english version / version française
Palais #26 – Days are Dogs
Camille Henrot [see all titles]
Palais [see all issues]
Camille Henrot Palais Days are Dogs
published in October 2017
bilingual edition (English / French)
22,5 x 28,5 cm (softcover)
192 pages (color ill.)
€15.00
ISBN: 978-2-84711-075-3
EAN: 9782847110753
in stock
 
On the occasion of her carte blanche at the Palais de Tokyo from 18 October 2017 to 7 January 2018, French artist Camille Henrot is the guest editor-in-chief of this issue 26 of the magazine Palais, devoted entirely to the exhibition “Days are Dogs.”
For this exhibition, Camille Henrot brings together an extensive group of her own works along with contributions from international artists with whom she maintains a productive dialogue. The invited artists are David Horvitz, Maria Loboda, Nancy Lupo, Samara Scott, and Avery Singer, as well as the poet Jacob Bromberg. The exhibition “Days are Dogs” explores the ways in which the invention of the seven day week structures our relationship to time. It reveals the way the notion of the week reassures us—giving us routines and a common framework—just as much as it alienates us, creating a set of constraints and dependencies. Each of the seven thematic parts of the exhibition is accordingly dedicated to a day of the week, an allegory for a series of emotions and activities associated with each day which the artworks reflect. Following this same organisation into seven parts, this issue of the magazine Palais explores the different themes of the exhibition.
With texts by Ben Eastham, Orit Gat, Haidy Geismar, and Chris Kraus; Miranda Lash in conversation with Lora Ann Chaisson, Chris Sharp and Polly Staple; an interview with Camille Henrot by Daria de Beauvais, the exhibition's curator; with original contributions by the guest artists Jacob Bromberg, David Horvitz, Maria Loboda, Nancy Lupo, Samara Scott and Avery Singer; as well as a large selection of images of Camille Henrot's works.
Published three times a year, Palais magazine offers an in-depth perspective on the exhibitions and program of the Palais de Tokyo. Palais allows people to see contemporary art in a topical way, as often as possible from the point of view of the artists themselves. Each season, the magazine includes dossiers, interviews, essays, special projects and inserts, all contributed by artists, art critics, historians or theorists, making Palais magazine an essential tool for apprehending contemporary art.
Best-known for her videos and animated films combining drawn art, music and occasionally scratched or reworked cinematic images, the work of Camille Henrot (born 1978, lives and works in Paris) blurs the traditionally hierarchical categories of art history. Her recent work, adapted into the diverse media of sculpture, drawing, photography and, as always, film, considers the fascination with the "other" and "elsewhere" in terms of both geography and sexuality. This fascination is reflected in popular modern myths that have inspired her. The artist's impure, hybrid objects cast doubt upon the linear and partitioned transcription of Western history and highlight its borrowings and grey areas.
Camille Henrot's work has been exhibited in France at the Centre Pompidou, the Paris Museum of Modern Art, the Palais de Tokyo, the Espace Paul Ricard, the Jeu de Paume, the Cartier Foundation, the Louis Vuitton Cultural Space, the Foundation Maeght, the collections of Saint-Cyprien, the Museum of Fine Arts of Bordeaux, Crac Alsace, and abroad at Sungkok Art Museum in Seoul, the Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brussels, the Center for Contemporary Images in Geneva, the Hara Museum in Tokyo and Oi Futuro Cultural Center in Rio de Janeiro.
Camille Henrot won the Silver Lion at the 55th Venice Biennale in 2013, the Nam June Paik Award 2014, the Edvard Munch Art Award 2015...

