english version / version française
Skulptur
Mamma Andersson [see all titles]
Nieves [see all titles]
Mamma Andersson Skulptur
published in April 2017
no text
19,5 x 25,5 cm (softcover)
20 pages (color ill.)
€12.00
ISBN: 978-3-905999-79-2
EAN: 9783905999792
in stock
 
Swedish artist Mamma Andersson is known for her melancholic paintings of private interiors, elegantly executed with her distinctive interplay of textures, and pictorial techniques. This new body of work stages a series of sculptures, whether as part of indoor space, or detailed in closeups.
Inspired by filmic imagery, theatre sets, and period interiors, the compositions of Karin Mamma Andersson (born 1962 in Luleå, Sweden, lives and works in Stockholm) are often dreamlike and expressive. While stylistic references include turn-of-the-century Nordic figurative painting, folk art, and local or contemporary vernacular, her evocative use of pictorial space and her juxtapositions of thick paint and textured washes is uniquely her own. Her subject matter revolves around evocative, melancholic landscapes and nondescript, private interiors.
In 2011, Andersson's work was the subject of a solo exhibition at Museum Haus Esters in Krefeld, Germany. She had her first museum solo show in the United States at the Aspen Art Museum, Colorado in 2010, and her first solo exhibition in Ireland at the Douglas Hyde Gallery, Dublin in 2009. In 2007, a critically acclaimed, mid-career survey of her work was organized by Moderna Museet, Stockholm, which traveled to Kunsthalle Helsinki and the Camden Arts Centre, London.
In 2006, the artist won the Carnegie Art Award, a prestigious prize for Nordic contemporary painting, which received a corresponding exhibition that traveled extensively throughout Europe. Her work was represented in the Nordic Pavilion at the 50th Venice Biennale in 2003.
Work by the artist is represented in museum collections that include the Dallas Museum of Art; Göteborgs Konstmuseum, Gothenburg, Sweden; Hammer Museum, Los Angeles; Magasin 3 Stockholm Konsthall; Malmö Konstmuseum, Sweden; Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles; The Museum of Modern Art, New York; Moderna Museet, Stockholm; and Västerås Konstmuseum, Sweden.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Skulptur
Mamma Andersson [tous les titres]
Nieves [tous les titres]
Mamma Andersson Skulptur
paru en avril 2017
sans texte
19,5 x 25,5 cm (broché)
20 pages (ill. coul.)
12.00 €
ISBN : 978-3-905999-79-2
EAN : 9783905999792
en stock
 
L'artiste suédoise Mamma Andersson peint des intérieurs empreints de mélancolie, exécutés avec élégance dans un style unique juxtaposant les textures et les techniques picturales. Cette série de peintures propose une variation autour de motifs sculpturaux, mis en scène dans des espaces domestiques ou cadrés en plan rapproché.
Inspirées par les mises en scènes cinématographique et théâtrale, ou les peintures d'époque, les compositions de Karin Mamma Andersson (née en 1962, Luleå, Suède, vit et travaille à Stockholm) se caractérisent par leur sensibilité onirique et leur expressivité. Si ses références stylistiques vont de la peinture figurative nordique du début du XXe siècle à l'art populaire et vernaculaire, son utilisation de l'espace pictural et ses juxtapositions de peintures épaisses et de dessins au lavis lui sont propres. L'artiste prend régulièrement pour sujet des paysages et des intérieurs où s'expriment la mélancolie.
En 2011, le travail d'Andersson a fait l'objet d'une exposition individuelle au Museum Haus Esters à Krefeld, en Allemagne. Elle a également exposé au Aspen Art Museum, Colorado, en 2010, à la Douglas Hyde Gallery, Dublin, en 2009, ainsi qu'au Moderna Museet, Stockholm, pour une rétrospective célébrée qui voyagera à la Kunsthalle Helsinki et au Camden Arts Centre de Londres.
En 2006, Mamma Andersson a remporté le Carnegie Art Award, prix prestigieux consacrant la peinture nordique. Son travail a été présenté au Pavillon nordique à la 50e Biennale de Venise en 2003.
Ses œuvres font partie des collections du Dallas Museum of Art, du Göteborgs Konstmuseum, (Göteborg, Suède), du Hammer Museum (Los Angeles), du Magasin 3 (Stockholm), du Malmö Konstmuseum (Suède), du Museum of Contemporary Art (Los Angeles), du Museum of Modern Art (New York), du Moderna Museet (Stockholm) et du Västerås Konstmuseum (Suède).