english version / version française
The Variational Status
Riccardo Giacconi [see all titles]
Humboldt Books [see all titles]
Riccardo Giacconi The Variational Status
Texts by Andrea Cavalletti, Riccardo Giacconi, Emanuele Guidi, Antoine Marchand, Frans-Willem Korsten, Andrea Morbio.

Graphic Design: Bianca Fabbri.
published in April 2017
bilingual edition (English / French)
16,5 x 22 cm (softcover)
80 pages (duotone & b/w ill.)
€20.00
ISBN: 978-88-99385-25-5
EAN: 9788899385255
in stock
 
Artist and researcher Riccardo Giacconi investigates the relationship between a range of narrative forms (puppetry, street storytellers, flyers and pamphlets) and a series of pre-political acts of revolt staged between Italy and South America. This publication documents his research project and features a series of texts, notes, archives, illustrations, and interviews.
The Variational Status is an investigation by Riccardo Giacconi on the status of documents, on how stories are traversed by different social and political currents, on connections between solitary and inarticulate acts of resistance and out-dated modalities of transmission. In these overlooked and disregarded stories, a pre-political tension can be identified through the study of non-official documents, narrative variations, legends, folk traditions, traces and clues, rather than historiographical constructions.
Three figures serve as case studies: the disappearance of assassin Simone Pianetti, the amnesia of anarchist Augusto Masetti and the mysterious origins of a Colombian puppet character, el espiritado. Be it through puppet shows, cantastorie, detective novels, fogli volanti or anarchist pamphlets, The Variational Status presents such stories as intrinsically not separable from their modalities of transmission.
Published on the occasion of the eponymous touring exhibition at ar/ge kunst, Bolzano, from December 7, 2016, to February 11, 2017, at Centrale Fies Drodesera Festival, Dro, July 21-29, 2017, and at FRAC Champagne-Ardenne, Reims, from October 13 to December 23, 2017.
Riccardo Giacconi (born 1985 in Italy) has studied fine arts at the University IUAV of Venezia, at UWE in Bristol and at New York University. His work has been exhibited in various institutions, such as WUK Kunsthalle Exnergasse (Vienna), FRAC Champagne-Ardenne (France), Tranzitdisplay (Prague), MAXXI (Rome), Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo (Turin) and in the “Résonance” section of the Lyon Biennale. He was artist-in-residence at: Centre international d'art et du paysage (Vassivière, France), Lugar a dudas (Cali, Colombia), MACRO – Museum of Contemporary Art of Rome and La Box (Bourges). He presented his films at several festivals, including the New York Film Festival, the International Film Festival Rotterdam, the Rome Film Festival, the Torino Film Festival and the FID Marseille International Film Festival, where he won the Grand Prix of the international competition in 2015. He was the recipient of the 2016 ArteVisione award, organized by Careof and Sky Arte. In 2007 he co-founded the collective Blauer Hase, with which he curates the periodical publication Paesaggio and the Helicotrema festival.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
The Variational Status
Riccardo Giacconi [tous les titres]
Humboldt Books [tous les titres]
Riccardo Giacconi The Variational Status
Textes de Andrea Cavalletti, Riccardo Giacconi, Emanuele Guidi, Antoine Marchand, Frans-Willem Korsten, Andrea Morbio.

Conception graphique : Bianca Fabbri.
paru en avril 2017
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
16,5 x 22 cm (broché, sous bandeau)
80 pages (ill. bichromie et n&b)
20.00 €
ISBN : 978-88-99385-25-5
EAN : 9788899385255
en stock
 
Les travaux de l'artiste-chercheur Riccardo Giacconi portent sur le lien entre différentes formes narratives (théâtre de marionnettes, conteur des rues, prospectus et brochure) et une série d'actes de révoltes « pré-politiques » entre l'Italie et l'Amérique du Sud. Cette publication documente son projet de recherche à travers une série de textes, de notes, d'archives, d'illustrations et d'entretiens.
Le statut variationnel est le titre d'un projet de recherche mené par Riccardo Giacconi dans lequel l'artiste explore plusieurs pistes de réflexions, parmi lesquelles : le statut des documents, la façon dont les récits sont traversés par différents courants sociaux et politiques, les liens entre les actes de résistance solitaires et inarticulés, et les modalités de transmissions archaïques.
A partir de récits négligés ou ignorés par la grande Histoire, Giacconi identifie une tension dite « pré-politique », tension qui ressort de l'étude de documents non officiels, de variations narratives, de légendes, de traditions populaires, de traces et d'indices plutôt que de constructions historiographiques.
Son travail repose sur trois études de cas : la disparition de l'assassin Simone Pianetti, l'amnésie de l'anarchiste Augusto Masetti et les origines mystérieuses d'un personnage de marionnettes colombien, el espiritado. Qu'il s'agisse de spectacles de marionnettes, de cantastorie, de romans policiers, de fogli volanti ou de pamphlets anarchistes, Le statut variationnel présente ces histoires en s'attachant à ne pas les séparer de leurs modalités de diffusion.
Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition éponyme itinérante à ar/ge kunst, Bolzano, du 7 décembre 2016 au 11 février 2017, au Centrale Fies Drodesera Festival, Dro, du 21 au 29 juillet 2017, et au FRAC Champagne-Ardenne, Reims, du 13 octobre au 23 décembre 2017.
Riccardo Giacconi (né en 1985 en Italie) a étudié les beaux-arts à l'Université IUAV de Venise, à UWE à Bristol et à la New York University. Ses œuvres ont été exposées dans diverses institutions telles que la WUK Kunsthalle Exnergasse (Vienne), le FRAC Champagne-Ardenne (France), la galerie Tranzitdisplay (Prague), le MAXXI (Rome), la Fondation Sandretto Re Rebaudengo (Turin) ainsi qu'à « Résonance », la plate-forme off de la Biennale de Lyon. Il a été artiste-résident au Centre international d'art et du paysage (Vassivière, France), à Lugar a dudas (Cali, Colombie), au MACRO – Musée d'art contemporain de Rome et à la Box (Bourges). Il a présenté ses films dans plusieurs festivals, dont le New York Film Festival, le Festival International du Film de Rotterdam, le Festival du Film de Rome, le Festival du Film de Turin et le FID – Festival International du Film de Marseille où il a remporté le grand prix de la compétition internationale en 2015. Il a été récipiendaire du prix ArteVisione 2016, organisé par Careof et Sky Arte. En 2007, il a cofondé le collectif Blauer Hase, avec lequel il publie le périodique Paesaggio et dirige le festival Helicotrema.