english version / version française
Artists as Iconographers
Empire [see all titles] Books [see all titles]
  Les artistes iconographes
Edited by Garance Chabert and Aurélien Mole.
Texts by François Aubart, Garance Chabert, Aurélien Mole, Ingrid Luquet-Gad, Jan Verwoert, interviews with Pierre-Olivier Arnaud, Barbara Breitenfellner, Céline Duval, Haris Epaminonda, Aurélien Froment, Wade Guyton, Camille Henrot, Thomas Hirschhorn, Pierre Leguillon, Jonathan Monk, Clément Rodzielski, Linder Sterling, John Stezaker, Oriol Vilanova by Timothée Chaillou.

Graphic design: Syndicat.
published in March 2018
bilingual edition (English / French)
12,5 x 20 cm (softcover)
342 pages (color & b/w ill.) + 16-page booklet
€22.00
ISBN: 979-10-95991-02-1
EAN: 9791095991021
in stock
 
Catalogue dedicated to contemporary artists whose production concentrate on the reuse of existing images. This publication investigates the various practices of these iconographer artists through documentation, illustrations, essays, and interviews. Included is a leaflet with excerpts from Luis Jacob's Album XIII, as part of his image bank project of found material from printed media.
For over a century now, iconographer artists have fuelled their approach by tapping into the diversity of images produced by othersand spread through society by industrial means. From collage to the post-internet school, from archival installations to Appropriationist quotation and image constellations, the present book puts these art practices into perspective, focusing on the last forty years, an extraordinarily dynamic period that recently witnessed the invention and development of a new way of disseminating information and images, the internet. Through theoretical texts, artists' interviews, and exhibition practices, the book maps the connections artists maintain with images and examines emotion as the driving force in our interactions with them.
With Pierre-Olivier Arnaud, Barbara Breitenfellner, Céline Duval, Haris Epaminonda, Aurélien Froment, Wade Guyton, Camille Henrot, Thomas Hirschhorn, Pierre Leguillon, Jonathan Monk, Clément Rodzielski, Linder Sterling, John Stezaker, Oriol Vilanova.

Published following the exhibition program at Villa du Parc, centre d'art contemporain, Annemasse, in 2014 and 2015.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Les artistes iconographes
Empire [tous les titres] Livres [tous les titres]
  Les artistes iconographes
Edité par Garance Chabert et Aurélien Mole.
Textes de François Aubart, Garance Chabert, Aurélien Mole, Ingrid Luquet-Gad, Jan Verwoert, entretiens avec Pierre-Olivier Arnaud, Barbara Breitenfellner, Céline Duval, Haris Epaminonda, Aurélien Froment, Wade Guyton, Camille Henrot, Thomas Hirschhorn, Pierre Leguillon, Jonathan Monk, Clément Rodzielski, Linder Sterling, John Stezaker, Oriol Vilanova par Timothée Chaillou.

Conception graphique : Syndicat.
paru en mars 2018
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
12,5 x 20 cm (broché)
342 pages (ill. coul. et n&b) + livret 16 pages
22.00 €
ISBN : 979-10-95991-02-1
EAN : 9791095991021
en stock
 
Ce catalogue s'intéresse aux productions d'artistes contemporains se situant dans une généalogie historique du réemploi d'images au XXe siècle. L'ouvrage richement documenté et illustré comprend de nombreux textes et entretiens visant à éclairer les pratiques de ces artistes iconographes. Il s'accompagne d'un livret constitué d'extraits d'Album XIII de l'artiste Luis Jacob, s'inscrivant dans son projet de banque d'images issues des médias imprimés.
Les artistes iconographes nourrissent leur démarche depuis plus d'un siècle de la diversité des images produites par d'autres et diffusées industriellement dans la société. Du collage au Post-Internet, de l'installation d'archives à la citation appropriationniste, en passant par la constellation d'images, ce livre remet en perspective ces pratiques en se focalisant sur les quarante dernières années marquées par l'invention et le développement d'un nouveau régime de diffusion : Internet. A travers textes théoriques, entretiens avec des artistes, et pratiques de l'exposition, il dresse une cartographie des relations que les artistes entretiennent avec les images et aborde la question de l'affect comme moteur de nos interactions avec elles.

« Ouvrage ambitieux sur un thème insuffisamment exploré, Les Artistes iconographes est une entrée indispensable pour qui s'intéresse à ce qui se joue entre les images quand elles sont associées, faisant basculer la réflexion de l'analyse des images prises individuellement vers un champ plus vaste, celui des écosystèmes iconographiques où s'établissent les liens entre les images. »
Lilian Froger, Critique d'art
Avec Pierre-Olivier Arnaud, Barbara Breitenfellner, Céline Duval, Haris Epaminonda, Aurélien Froment, Wade Guyton, Camille Henrot, Thomas Hirschhorn, Pierre Leguillon, Jonathan Monk, Clément Rodzielski, Linder Sterling, John Stezaker, Oriol Vilanova.

Publié suite aux expositions programmées à la Villa du Parc, centre d'art contemporain, Annemasse, en 2014 et 2015.