english version / version française
Habiter le jour
Nadim Asfar [see all titles]
Kaph Books [see all titles]
Nadim Asfar Habiter le jour
Texts by Nadim Asfar and Roberto Juarroz.
published in May 2018
bilingual edition (English / French)
17,5 x 24 cm (softcover, dust jacket)
188 pages (144 color ill.)
€40.00
ISBN: 978-614-8035-06-7
EAN: 9786148035067
in stock
 
This publication gathers a series of photographs made during the artist's formative years. Between 2004 and 2008, Nadim Asfar photographed anonymous passersby from the balcony of his studio in Beirut. As faceless figures cast shadows under the hard city light, heading in undisclosed directions, their narratives are only announced, never told. With a text by Asfar and a poem by Roberto Juarroz.
Habiter le jour is a series of photographs taken over several years from the artist's studio overlooking a dynamic crossing in Beirut. Produced during a formative part of the artist's career, the project presents the meticulous, almost compulsive marks of a photographic activity that the artist devoted his days to. Framing and fixing the crossings of anonymous passersby, he records the space of textures, lines, and bodies in the city of Beirut.
Bodies and vehicles head towards undisclosed locations and unannounced narratives. Faceless, the walking figures cast shadows and are frozen mid-gesture, simultaneously anonymous and the object of intimate observation. In a nod to Vito Acconci's Following Piece (1960)—a photographic and cartographic project following the journeys of unidentified passersby in New York City—Habiter le jour mobilizes the scrutinizing gaze in lieu of mobility, plotting the ambulant characters and vehicles in what Acconci calls a “scheme”: a rule-bound exercise by which the artist surrenders to the restrictions of his plan and that of his characters. Habiter le jour, thus, also evokes the negative of what it portrays, namely, an observer or invisible participant willingly confined, motionless, finding respite in repetitive activity. His relation to the space of the house we never see is marked by attachment, as opposed to the fleeting records of the subjects depicted in the photographs.
Nadim Asfar (born 1976 in Beirut, lives and works in Paris and Beirut) is a French-Lebanese photographer and filmmaker. His artistic approach is deeply influenced by the many questions raised by the language and technique of photography. Having trained in still and moving imagery at the Académie des Beaux-Arts in Beirut and the École Nationale Louis Lumière in Paris, today Nadim Asfar creates works that explore place and time: where the intimacy of enclosed spaces and the intimacy of the outside world come together, a multi-layered universe. He reveals, simultaneously, layers both visual and acoustic, poetic, aesthetic, philosophical, anthropological, and geographical.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
 



version française / english version
Habiter le jour
Nadim Asfar [tous les titres]
Kaph Books [tous les titres]
Nadim Asfar Habiter le jour
Textes de Nadim Asfar et Roberto Juarroz.
paru en mai 2018
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
17,5 x 24 cm (broché, sous jaquette)
188 pages (144 ill. coul.)
40.00 €
ISBN : 978-614-8035-06-7
EAN : 9786148035067
en stock
 
Publication consacrée à une série réalisée durant les années formatrices de l'artiste libanais. Entre 2004 et 2008, Nadim Asfar photographie les passants anonymes depuis le balcon de son studio à Beyrouth. Sans qu'on ne perçoive leur visage, dans la lumière crue de la ville, ces figures projettent leur ombre et se dirigent vers des destinations inconnues, leurs histoires annoncées mais jamais racontées. Avec un texte d'Asfar et un poème de Roberto Juarroz.
Habiter le jour est une série de photographies prises au cours de plusieurs années depuis le studio de l'artiste donnant sur un carrefour au cœur d'un quartier dynamique de Beyrouth. Produit lors d'une période formative de la carrière de l'artiste, ce projet restitue les marques méticuleuses, presque compulsives d'une activité photographique à laquelle ses jours étaient consacrés. En cadrant et fixant les croisements d'anonymes passants, il enregistre un espace fait de textures, de lignes et de corps dans la ville de Beyrouth.
Corps et véhicules se dirigent vers des destinations inconnues et des récits imprévus. Sans visages, ces figures marchent et projettent leurs ombres et sont figées à mi-mouvement, simultanément anonymes et objet d'une intime observation. En une référence à Following Piece (1960) de Vito Acconci – un projet photographique et cartographique suivant les voyages de passants non-identifiés à New York – Habiter le jour mobilise le regard observateur plutôt que la mobilité, esquissant les personnages ambulants et les véhicules pour composer ce qu'Acconci appelle un « plan » : un exercice réglé par lequel l'artiste s'abandonne aux restrictions de son plan et aux contraintes de ses personnages. Ainsi, Habiter le jour évoque aussi le négatif de ce qu'il dépeint, c'est-à-dire un observateur ou un participant invisible volontairement confiné, immobile, trouvant le repos dans une activité répétitive. Sa relation à l'espace de la maison qu'on ne voit jamais est marquée par un attachement qui contraste avec la transcription fugitive des sujets représentés dans ces images.
Nadim Asfar (né en 1976 à Beyrouth, vit et travaille à Paris et Beyrouth) est un photographe et cinéaste franco-libanais. Son approche artistique est profondément influencée par les nombreuses questions soulevées par le langage et la technique photographiques. Formé à l'Académie des Beaux-Arts de Beyrouth et à l'École Nationale Louis Lumière à Paris, Nadim Asfar produit aujourd'hui des œuvres qui explorent le lieu et le temps, révélant différentes dimensions visuelles et acoustiques, poétiques, esthétiques, philosophiques, anthropologiques et géographiques.