english version / version française
Palais #25 – The Dream of Forms
Palais [see all issues]
  Palais Le Rêve des formes
published in June 2017
bilingual edition (English / French)
22,5 x 28,5 cm (softcover)
216 pages (color ill.)
€15.00
ISBN: 978-2-84711-074-6
EAN: 9782847110746
in stock
 
The magazine of Palais de Tokyo is devoting its issue # 25 to the exhibition “Le Rêve des formes” (The Dream of Forms), dedicated to the relations between science and contemporary art. The exhibition is presented at the Palais de Tokyo from June 14 to September 10, 2017, and organised on the occasion of the twentieth birthday of Le Fresnoy – Studio National des Arts Contemporains.
In this issue: Alain Fleischer and Claire Moulène, the exhibition's curators, introduce what is at stake in the exhibition “Le Rêve des formes.” Olivier Perriquet presents the work of the research group which, at Le Fresnoy, brought together both artists and scientists from different fields around the question of the “incertitude of forms,” thus preceding and nourishing the exhibition “Le Rêve des formes.” The artist Anicka Yi is here in conversation with three biology researchers she recently worked with on the conception of new works. The composer Arnaud Petit explores how music creates a dialogue between words, writing and mathematics. The artist Hicham Berrada and the researcher Annick Lesne focus on moving, self-organised forms. The stage director Jean-François Peyret and the neurobiologist Alain Prochiantz share their fascination in primates through a mischievous encyclopaedia. The artist SMITH and the cosmologist Jean-Philippe Uzan have imagined the history of a new humanity, on a quest for an organic link with the stars. Bertrand Dezoteux, in an animated film, has invented an interconnected world inspired from the research of the biologist Lynn Margulis into the arrival and development of life on earth.
In a special dossier, the literature researcher Marielle Macé is in conversation with Claire Moulène about the “forms of life.” In a “speculative fantasy,” the biologist, philosopher and science historian Donna Haraway imagines a symbiotic future between the various species on earth. Jens Hauser, exhibition curator and mediology researcher, analyses how, by adopting biotechnologies as a medium, artists have shaken up the relationship between art and life. The philosopher Fréderic Neyrat examines our humanism in an essay about transhumans, posthumans, androids and cyborgs.
Published three times a year, Palais magazine offers an in-depth perspective on the exhibitions and program of the Palais de Tokyo. Palais allows people to see contemporary art in a topical way, as often as possible from the point of view of the artists themselves. Each season, the magazine includes dossiers, interviews, essays, special projects and inserts, all contributed by artists, art critics, historians or theorists, making Palais magazine an essential tool for apprehending contemporary art.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Palais n° 25 – Le Rêve des formes
Palais [tous les numéros]
  Palais Le Rêve des formes
paru en juin 2017
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
22,5 x 28,5 cm (broché)
216 pages (ill. coul.)
15.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-84711-074-6
EAN : 9782847110746
en stock
 
Le magazine du Palais de Tokyo dédie ce numéro 25 à l'exposition « Le Rêve des formes », autour des relations entre les sciences et l'art contemporain. Présentée au Palais de Tokyo du 14 juin au 10 septembre 2017, elle est organisée à l'occasion du vingtième anniversaire du Fresnoy – Studio national des arts contemporains.
Au sommaire de ce numéro : Alain Fleischer et Claire Moulène, commissaires de l'exposition, introduisent aux problématiques de l'exposition « Le Rêve des formes » ; Olivier Perriquet présente les travaux du groupe de recherche ayant réuni, au Fresnoy, artistes et scientifiques issus de différents champs autour de la question de « l'incertitude des formes », qui ont précédé et nourri l'exposition « Le Rêve des formes ». L'artiste Anicka Yi s'entretient avec trois chercheurs en biologie avec lesquels elle a récemment travaillé pour concevoir de nouvelles œuvres. Le compositeur Arnaud Petit explore la façon dont la musique fait dialoguer parole, écriture et mathématiques. L'artiste Hicham Berrada et la chercheuse Annick Lesne s'intéressent aux formes mouvantes auto-organisées. Le metteur en scène Jean-François Peyret et le neurobiologiste Alain Prochiantz partagent leur fascination pour les primates dans une facétieuse encyclopédie. L'artiste SMITH et le cosmologiste Jean-Philippe Uzan imaginent l'histoire d'une humanité nouvelle en quête d'un lien organique avec les étoiles. Bertrand Dezoteux invente, dans un film d'animation, un monde interconnecté inspiré par les recherches de la biologiste Lynn Margulis sur l'apparition et le développement de la vie sur terre.
Dans un cahier spécial, Marielle Macé, chercheuse en littérature, s'entretient avec Claire Moulène au sujet des « formes de vie ». Dans une « fabulation spéculative », Donna Haraway, biologiste, philosophe et historienne des sciences, imagine un devenir symbiotique entre les différentes espèces terrestres. Jens Hauser, commissaire d'exposition et chercheur en médiologie, analyse la façon dont les artistes qui s'emparent des biotechnologies ont bouleversé les relations entre l'art et le vivant. Le philosophe Fréderic Neyrat interroge notre humanisme dans un essai au sujet des transhumains, posthumains, androïdes et cyborgs.
Publié trois fois par an, le magazine Palais offre un regard enrichi sur les expositions et la programmation du Palais de Tokyo. Palais donne à voir l'art contemporain d'une manière actuelle et, aussi souvent que possible, du point de vue des artistes eux-mêmes. Chaque saison, dossiers thématiques, entretiens, essais, projets spéciaux et inserts sont autant de contributions d'artistes, de critiques d'art, d'historiens ou de théoriciens qui font du magazine Palais un outil indispensable pour appréhender l'art contemporain.