english version / version française
Twelve Seasons
Gebran Tarazi [see all titles]
Zamân [see all titles] Zamân Books [see all titles]
Gebran Tarazi Douze saisons
Texts by Morad Montazami and Gebran Tarazi, interviews with the artist.
published in March 2017
bilingual edition (English / French)
24 x 24 cm (hardcover)
336 pages (200 color & b/w ill.)
€39.00
ISBN: 979-10-93781-01-3
EAN: 9791093781013
in stock
 
This monograph offers a sweeping vision of the work of Lebanese artist Gebran Tarazi, whose paintings combine geometrical abstraction with oriental identity. The publication gathers reproductions of paintings, multidisciplinary projects, a selection of writings by the artist—log books, novel excerpts, correspondences—interviews, and critical texts.
This monograph devoted to the painting and cultural heritage of Lebanese artist Gebran Tarazi (1944–2010) presents a body of work unlike any other: the work of a hermit absorbed in geometry and engaged in an unrelenting quest for a lost territory encompassing identity, politics and aesthetics.
Here the most illuminating, emblematic outcome of this spiritual ascesis—the paintings from between 1988 and 2003, intended as conceptual, symphonic groupings—is to be found side by side with his other works: graphic works, chests and mirrors. Whence his “seasons”: geometrical and chromatic variations that explore the square format as an ornamental labyrinth whose geo-cultural ramifications reflect the influences of Damascus, Jerusalem, Rabat and Beirut.
While interacting with European geometrical abstraction and modernism (especially Josef Albers and the Bauhaus), Tarazi nonetheless pursued his personal Mediterranean utopia and its implicit untangling of the knot that is the war in Lebanon. This book offers a sweeping vision of an oeuvre at once analytical and surreal, rigorous and dreamlike. More broadly, it lays bare an intellectual trajectory which, in addition to its rendering of a mystical quest, stands as a key resource not only for art history, but also for literary studies and “post-Orientalist” thinking. The catalogue of works is accompanied by excerpts from the artist's writings, journal, letters and critical texts.
Published on the occasion of the exhibition by Saleh Barakat Gallery, Beirut, from March 24 to May 6, 2017.
Gebran Tarazi (1944-2010) is a Lebanese artist and considered at the forefront of Arab artists who deal with geometry. Noted for his vivid use of color, Tarazi sought to prove his oriental identity by exploring the traditional form of the Qayem-Nayem, an intricate and endlessly versatile arrangement of vertical and horizontal abstract shapes. Abstraction has also been the centre of the painter's writing adopting the “nouveau roman” style in his novel Le Pressoir à olives. He has exhibited in many exhibitions in Beirut and international. A Major retrospective of the artist was held at Villa Audi, Beirut titled, “Variations Geometriques” (2012).

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Douze saisons
Gebran Tarazi [tous les titres]
Zamân [tous les titres] Zamân Books (livres) [tous les titres]
Gebran Tarazi Douze saisons
Textes de Morad Montazami et Gebran Tarazi, entretiens avec l'artiste.
2017 (parution prévue au 1er trimestre)
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
24 x 24 cm (relié)
336 pages (200 ill. coul. et n&b
39.00 €
ISBN : 979-10-93781-01-3
EAN : 9791093781013
à paraître
 
Grande monographie offrant une vision panoramique de l'œuvre de l'artiste libanais Gebran Tarazi, peintre des variations géométriques n'ayant eu de cesse d'explorer le carré à travers un labyrinthe de formes issues aussi bien de Damas, Jérusalem, Rabat ou Beyrouth. L'ouvrage mêle aux reproductions des tableaux et d'autres travaux une sélection d'écrits de l'artiste – journal, extraits de romans et correspondances – des entretiens et des textes critiques.
Cet ouvrage monographique sur la production picturale et l'héritage culturel de l'artiste libanais Gebran Tarazi (1944-2010) témoigne d'une œuvre unique en son genre. Celle d'un ermite de la pensée géométrique, lancé dans la quête sans relâche d'un territoire perdu, à la fois identitaire, politique et esthétique.
Emblème le plus éclairant de cette œuvre digne d'une ascèse spirituelle, les tableaux peints par Tarazi entre 1988 et 2003, pensés par l'artiste comme des ensembles conceptuels et symphoniques, jouxtent dans ce livre ses autres réalisations – œuvres graphiques, coffres et miroirs. Autant de « saisons » de variations géométriques et chromatiques explorant la forme carrée à travers un labyrinthe ornemental dont les ramifications géoculturelles transitent aussi bien par Damas, Jérusalem, Rabat ou Beyrouth.
En dialogue avec l'abstraction géométrique et le modernisme européens (notamment Josef Albers et le Bauhaus), Gebran Tarazi cultive cependant sa propre utopie méditerranéenne, dans laquelle se dénoue implicitement le nœud traumatique de la guerre au Liban. Cette publication entend offrir une vision panoramique d'une œuvre à la fois scientifique et fantasmagorique, rigoureuse et rêveuse. Et, plus largement, dévoiler une trajectoire intellectuelle qui, puisse-t‑elle traduire une quête mystique, se révèle une ressource clé pour l'histoire de l'art, mais aussi les études littéraires et la pensée critique « postorientaliste ». Écrits, journal de bord, correspondance de l'artiste et textes critiques accompagnent ainsi le catalogue des œuvres.
Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition de l'artiste à la Saleh Barakat Gallery, Beyrouth, du 24 mars au 6 mai 2017.
Gebran Tarazi (1944-2010) est un artiste libanais de premier plan bien qu'encore largement méconnu, dont les recherches sur l'abstraction géométrique, pleines de rencontres insoupçonnées, n'attendent que de se déployer à la manière d'un kaléidoscope. Ses peintures aux formes labyrinthiques s'inspirent du motif traditionnel du Qayem-Nayem. Tarazi est également auteur du roman Le Pressoir à olives qui fait écho aux recherches menées par le Nouveau Roman. Exposé principalement à Beyrouth, l'artiste a fait l'objet d'une grande rétrospective de ses œuvres à la Villa Audi en 2012.