See also Yona Friedman & Camille Henrot.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Palais n° 26 – Days are Dogs
Camille Henrot [tous les titres]
Palais [tous les numéros]
Camille Henrot Palais Days are Dogs
paru en octobre 2017
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
22,5 x 28,5 cm (broché)
192 pages (ill. coul.)
15.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-84711-075-3
EAN : 9782847110753
en stock
 
À l'occasion de sa carte blanche au Palais de Tokyo du 18 octobre 2017 au 7 janvier 2018, l'artiste française Camille Henrot est la rédactrice en chef invitée de ce numéro 26 du magazine Palais, consacré intégralement à l'exposition « Days are Dogs ».
Pour cette exposition, Camille Henrot présente un vaste ensemble d'œuvres, auquel s'ajoutent des productions d'artistes avec lesquels elle entretient un dialogue fécond : David Horvitz, Maria Loboda, Nancy Lupo, Samara Scott, Avery Singer, ainsi que le poète Jacob Bromberg. L'exposition « Days are Dogs » explore comment la semaine et les jours qui la composent structurent notre rapport au temps. Elle révèle la manière dont cette invention nous rassure – en nous offrant un cadre commun et des routines – autant qu'elle nous aliène – en instaurant un ensemble de contraintes et de dépendances. Chacune des sept parties thématiques de l'exposition est ainsi consacrée à un jour de la semaine, allégorie d'un ensemble d'émotions et d'actions dont les œuvres se font l'écho.
Suivant cette organisation en sept parties (matérialisée par un système d'onglets), ce numéro du magazine Palais explore les différentes thématiques de l'exposition.
Avec des textes de Ben Eastham, Orit Gat, Haidy Geismar et Chris Kraus ; Miranda Lash en conversation avec Lora Ann Chaisson, Chris Sharp et Polly Staple ; une interview de Camille Henrot par Daria de Beauvais, commissaire de l'exposition ; des contributions inédites des artistes invités, Jacob Bromberg, David Horvitz, Maria Loboda, Nancy Lupo, Samara Scott et Avery Singer, ainsi qu'un large ensemble iconographique consacré aux œuvres de Camille Henrot.
Publié trois fois par an, le magazine Palais offre un regard enrichi sur les expositions et la programmation du Palais de Tokyo. Palais donne à voir l'art contemporain d'une manière actuelle et, aussi souvent que possible, du point de vue des artistes eux-mêmes. Chaque saison, dossiers thématiques, entretiens, essais, projets spéciaux et inserts sont autant de contributions d'artistes, de critiques d'art, d'historiens ou de théoriciens qui font du magazine Palais un outil indispensable pour appréhender l'art contemporain.
D'abord reconnu pour ses vidéos et films d'animation qui mêlent dessin, musique et images cinématographiques, parfois grattées ou retravaillées, le travail de Camille Henrot (née en 1978, vit et travaille à Paris) brouille les catégories traditionnellement hiérarchiques de l'histoire de l'art. Ses dernières œuvres, qui se déclinent sous forme de sculptures, dessins, photographies, et toujours films, traitent de la fascination exercée par l'ailleurs et par l'autre (géographique, mais aussi sexuel), fascination reprise dans les mythes populaires modernes dont s'inspire Camille Henrot. Les objets hybrides, impurs, de l'artiste jettent un doute sur l'écriture linéaire et cloisonnée de l'histoire occidentale, et soulignent sa part d'emprunts et ses zones d'ombres.
Camille Henrot a notamment exposé en France au Centre Pompidou, au Musée d'art moderne de la ville de Paris, au Palais de Tokyo, à l'Espace Paul Ricard, au Jeu de Paume, à la Fondation Cartier, à l'Espace Culturel Louis Vuitton, à la Fondation Maeght, aux Collections de Saint-Cyprien, au Musée des Beaux-arts de Bordeaux, au Crac Alsace, ainsi qu'à l'étranger : au Sungkok Art Museum de Séoul, au Palais des Beaux-arts de Bruxelles, au Centre pour l'image contemporaine de Genève, au Hara Museum à Tokyo et au Centre Culturel Oi Futuro de Rio de Janeiro.
Camille Henrot a reçu le Lion d'argent à la 55e Biennale de Venise en 2013, le Nam June Paik Award 2014, le Edvard Munch Art Award 2015...

Voir aussi Yona Friedman & Camille Henrot.