english version / version française
Yael Bartana [see all titles]
JRP|Ringier [see all titles] Reference monographs [see all titles]
Yael Bartana <!---->
Edited by Nicole Schweizer.
Texts by Emmanuel Alloa, Nora M. Alter, Erika Balsom, Yael Bartana, Juli Carson, Gil Z. Hochberg, Nicole Schweizer.
published in May 2017
bilingual edition (English / French)
23,8 x 28,6 cm (broché)
160 pages (120 color ill.)
€40.00
ISBN: 978-3-03764-492-8
EAN: 9783037644928
in stock
 
First comprehensive monograph dedicated to the work of Yael Bartana: a comprehensive overview of the artist's films, installations, performative projects, photographs, and sound works of the past 15 years. The publication highlights her fascination with the ways in which social rituals shape both individual identities and collective memory.
From Bartana's early video vignettes to her most recent project What if Women Ruled the World? (2017), by way of her monumental trilogy And Europe Will Be Stunned (2007–2011) with which she represented Poland at the 54th Venice Biennale, the book highlights the artist's fascination with the ways in which social rituals shape both individual identities and collective memory. Far from a mode of direct documentation, Bartana's works are themselves modeled on the aesthetics of the ritual, and are therefore, above all, performative works, which unapologetically seduce us. Her films draw attention to the fact that cinema is a ritual, and that the camera, perhaps better than any other device, mimics the ritualistic in its ability to fetishize, seduce, and draw us into the ceremony we are watching.
Essays by Emmanuel Alloa (Research Leader in Philosophy at the University of St. Gallen and Lecturer in Aesthetics at the University of Paris 8-Saint Denis), Nora M. Alter (Professor of Comparative Film and Media at Temple University, Philadelphia), Juli Carson (Professor at the University of California, Irvine, Director of the Critical and Curatorial Studies Program and The University Art Galleries) and Gil Z. Hochberg (Professor of Comparative Literature and Gender Studies at UCLA), and an extensive interview with the artist by Erika Balsom (Senior Lecturer in Film Studies and Liberal Arts at King's College, London) offer new insights into Bartana's practice.
Published on the occasion of Yael Bartana's exhibition “Trembling Times,” Cantonal Museum of Fine Arts, Lausanne, from May 19 to August 20, 2017.
Yael Bartana (born 1970 in Kfar Yehezkel, Israel, lives and works in Berlin and Tel Aviv) is an Israeli video artist.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Yael Bartana [tous les titres]
JRP|Ringier [tous les titres] Monographies de référence [tous les titres]
Yael Bartana <!---->
Edité par Nicole Schweizer.
Textes de Emmanuel Alloa, Nora M. Alter, Erika Balsom, Yael Bartana, Juli Carson, Gil Z. Hochberg, Nicole Schweizer.
paru en mai 2017
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
23,8 x 28,6 cm (softcover)
160 pages (120 ill. coul.)
40.00 €
ISBN : 978-3-03764-492-8
EAN : 9783037644928
en stock
 
Première monographie d'envergure dédiée au travail de Yael Bartana : une vue d'ensemble des travaux de l'artiste depuis ces 15 dernières années – films, installations, performances, photographies et œuvres sonores. La publication souligne la fascination de Bartana pour la manière dont les rituels sociaux façonnent à la fois les identités individuelles et la mémoire collective.
Des premières vignettes vidéo de Bartana à son projet le plus récent, What if Women Ruled the World? (2017), en passant par sa trilogie monumentale And Europe Will Be Stunned (2007-2011), avec laquelle elle représentait la Pologne à la 54e Biennale de Venise, cette monographie souligne la fascination de l'artiste pour la manière dont les rituels sociaux façonnent à la fois les identités individuelles et la mémoire collective. Les œuvres de Bartana sont elles-mêmes inspirées d'une esthétique du rituel et sont donc avant tout performatives. Ses films mettent en avant la fonction rituelle du cinéma et la capacité de la caméra à fétichiser, à séduire et à attirer l'attention.
Avec des essais d'Emmanuel Alloa (maître de conférences en philosophie à l'Université de Saint-Gall et en esthétique à l'Université de Paris 8-Saint Denis), Nora M. Alter (enseignante au département médias et cinéma à Temple University, Philadelphie), Juli Carson (enseignante à l'Université de Californie, Irvine, directrice du programme d'études critiques et curatoriales et des University Art Galleries) et Gil Z. Hochberg (enseignante de littérature comparée et d'études de genre à UCLA) et un entretien au long cours avec l'artiste par Erika Balsom (maître de conférences en études cinématographiques et d'arts libéraux au King's College, Londres).
Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition de Yael Bartana « Trembling Times », Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts, Lausanne, du 19 mai au 20 août 2017.
Yael Bartana (née en 1970 à Kfar Yehezkel, Israël, vit et travaille à Berlin et Tel Aviv) est une artiste vidéaste israélienne.