english version / version française
Blackboard
Bouchra Khalili [see all titles]
Jeu de Paume [see all titles]
Bouchra Khalili Blackboard
Foreword by Marta Gili.
Texts by Bouchra Khalili, Élisabeth Lebovici, Nacira Guénif-Souilamas, interview with Bouchra Khalili by Omar Berrada.

Graphic design: Book Book (Jan Blessing, Constanze Hein, Felix Walser).
published in June 2018
bilingual edition (English / French)
21 x 26 cm (hardcover)
192 pages (100 color & b/w ill.)
€39.00
ISBN: 978-2-915704-78-5
EAN: 9782915704785
in stock
 
Bouchra Khalili's films, video installations, photographs and silkscreen prints suggest civic platforms, from which members of minorities perform their strategies of resistance to arbitrary power. This catalogue dedicated to the French-Moroccan artist spans ten years of creation.
This catalogue is published in conjunction with Bouchra Khalili's exhibition at the Jeu de Paume, “Blackboard”, which brings together a wide selection of works produced since 2008. Combining subjectivity, collective history and the transmission of forgotten utopias, the project proposes a meditation on the emancipatory power of words, when they are underpinned by members of minorities often confined to the sidelines of visibility. Blackboard is thus conceived as a space where the protagonists in the artist's works and spectators can meet, rekindling Pier Paolo Pasolini's proposed conception of the work of art as civic poetry.
The first monograph of this scope devoted to Bouchra Khalili, Blackboard is also the catalogue accompanying her solo exhibition of the same title at the Jeu de Paume (5 June–23 September 2018). This project borrows its title from a discussion that Jean-Luc Godard and Jean-Pierre Gorin, both members of the Dziga Vertov group at the time, had with students at Yale University in April 1970. Invited to define the group's activities, Godard pointed at the blackboard in the lecture hall where the meeting was being held and stated: “Making a film like this blackboard and nothing else than that [sic]. The place of the film is right there. But it is your job to see this blackboard and to work on it.” On several occasions, the film-maker made a point of clarifying what this “blackboard” should be: a work produced for the ones who are deprived of the right to self-representation, who can then see their own images and share them.
The flat surface that can implicitly become the space of those excluded from the system of visibility forms the starting point for Bouchra Khalili's work, which brings together a pedagogy of the image and the “cinema of poetry” as theorized by Pier Paolo Pasolini, a major source of inspiration for the artist. The speech act – and its corollary – the gesture of transmission – form the core of most of her works. The question “Who's talking and from where?” runs through the multiple narratives of resistance to colonial power and its continuums, of the struggle for survival, and of renegotiating the terms of autonomous political subjectivities.
What emerges is a collective shaped by a vast geography, in which each person participating in the artist's projects appropriates the speech act as civic poetry as proposed by Pier Paolo Pasolini. They include the narratives of those forced to illegally cross borders (The Mapping Journey Project, 2008–2011), the act of speaking as a form of empowerment and the rise of new political subjectivities (The Speeches Series, 2012–2013), the transmission of the history of internationalist utopias (Foreign Office, 2015) and the shift from the theatrical to the citizen's stage (The Tempest Society, 2017).
Based on the writings of the poet Jean Genet and his radical support of revolutionary movements, Twenty-Two Hours (2018), Khalili's most recent work, reframes the poet's legacy from a contemporary perspective, suggesting that it is poetry itself that produces the revolutionary act.
Combining subjectivity, collective history and the transmission of forgotten utopias, the exhibition and its catalogue propose a meditation on the emancipatory power of words. Blackboard is thus conceived as a space where the protagonists in the artist's works and spectators can meet, rekindling the gesture of the Pasolinian civic poet.
Published on the occasion of the eponymous exhibition at Jeu de Paume, Paris, from June 5 to September 23, 2018.
French-Moroccan artist Bouchra Khalili (born 1975 in Casablanca, lives and works in Paris) has devoted herself to video work, both in single channel and installation form, since 2002. The artist uses this medium for its impurity, which allows her to place her work at the very limits of cinema and the fine arts, documentary and experimental work, blurring the lines between these two practices. Her videos explore the Mediterranean area seen as a territory dedicated to a wandering, nomadic existence. She documents the places she passes through, their images and the images they generate. Khalili produces representations of these spaces' mental dimension by placing them in an unusual perceptive experience, thus testifying to the contemporary reality of emigration and its stories.
Bouchra Khalili is internationally recognized, and her work has been shown in many major exhibitions, including biennials in Sharjah (2011), Sydney (2012), Moscow and Venice (2013), the Paris Triennale (2012) and the latest documenta in Kassel (2017). She has also had solo shows notably at the MoMA in New York, the Palais de Tokyo in Paris, at Harvard University in Cambridge (Mass.), at the MACBA in Barcelona, and at the Secession in Vienna. In 2018 and 2019 several international museums will be holding solo exhibitions of her work.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Blackboard
Bouchra Khalili [tous les titres]
Jeu de Paume [tous les titres]
Bouchra Khalili Blackboard
Avant-propos de Marta Gili.
Textes de Bouchra Khalili, Élisabeth Lebovici, Nacira Guénif-Souilamas, entretien avec Bouchra Khalili par Omar Berrada.

