english version / version française
#picturebook1
Jean-Michel Wicker [see all titles]
Centre d'édition contemporaine [see all titles]
Jean-Michel Wicker #picturebook1
Graphic design: Maximage Société Suisse, London.
published in June 2017
texts in English and French
27 x 28,5 cm + inserts
396 pages (color & b/w ill.)
€70.00
ISBN: 978-2-9701174-0-7
EAN: 9782970117407
in stock
 
This artist's book is characteristic of Jean-Michel Wicker's work with typography and graphic design. It features a series of graphic works, a “tree of life” produced in collaboration with Marlie Mul, a text by Harry Burke, and a recipe for Alsatian plum pie by Charlotte Wicker. The publication's inserts reproduce collages and paintings by Wicker.
Wicker injects into all of his work certain letters (e, b and B) like viral recurrent elements, thus recreating an alphabet that multiplies and diffracts in both the exhibition space and books. [...] Playing with multiple typographic combinations and layouts that spill over several pages, Wicker's works, his books and more specifically our edition of #picturebook1, disseminate comments on and questions about recurring themes like identity, sexuality, autonomy, freedom, resistance, and transgression in the larger and richer field of culture and anti-culture. While the different assemblages of letters offer multiple typographic études like musical scales, the repetitive system is put to the test, creating nearly abstract geometrical pages. The artist's #picturebook1 likewise features sketches and freer drawings, and lays out images, details, and signs that appear from one page to the next, a surprising variation on the page layout. And like inserts or pages printed outside the confines of a book, Wicker's paintings and collages also develop in series. They may change into full-blown structures or grow in thickness, frequently being covered in papier-mâché as if smothered in paste, and become objects. The printed works are mixed in with temporary mechanical sculptures in installations which often include furniture that is made by hand from humble, so-called “poor” materials.
Published on the occasion of the exhibition “BBiblioteca ffanafffantastica”, Centre d'édition contemporaine, Geneva, from March 24, to May 6, 2017.
Since the 1990s, the work of French artist Jean-Michel Wicker (born 1970 in Riedisheim, lives and works in Berlin) hhas focused on all forms of production, including publishing, typography, performance, and gardening. Wicker is the founder of the publishing houses Le edizioni della luna, Nice, Le edizioni della china, Berlin, and Ballabella papers, Berlin. His recent solo exhibitions include Edouard Montassut, Paris (2017), Bergen Kunsthall (2015), Sandy Brown, Berlin (2015), Künstlerhaus, Stuttgart (2015), Cubitt, London (2014), New Theater, Berlin (2014), Artists Space, New York (2013), Kunsthalle Bern (2012), and KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin (2010). He has also exhibited in group shows, including the Institute of Contemporary Arts, London (2014), Kunsthal Charlottenborg, Copenhagen (2011), and Kunsthalle Zürich (2011).

See also Vidya Gastaldon & Jean-Michel Wicker.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
#picturebook1
Jean-Michel Wicker [tous les titres]
Centre d'édition contemporaine [tous les titres]
Jean-Michel Wicker #picturebook1
Conception graphique : Maximage Société Suisse, Londres.
paru en juin 2017
édition française (textes en français et en anglais)
27 x 28,5 cm + inserts
396 pages (ill. coul. et n&b)
70.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-9701174-0-7
EAN : 9782970117407
en stock
 
Livre d'artiste caractéristique du travail de Jean-Michel Wicker autour de la typographie et de l'espace livresque, comprenant des travaux graphiques de l'artiste, un « arbre de vie » réalisé en collaboration avec Marlie Mul, un texte de Harry Burke et une recette alsacienne de tarte aux quetsches par Charlotte Wicker. L'ouvrage est d'accompagné d'inserts de collages et de peintures de Wicker.
Comme des éléments viraux et récurrents, Wicker réinjecte dans tout son travail des lettres : le e, b, et B, et recrée un alphabet qui se démultiplie et se diffracte autant dans l'espace d'exposition que dans celui du livre. [...] S'ils jouent de plusieurs combinaisons typographiques, de mises en page éclatées sur plusieurs pages, les travaux de Jean-Michel Wicker, ses livres et plus particulièrement notre édition, #picturebook1 diffusent des commentaires et des interrogations sur des thématiques récurrentes telles que l'identité, la sexualité, l'autonomie, la liberté, la résistance, la transgression dans le champ plus large et riche de la culture et de l'anti-culture. Si les différents assemblages de lettres proposent de multiples études typographiques – telles des gammes, le système répétitif est éprouvé et crée des plages géométriques, quasi abstraites. #picturebook1 propose également des esquisses ou des dessins plus libres et met « en page » des images, des détails et des signes, qui apparaissent par surprise d'une page à l'autre. Comme inserts ou au-delà du livre, les collages et les peintures de Wicker se déclinent aussi sous forme de séries. Ils peuvent se transformer en structures, prendre de l'épaisseur, souvent recouverts de papier mâché, comme encollés et ils deviennent objets. Les imprimés se mêlent à des sculptures éphémères, mécaniques, dans des environnements souvent composés de mobilier réalisés dans des matériaux pauvres et fait main.
Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition « BBiblioteca ffanafffantastica », Centre d'édition contemporaine, Genève, du 24 mars au 6 mai 2017.
Jean-Michel Wicker (né en 1970 à Riedisheim, vit et travaille à Berlin) s'intéresse dès les années 1990 à la production, incluant l'édition, la typographie, la performance et le jardinage. Jean-Michel Wicker est le fondateur des maisons d'édition Le edizioni della luna, Nice, Le edizioni della china, Berlin et Ballabella papers, Il a notamment exposé à la galerie Edouard Montassut, Paris (2017), à la Bergen Kunsthall, Bergen (2015), chez Sandy Brown, Berlin (2015), à la Künstlerhaus, Stuttgart (2015), chez Cubitt, Londres (2014), au New Theater, Berlin (2014), à l'Artists Space, New York (2013), à la Kunsthalle Bern (2012), au KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin (2010). Jean-Michel Wicker a participé à des expositions collectives à l'Institute of Contemporary Arts, Londres (2014), à la Kunsthal Charlottenborg, Copenhague (2011) ainsi qu'à la Kunsthalle Zurich (2011).

Voir aussi Vidya Gastaldon & Jean-Michel Wicker.