english version / version française
Abraham Poincheval [see all titles]
Les presses du réel Contemporary art [see all titles]
Abraham Poincheval <!---->
Edited by Frédéric Grossi.
Text by Thomas Schlesser.
Interview with Abraham Poincheval by Adélaïde Blanc.

Graphic design: Helmo.
published in February 2017
bilingual edition (English / French)
16 x 24 cm (softcover)
96 pages (ill.)
€17.00
ISBN: 978-2-84066-943-2
EAN: 9782840669432
in stock
 
First monograph, including a documentation on Abraham Poincheval's two new performances at the Palais de Tokyo, that lead him to experience the temporalities of the animal and the mineral kingdoms.
Published on the occasion of Abraham Poincheval's solo exhibition at the Palais de Tokyo, from February to May 2017.

Published in cooperation with Les presses du réel, this series of monographic books accompanies the Palais de Tokyo's exhibition program. Richly illustrated, with many views of the exhibition, accessible to all, each book will offer the reader an extended experience of the encounter with the artists' work. The artists' words will appear alongside original contributions by theoreticians, art critics, and curators, providing the reader with a deeper understanding of each artist's background and of the genesis of their project for the Palais de Tokyo. These books will allow the reader to follow the evolution of the artists' reflection on their work. Reproductions of artworks, preparatory documents, visual references, and studio views will bear witness to each step in the artist's process and accompany interviews and essays.

Thomas Schlesser is the director of the Fondation Hartung-Bergman (Antibes) and he teaches at the École Polytechnique (Palaiseau). He is the author of numerous books, some of which published by Les presses du réel, and recently L'Univers sans l'homme – les arts contre l'anthropocentrisme (1755-2016) (Paris: Hazan, 2016).
Adélaïde Blanc is the coordinator of the artistic department at the Palais de Tokyo. She curated Abraham Poincheval's solo show.
Abraham Poincheval (born 1972 in Alençon, lives and works in Marseille) is an insatiable explorer. Whether by crossing the Alps while pushing a capsule he used as his shelter, or by enclosing himself for a week in a rock, his—itinerant or static—expeditions require total physical commitment. The inhabitable sculptures which the artist conceives are laboratories allowing him to experience time, enclosure or immobility. They are the envelope that hosts the performer, an object that disturbs the landscape, and which exists through word of mouth.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Abraham Poincheval [tous les titres]
Les presses du réel – domaine Art contemporain [tous les titres] – collection Palais de Tokyo (Paris) [tous les titres]
Abraham Poincheval <!---->
Edité par Frédéric Grossi.
Texte de Thomas Schlesser.
Entretien avec Abraham Poincheval par Adélaïde Blanc.

Conception graphique : Helmo.
paru en février 2017
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
16 x 24 cm (broché)
96 pages (ill.)
17.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-84066-943-2
EAN : 9782840669432
en stock
 
Première monographie, s'inscrivant dans la collection publiée avec Les presses du réel en lien avec les expositions du Palais de Tokyo – où l'artiste présente deux nouvelles performances qui le conduisent à expérimenter les temporalités des règnes animal et minéral – , avec des vues d'exposition et une sélection d'œuvres emblématiques, un entretien, un essai et un ensemble de notices.
Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition personnelle d'Abraham Poincheval au Palais de Tokyo, du 2 février au 5 mai 2017.

Coéditée avec Les presses du réel, la collection de livres monographiques dans laquelle s'inscrit cet ouvrage est publiée en lien avec les expositions du Palais de Tokyo. Richement illustrés, comprenant de nombreuses vues de l'exposition, accessibles à tous, ces livres permettent de poursuivre l'expérience de la rencontre avec l'œuvre de l'artiste. Les propos des artistes, les contributions inédites de théoriciens, de critiques d'art et de commissaires d'expositions permettent de mieux comprendre le parcours de chaque artiste et la genèse de son projet au Palais de Tokyo. Le lecteur peut ainsi assister au cheminement d'une pensée. Des vues d'atelier, reproductions d'œuvres, documents préparatoires et images de référence témoignent des processus créateurs et complètent entretiens et essais.

Thomas Schlesser est le directeur de la Fondation Hartung-Bergman (Antibes). Il enseigne à l'École polytechnique. Auteur de nombreux ouvrages, parus aux Presses du réel notamment, il a publié récemment L'Univers sans l'homme – les arts contre l'anthropocentrisme (1755-2016) (Hazan, Paris, 2016).
Adélaïde Blanc est coordinatrice de la direction artistique du Palais de Tokyo. Elle est la commissaire de l'exposition personnelle d'Abraham Poincheval.
Abraham Poincheval (né en 1972 à Alençon, vit à Marseille) est un explorateur insatiable. Qu'il s'agisse de traverser les Alpes en poussant une capsule qui lui sert d'abri ou de s'enfermer une semaine dans un rocher, ses expéditions – itinérantes ou statiques – nécessitent un engagement total du corps. Les sculptures habitables que l'artiste conçoit sont des laboratoires au moyen desquels il fait l'expérience du temps, de l'enfermement ou de l'immobilité. Elles sont l'enveloppe qui accueille le performeur, l'objet qui perturbe le paysage et qui existe à travers les récits des témoins.