concession sur son éducation, l'apprentissage du désir féminin, les rapports amoureux. De repas de famille surréalistes en relations sans lendemain, ce quotidien parfois douloureux, souvent cocasse, est dépeint avec un féminisme largement assumé et revendiqué. Exécutés à la mine de plomb et portés par un indéniable sens de la composition, les sujets abordés sont adoucis par d'oniriques paysages, réminiscents de ses années passées en Scandinavie.
Laurent Zorzin, Arts Factory