english version / version française
Mise en Abyme
Sebastián Diáz Morales [see all titles]
Bom Dia Boa Tarde Boa Noite [see all titles]
Sebastián Diáz Morales Mise en Abyme
Edited by Ines Rüttinger and Eva Schmidt.
Texts by Sebatián Diáz Morales, Philippe-Alain Michaud, Malena Sauto.

Graphic design: Roosje Klap.
published in June 2018
trilingual edition (English / French / Spanish)
16,7 x 24 cm (softcover)
176 pages (color & b/w ill.)
€24.00
ISBN: 978-3-943514-85-8
EAN: 9783943514858
in stock
 
Sebastián Diáz Morales films and videos show that reality is nothing more than a figment of the imagination. Every figure and every narrative in them is a metaphor for the boundary between reality and fiction. This catalogue documents three recents video works by the Argentinian artist.
In the trilogy of videos portraited in this book, Insight, Suspension and The Lost Object, the artist invites us to suspend ourselves in a dream-like scenario dominated by lighting effects. We do not enter a dark room but an atmosphere subject to the different beams of light shining all around us.
That is the point, to throw light on the unknown, or on what we take for granted as natural when in fact it is nothing more than an impoverished fallacy. Or maybe it is simply about shining a light on ourselves as subjects and returning to the true essence of things: beauty, surprise, novelty and illusion.
The unknown.
Published on the occasion of Sebastián Diáz Morales' exhibition “Ficcionario IV”, Museum für Gegenwartskunst Siegen, from October 14 to June 5, 2017, and the 57th International Exhibition of visual arts – La Biennale di Venezia, from May 13 to November 26, 2017.
Sebastián Diáz Morales (born 1975 in Comodoro Rivadavia, Argentina, lives and works in Amsterdam) is a video artist. Morales works with various filmic techniques, for example montage, cartoon-like dissociations or slow motion. Sound also plays a leading part, whether in the form of noise or film music. Some of the works are reminiscent of science fiction. Their narrative style and dialogues are of a minimalist character, yet their imagery evokes associations by which the viewer discovers a new take on reality.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Mise en Abyme
Sebastián Diáz Morales [tous les titres]
Bom Dia Boa Tarde Boa Noite [tous les titres]
Sebastián Diáz Morales Mise en Abyme
Edité par Ines Rüttinger et Eva Schmidt.
Textes de Sebatián Diáz Morales, Philippe-Alain Michaud, Malena Sauto.

Conception graphique : Roosje Klap.
paru en juin 2018
édition trilingue (français / anglais / espagnol)
16,7 x 24 cm (broché)
176 pages (ill. coul. et n&b)
24.00 €
ISBN : 978-3-943514-85-8
EAN : 9783943514858
en stock
 
Les films et vidéos de Sebastián Diáz Morales évoquent une réalité qui ne serait que le fruit de l'imagination. Chacun de ses récits et de ses personnages représente une métaphore de la frontière entre réel et fiction. Ce catalogue documente trois œuvres vidéos récentes de l'artiste argentin, en prise avec ses thèmes de prédilection.
Dans la trilogie de vidéos présentée dans cet ouvrage, Insight, Suspension et The Lost Object, l'artiste nous entraîne dans un récit onirique, visuellement dominé par les effets de lumière. Le spectateur pénètre dans une atmosphère soumise à différents faisceaux de lumière, brillant tout autour de l'espace. Pour Sebastián Diáz Morales, le sujet ainsi éclairé revient aux éléments essentiels de l'être : la beauté, la surprise, la nouveauté et l'illusion. L'inconnu.
Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition de Sebastián Diáz Morales « Ficcionario IV », Museum für Gegenwartskunst Siegen, du 14 octobre au 5 juin 2017, et la 57e Exposition internationale d'arts visuels – La Biennale di Venezia, du 13 mai au 26 novembre 2017.
Sebastián Diáz Morales (né en 1975 à Comodoro Rivadavia, Argentine, vit et travaille à Amsterdam) est un artiste vidéo. Morales travaille avec diverses techniques filmiques, expérimentant à travers le montage, l'animation, le ralenti… Le son joue également un rôle de premier plan, que ce soit sous forme de bruit ou de musique de film. Certaines de ses œuvres s'inspirent de la science-fiction. Ses vidéos se basent sur des scénarios au caractère minimaliste où l'esthétique joue un rôle moteur dans l'expression d'une réalité alternative offerte au spectateur.