english version / version française
Palais #24 – Arts urbains
Palais [see all issues]
  Palais Arts urbains
published in November 2016
bilingual edition (English / French)
22,5 x 28,5 cm (softcover)
216 pages (color ill.)
€15.00
ISBN: 978-2-84711-071-5
EAN: 9782847110715
in stock
 
Around the Lasco Project, the Palais de Tokyo's programme dedicated to urban art, Palais magazine is devoting its latest issue to artists whose work has been developed in the street.
The Lasco Project was initiated in 2012, and stands as one of the most astonishing successions of urban art in a cultural site, reaching into the slightest nook and darkest cranny of the Palais de Tokyo. For it, almost sixty international artists have produced interventions, some of them monumental, others secret, which confront the Palais de Tokyo's plain architecture, and infiltrate into its interstices.
Contents of this issue: André interviewed by Olivier Zahm, Azyle interviewed by Hugo Vitrani, Philippe Baudelocque interviewed by Bénédicte Philippe, Craig Costello interviewed by Barry McGee, dran interviewed by Maurizio Cattelan, Evol interviewed by Pedro Soares Neves, Stelios Faitakis by Nadja Argyropoulou, Futura, Mode 2 and Boris Tellegen interviewed by Nicolas Gzeley, with an original visual contribution. An original visual collaboration between Antwan Horfee and Ida Ekblad, JR interviewed by Jean de Loisy, Olivier Kosta-Théfaine interviewed by Mohamed Bourouissa, Lek & Sowat and their guests for the Lasco Project by Philippe Vasset, OSGEMEOS interviewed by Allen Benedikt, Felipe Pantone interviewed by Evan Pricco, Cleon Peterson interviewed by Myriam Ben Salah, SKKI©, Vhils, Fabrice Yencko interviewed by Hugo Vitrani, an essay by François Chastanet drawing up a geography of urban signatures through a study of the contributions of the New York style of graffiti and the calligraphic inventions of Los Angeles and São Paulo graffiti, “La Trappe” [The Trapdoor], a short story by Oscar Coop-Phane, an essay by Jacob Kimvall on the complex relationships between artists practising graffiti or street art and public institutions, a text by Hugo Vitrani introducing the Lasco Project, as well as books for further reading selected by Nicolas Gzeley and Hugo Vitrani.
Published three times a year, Palais magazine offers an in-depth perspective on the exhibitions and program of the Palais de Tokyo. Palais allows people to see contemporary art in a topical way, as often as possible from the point of view of the artists themselves. Each season, the magazine includes dossiers, interviews, essays, special projects and inserts, all contributed by artists, art critics, historians or theorists, making Palais magazine an essential tool for apprehending contemporary art.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Palais n° 24 – Arts urbains
Palais [tous les numéros]
  Palais Arts urbains
paru en novembre 2016
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
22,5 x 28,5 cm (broché)
216 pages (ill. coul.)
15.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-84711-071-5
EAN : 9782847110715
en stock
 
Autour du Lasco Project, le programme du Palais de Tokyo dédié aux arts urbains, le magazine Palais consacre ce nouveau numéro aux artistes dont le travail s'est développé dans la rue.
Initié en 2012, le Lasco Project révèle, dans les méandres souterrains du bâtiment du Palais de Tokyo, l'un des plus étonnants parcours d'arts urbains dans un lieu culturel. Près d'une soixantaine d'artistes internationaux ont ainsi réalisé des interventions, pour certaines monumentales, pour d'autres secrètes, qui se confrontent à l'architecture brute du Palais de Tokyo et qui infiltrent ses espaces interstitiels.
Au sommaire de ce numéro : André interviewé par Olivier Zahm, Azyle, propos recueillis par Hugo Vitrani, Philippe Baudelocque interviewé par Bénédicte Philippe, Craig Costello interviewé par Barry McGee, dran interviewé par Maurizio Cattelan, Evol interviewé par Pedro Soares Neves, Stelios Faitakis, par Nadja Argyropoulou, Futura, Mode 2 et Boris Tellegen interviewés par Nicolas Gzeley, avec une contribution visuelle inédite. Une collaboration visuelle inédite entre Antwan Horfee et Ida Ekblad, JR interviewé par Jean de Loisy, Olivier Kosta-Théfaine interviewé par Mohamed Bourouissa, Lek & Sowat et leurs invités du Lasco Project, par Philippe Vasset, OSGEMEOS interviewés par Allen Benedikt, Felipe Pantone interviewé par Evan Pricco, Cleon Peterson interviewé par Myriam Ben Salah, SKKI©, Vhils, Fabrice Yencko interviewé par Hugo Vitrani, un essai de François Chastanet établissant une géographie de la signature urbaine par l'étude des apports du style new yorkais dans le graffiti et des inventions calligraphiques des graffitis de Los Angeles et de São Paulo, « La Trappe », une courte nouvelle d'Oscar Coop-Phane, un essai de Jacob Kimvall sur les relations complexes entre les artistes du graffiti et du street art avec les institutions artistiques, un texte de Hugo Vitrani introduisant au Lasco Project ainsi qu'une sélection de livres par Nicolas Gzeley et Hugo Vitrani.
Publié trois fois par an, le magazine Palais offre un regard enrichi sur les expositions et la programmation du Palais de Tokyo. Palais donne à voir l'art contemporain d'une manière actuelle et, aussi souvent que possible, du point de vue des artistes eux-mêmes. Chaque saison, dossiers thématiques, entretiens, essais, projets spéciaux et inserts sont autant de contributions d'artistes, de critiques d'art, d'historiens ou de théoriciens qui font du magazine Palais un outil indispensable pour appréhender l'art contemporain.