english version / version française
Palais #27 – Another Banana Day for the Dream-Fish
Palais [see all issues]
  Palais Encore un jour banane pour le poisson-rêve
published in June 2018
bilingual edition (English / French)
22,5 x 28,5 cm (softcover)
216 pages (color ill.)
€15.00
ISBN: 978-2-84711-102-6
EAN: 9782847111026
in stock
 
Issue #27 of Palais is devoted to the exhibition “Another Banana Day for the Dream-Fish” at the Palais de Tokyo (June-September 2018). This exhibition brings together the works of some thirty artists and craftsmen on the theme of childhood fantasy.
This exhibition brings together creations by around 30 artists and craftspersons, based around the imaginary of childhood, its foundation myths and contemporary transformations. Constructed like a tale, with many levels of interpretation, the exhibition, with a dramaturgy conceived by the artist and filmmaker Clément Cogitore, transforms the Palais de Tokyo into a huge initiatory journey.
In this issue:
Sandra Adam-Couralet and Yoann Gourmel, the curators of the exhibition, present its challenges, between everyday spaces and dream territories, stupor and amazement.
Kodama Kanazawa, the associate curator, examines the spatiotemporal hybridity of childhood.
Special contributions from artists in the exhibition: Petrit Halilaj, Anna Hulačová, Chihiro Mori, Rachel Rose, as well as the artist and mangaka Yûichi Yokoyama who has produced an original manga about the figure of the chimera.
The artist and curator Ydessa Hendeles takes an interest in the history of the teddy bear, as an important 20th-century figure.
The linguist Aliyah Morgenstern and the sociologist Régine Sirota offer a selection of texts about the moments and rituals that make the stuff of childhood, with articles by Julie Delalande, Christine Détrez, Kevin Diter, Nicoletta Diasio, Nathalie Mangeard-Bloch and Virginie Vinel.
The historian John R. Gillis analyses what he calls the “inslanding of children”: the separation in the modern era between the space for children and that for adults and the isolation of each child within its protective sphere.
Ferdinand Cazalis retraces the history of playgrounds and brings out their anchorage in the political history of the West, from 1770 to today.
A selection of pieces produced by the pupils of the Torcy elementary school (Paris), who were invited to react to the exhibition “Another Banana Day for the Dream-Fish”, as part of an educational project with the Palais de Tokyo.
In a special contribution, Clément Cogitore unveils the notebook for his dramaturgy of the exhibition “Another Banana Day for the Dream-Fish”, whose interpretation and production were confided to different craftspersons.
In a series of interviews, Muriel Prouet and Grégoire Talon go back over the expertise and creative daring of these craftspersons (a cabinet-maker; a creator of textile art and embroidery; an embosser, printer and shaper of velvet; a master glass-maker; a master pleater; a mosaic artist; a sculptor of metal; and a sculptor of stone) as well as their collaboration with Clément Cogitore.
Published three times a year, Palais magazine offers an in-depth perspective on the exhibitions and program of the Palais de Tokyo. Palais allows people to see contemporary art in a topical way, as often as possible from the point of view of the artists themselves. Each season, the magazine includes dossiers, interviews, essays, special projects and inserts, all contributed by artists, art critics, historians or theorists, making Palais magazine an essential tool for apprehending contemporary art.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Palais n° 27 – Encore un jour banane pour le poisson-rêve
Palais [tous les numéros]
  Palais Encore un jour banane pour le poisson-rêve
paru en juin 2018
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
22,5 x 28,5 cm (broché)
216 pages (ill. coul.)
15.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-84711-102-6
EAN : 9782847111026
en stock
 
Le magazine Palais consacre ce numéro 27 à l'exposition « Encore un jour banane pour le poisson-rêve », présentée au Palais de Tokyo du 22 juin au 9 septembre 2018. Cette exposition rassemble les créations d'une trentaine d'artistes et d'artisans d'art autour de l'imaginaire de l'enfance, de ses mythes fondateurs et de ses transformations contemporaines.
Construite comme un conte aux multiples niveaux de lecture, l'exposition, « Encore un jour banane pour le poisson-rêve », dont la dramaturgie est imaginée par l'artiste et réalisateur Clément Cogitore, transforme le Palais de Tokyo en un vaste parcours initiatique.
Au sommaire de ce numéro : Sandra Adam-Couralet et Yoann Gourmel, commissaires de l'exposition, en présentent les enjeux et le parcours, entre espaces quotidiens et territoires rêvés, stupeurs et émerveillements.
Kodama Kanazawa, commissaire associée, s'interroge sur l'hybridité spatio-temporelle de l'enfance.
Des contributions spéciales d'artistes de l'exposition : Petrit Halilaj, Anna Hulačová, Chihiro Mori, Rachel Rose, ainsi que l'artiste et mangaka Yûichi Yokoyama qui signe un manga inédit autour de la figure de la chimère.
L'artiste et commissaire d'exposition Ydessa Hendeles s'intéresse à l'histoire de l'ours en peluche comme une figure importante du XXe siècle.
La linguiste Aliyah Morgenstern et la sociologue Régine Sirota proposent une sélection de textes au sujet des moments et des rituels qui fabriquent l'enfance, avec des articles de Julie Delalande, Christine Détrez, Kevin Diter, Nicoletta Diasio, Nathalie Mangeard-Bloch et Virginie Vinel.
L'historien John R. Gillis analyse ce qu'il appelle « l'insularisation des enfants » : la séparation à l'époque moderne de l'espace des enfants et de celui des adultes et l'isolement de chaque enfant dans sa sphère protectrice.
Ferdinand Cazalis retrace une histoire des aires de jeux et expose leur ancrage dans l'histoire politique de l'Occident de 1770 à nos jours.
Une sélection des travaux réalisés par les élèves de l'école élémentaire Torcy (Paris), invités à réagir à l'exposition « Encore un jour banane pour le poisson-rêve » dans le cadre d'un projet pédagogique avec le Palais de Tokyo.
Dans une contribution spéciale, Clément Cogitore livre son carnet d'inspiration pour la dramaturgie de l'exposition « Encore un jour banane pour le poisson-rêve », dont l'interprétation et la réalisation ont été confiées à différents artisans d'art.
Dans une série d'entretiens, Muriel Prouet et Grégoire Talon reviennent sur le savoir-faire et l'audace créatrice de ces artisans d'art (brodeuse et créatrice d'art textile ; ébéniste ; gaufreur, imprimeur et façonneur de velours ; maître-plisseur ; maître verrier ; mosaïste ; sculpteur sur métal ; sculpteur sur pierre) et sur leur collaboration avec Clément Cogitore.
Publié trois fois par an, le magazine Palais offre un regard enrichi sur les expositions et la programmation du Palais de Tokyo. Palais donne à voir l'art contemporain d'une manière actuelle et, aussi souvent que possible, du point de vue des artistes eux-mêmes. Chaque saison, dossiers thématiques, entretiens, essais, projets spéciaux et inserts sont autant de contributions d'artistes, de critiques d'art, d'historiens ou de théoriciens qui font du magazine Palais un outil indispensable pour appréhender l'art contemporain.