english version / version française
Crash Test – The Molecular Turn
La Panacée [see all titles]
  Crash Test La révolution moléculaire
Edited by Nicolas Bourriaud.
Texts by Nicolas Bourriaud, Noam Segal, Stefanie Hessler.

Graphic design: Johanna Himmelsbach.
published in February 2018
bilingual edition (English / French)
16,5 x 24 cm (softcover)
272 pages (color ill.)
€27.00
ISBN: 978-2-490123-01-8
EAN: 9782490123018
in stock
 
Catalogue of the exhibition-manifesto curated by Nicolas Bourriaud, which takes as its starting point the integration of the notion of Anthropocene in today's artistic scene: the publication proposes an exploration of the output of a new generation of artists who are working on reality, and doing away with the traditional division between the notions of “culture” and “nature.” The catalogue reviews each exhibited work in detail, and offers an enlightening glossary.
The arts in the 2010s have integrated the notion of the Anthropocene, an era dominated by human activities and their impact on the planet.  Our representation of the world has thus evolved into a kind of between fields otherwise considered separate in Western thinking: the mineral, the animal, the vegetal, the machine, and the human, which seem to constantly exchange properties. In light of this new promiscuity, the traditional Western division between nature and culture gradually loses its pertinence. Crash Test is born from this revelation.
This exhibition gathers a generation of artists who deal with the Real on a molecular level, organizing connections between physical/chemical realities and human cultures.  These artists describe the current world (its societies, its cultures…) by working with the matter that composes it, rather than with strictly social or even personal facts. From this group of heterogeneous fields that are blended today, we also think of the image as a coat that envelops our world—an autonomous atmosphere, a layer of pollution.
The artists in Crash Test thus work with material reality. Whether this reality exists in its most basic or its most synthetic form, it raises the question: does a purely “natural” or purely “human” material still exist? Without adopting a scientific approach, these artists investigate particles that compose the physical universe, chemical compounds and synthetic mixtures. Some artists favour the reduction or pulverization of matter while others value reactions and chemical transformations. These are all then displayed in installations with an experimental nature, from pulverization (the reduction of the visible into basic elements) to solution (the dissolving of elements in a solvent) and finally to precipitation (the formation of molecules from aggregates).
With regard to these radically new approaches, we can speak of a new type of materialism—or analytical realism, which takes note of the West's separation of nature and culture as much as the classic subordination between matter and form, often confused here. A materialism wherein the central question would be: how does a state of matter represent a moment in history?
Nicolas Bourriaud
With Alisa Baremboym, Ivana Bašić, Bianca Bondi, Juliette Bonneviot, Jeanne Briand, Dora Budor, Johannes Büttner, Alice Channer, Caroline Corbasson, David Douard, Daiga Grantina, Roger Hiorns, Agnieszka Kurant, Sam Lewitt, Estrid Lutz & Emile Mold, Jared Madere, Enzo Mianes, Virginia Lee Montgomerry, Marlie Mul, Aude Pariset, Thiago Rocha Pitta, Pamela Rosenkranz, Thomas Teurlai, Artie Vierkant, Phillip Zach.

Published on the occasion of the eponymous exhibition at La Panacée-MoCo, Montpellier, from February 10 to May 6, 2018.

See also Stream n°3 – Inhabiting the anthropocene; T. J. Demos: Against the Anthropocene.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Crash Test – La révolution moléculaire
La Panacée [tous les titres]
  Crash Test La révolution moléculaire
Edité par Nicolas Bourriaud.
Textes de Nicolas Bourriaud, Noam Segal, Stefanie Hessler.

Conception graphique : Johanna Himmelsbach.
paru en février 2018
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
16,5 x 24 cm (broché)
272 pages (ill. coul.)
27.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-490123-01-8
EAN : 9782490123018
en stock
 
Le catalogue de l'exposition-manifeste conçue par Nicolas Bourriaud, qui prend pour point de départ l'intégration de la notion d'anthropocène dans la sphère artistique actuelle : l'ouvrage explore la production d'une nouvelle génération d'artistes qui travaille le réel et annule la division traditionnelle entre les notions de culture et nature. L'édition revient en détails sur les œuvres exposées et propose un glossaire particulièrement éclairant.
L'art des années 2010 semble avoir intégré la notion d'anthropocène, qui désigne une ère dominée par les activités humaines et leur impact sur la planète. Notre représentation du monde évolue ainsi vers une sorte de coprésence avec des sphères autrefois séparées dans la pensée occidentale : le minéral, l'animal, le végétal, la machine et l'humain, qui semblent échanger sans cesse leurs propriétés. Au sein de cette nouvelle promiscuité, la division traditionnelle en Occident entre nature et culture perd peu à peu toute pertinence.
Crash Test est né de ce constat.
Cette exposition rassemble une génération d'artistes qui travaillent le réel à son niveau moléculaire, en organisant des connections entre la réalité physique/chimique et les cultures humaines. Ils/Elles décrivent le monde actuel (ses sociétés, ses cultures…) à partir des matières (brutes ou synthétiques) qui le composent, et non plus à partir de données purement sociales, ni même humaines. Et à l'ensemble de ces règnes hétérogènes qui se rapprochent aujourd'hui, on pourrait ajouter l'image, devenue aujourd'hui une pellicule qui entoure notre univers – une atmosphère autonome, une couche de pollution.
Les artistes réunis dans Crash Test travaillent donc à partir de la réalité matérielle, qu'il s'agisse de ses composantes basiques ou des alliages les plus contemporains : existe-t-il encore un matériau purement « naturel » ou purement « humain » ? Sans revendiquer la posture du scientifique, ces artistes se livrent à des investigations sur les particules qui composent l'univers physique, les composés chimiques, les alliages synthétiques. Certains privilégient la réduction ou la pulvérisation de la matière, avec des œuvres qui analysent le monde physique dans lequel nous vivons, en le décomposant ; d'autres mettent en valeur les réactions et transformations chimiques, à travers des installations en forme de dispositifs expérimentaux, de la pulvérisation (réduction du visible à des éléments basiques) à la solution (dissolution d'éléments dans un solvant) en passant par le précipité (formation d'agrégats moléculaires).
Au sujet de ces démarches radicalement nouvelles, on peut ainsi parler d'un type inédit de matérialisme – ou d'un réalisme analytique, qui prend acte de la fin de la division entre nature et culture sur laquelle se fonde la pensée occidentale, tout autant que de la subordination classique entre la matière et la forme, ici souvent confondues. Un matérialisme dont la question centrale serait : comment un état de la matière représente-t-il un moment de l'histoire ?
Nicolas Bourriaud
Avec Alisa Baremboym, Ivana Bašić, Bianca Bondi, Juliette Bonneviot, Jeanne Briand, Dora Budor, Johannes Büttner, Alice Channer, Caroline Corbasson, David Douard, Daiga Grantina, Roger Hiorns, Agnieszka Kurant, Sam Lewitt, Estrid Lutz & Emile Mold, Jared Madere, Enzo Mianes, Virginia Lee Montgomerry, Marlie Mul, Aude Pariset, Thiago Rocha Pitta, Pamela Rosenkranz, Thomas Teurlai, Artie Vierkant, Phillip Zach.

Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition éponyme à La Panacée-MoCo, Montpellier, du 10 février au 6 mai 2018.

Voir aussi Stream n°3 – Habiter l'Anthropocène ; T. J. Demos : Against the Anthropocene ; Soldes n°5.