Conception graphique : Book Book (Jan Blessing, Constanze Hein, Felix Walser).
paru en juin 2018
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
21 x 26 cm (relié)
192 pages (100 ill. coul. et n&b)
39.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-915704-78-5
EAN : 9782915704785
en stock
 
Entre film et installation vidéo, photographie et sérigraphie, Bouchra Khalili organise son travail autour de plateformes depuis lesquelles elle examine les stratégies de résistances des minorités face à l'arbitraire du pouvoir. Ce catalogue revient sur dix ans de créations de l'artiste franco-marocaine.
Ce catalogue accompagne l'exposition de Bouchra Khalili au Jeu de Paume qui, intitulée « Blackboard », réunit un vaste choix d'œuvres réalisées depuis 2008. Le projet articule histoire individuelle, histoire collective et transmission des utopies oubliées pour proposer une méditation sur la puissance émancipatrice de la parole lorsqu'elle est portée par des membres de minorités souvent confinées aux marges de la visibilité. Il se conçoit ainsi comme un espace où les protagonistes des œuvres de l'artiste et les spectateurs peuvent se rencontrer, réactivant la proposition de Pier Paolo Pasolini d'une conception de l'œuvre d'art comme poésie civile.
Première monographie de cette ampleur consacrée à Bouchra Khalili, Blackboard est aussi le catalogue de l'exposition personnelle éponyme de l'artiste au Jeu de Paume (5 juin – 23 septembre 2018). Ce projet emprunte son titre au dialogue que Jean-Luc Godard et Jean-Pierre Gorin, alors tous deux membres du groupe Dziga Vertov, ont eu avec des étudiants de l'université Yale en avril 1970. Invité à définir la pratique du groupe, Godard pointe du doigt le tableau noir de l'amphithéâtre qui accueille la rencontre et déclare : « Faire un film comme ce tableau noir, et rien de plus. La place du film est exactement là. Mais c'est à vous d'examiner ce tableau et d'en faire quelque chose. » Par la suite, le cinéaste reviendra à plusieurs reprises sur le « tableau noir », une œuvre produite pour ceux dont les images manquent, qui peuvent ainsi s'en saisir et les partager.
Cette surface plane qui peut accueillir en creux les exclus du régime de la visibilité est le point de départ du travail de Bouchra Khalili, qui fait se rencontrer une pédagogie de l'image et le « cinéma de poésie » tel que l'a théorisé Pier Paolo Pasolini, source d'inspiration majeure de l'artiste. La prise de parole et son corollaire – le geste de la transmission – sont un acte fondateur de la plupart de ses travaux. La question « qui parle et à partir d'où ? » traverse les multiples récits de résistance au pouvoir colonial et à ses continuums, de lutte pour la survie, de renégociation des termes d'un corps politique propre.
C'est donc un collectif à la géographie vaste qui prend forme, où chaque participant aux projets de l'artiste s'approprie la proposition de Pier Paolo Pasolini d'une conception de l'œuvre d'art comme poésie civile. Que ce soit par le biais des récits faits par ceux qui sont contraints de franchir illégalement les frontières (The Mapping Journey Project, 2008-2011), du pouvoir de la parole dans la constitution du sujet politique (The Speeches Series, 2012-2013), de la transmission de l'histoire des utopies internationalistes (Foreign Office, 2015) ou du passage de la scène théâtrale à la scène citoyenne (The Tempest Society, 2017).
Basée sur des écrits du poète Jean Genet et sa solidarité radicale en faveur des mouvements révolutionnaires, Twenty-Two Hours (2018), l'œuvre la plus récente de Khalili, réinterprète d'un point de vue contemporain le legs du poète en suggérant que c'est la poésie elle-même qui produit l'acte révolutionnaire.
Articulant histoire individuelle, histoire collective et transmission des utopies oubliées, l'exposition et le catalogue qui l'accompagne invitent à une méditation sur la puissance émancipatrice de la parole. « Blackboard » se conçoit ainsi comme un espace où les protagonistes des œuvres de l'artiste et les spectacteurs peuvent se rencontrer, réactivant le geste du poète civil pasolinien.
Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition éponyme au Jeu de Paume, Paris, du 5 juin au 23 septembre 2018.
Le travail de l'artiste franco-marocaine Bouchra Khalili (née à Casablanca en 1975, vit et travaille à Paris), essentiellement en vidéo (monobande et installation), est caractérisé par une pratique intensive et singulière du déplacement (plastique, conceptuel, géographique).
L'artiste explore les dimensions mentales et imaginaires des territoires à partir de l'espace méditerranéen envisagé comme un lieu dédié au nomadisme et à l'errance. Utilisant la vidéo en raison de l'impureté du médium, qui lui permet de situer son travail aux limites du cinéma et des arts plastiques, du documentaire et de l'essai, rendant mouvantes les frontières entre ces pratiques, Khalili brouille les repères topographiques, produisant une confusion sur le statut des images et une forme d'ambiguïté qui permet précisément à l'artiste d'élaborer des récits d'expériences perceptives sensibles et tangibles, liées aux trajets migratoires, et aux états actuels des espaces frontaliers et urbains.
Bouchra Khalili est diplômée de l'Ecole Nationale Supérieure d'Arts de Paris-Cergy et titulaire d'un DEA en Cinéma et Audiovisuel (Paris III, Sorbonne Nouvelle). Reconnu internationalement, son travail a été montré dans de nombreuses expositions majeures, dont les Biennales de Sharjah (2011), Sydney (2012), Moscou et Venise (2013), la Triennale de Paris (2012) et la documenta 14 de Cassel (2017). Il a également fait l'objet d'expositions personnelles, notamment au MoMA à New York, au Palais de Tokyo à Paris, à l'université Harvard à Cambridge (Massachusetts), au MACBA à Barcelone, et à Secession à Vienne.
Bouchra Khalili est la lauréate du Prix SAM pour l'Art Contemporain 2013.