english version / version française
Espace art actuel #111 – Migrations-Borders
Espace art actuel [see all issues]
  Espace art actuel Migrations-Frontières
published in September 2015
bilingual edition (English / French)
21,9 x 27,8 cm (softcover)
128 pages (ill.)
€10.00
in stock
 
Special “Migrations & Borders” issue: texts by Bernard Schütze, Geneviève Chevalier, and Michael Blum, Milutin Gubash by Chantal T. Paris, François Morelli by Bernard Lamarche, interview with Aram Han Sifuentes, Dominique Sirois-Rouleau's essay on outdoor art, the usual features…
At the mention of human migration, we think immediately of people across the globe who are obliged to leave their native countries in search of safer territory. The reasons for these forced migrations may be political, economic, ethnic, religious, or even, as is more and more often the case, climatic. While most of these migrations have been occurring since the development of nation-states and the establishment of new borders, we must admit that our age has “produced more refugees, migrants, displaced persons, and exiles than ever before in history.” Considering the extent of these displacements and in order to circumvent the lucrative market for smugglers, Catherine Wihtol de Wenden, a specialist in international migration, advocates for the right to migrate and the right to mobility, even if such notions are not always welcomed with open arms.
Founded in 1987 in Montreal, Espace art actuel is an essential bilingual magazine for the promotion of contemporary art in the field of sculpture, installation and all other art forms associated with the notion of spatiality. Published three times a year (January, May, September) by Centre de diffusion 3D in Montreal, the magazine offers greater visibility to artists from Quebec and across Canada and contributes to the vitality of the local art scene. Since December 2013, Espace magazine has been led by André-Louis Paré.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Espace art actuel n° 111 – Migrations-Frontières
Espace art actuel [tous les numéros]
  Espace art actuel Migrations-Frontières
paru en septembre 2015
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
21,9 x 27,8 cm (broché)
128 pages (ill.)
10.00 €
en stock
 
Numéro consacré aux migrations et aux frontières : textes de Bernard Schütze, Geneviève Chevalier et Michael Blum, Milutin Gubash par Chantal T. Paris, François Morelli par Bernard Lamarche, entretien avec Aram Han Sifuentes, essai de Dominique Sirois-Rouleau sur l'antagonisme de l'art « hors les murs », rubriques habituelles…
Lorsqu'il est question de migrations humaines, spontanément nous pensons aux personnes qui, de par le monde, sont dans l'obligation de quitter leur pays pour un autre considéré plus sécuritaire. Les raisons de ces migrations forcées sont multiples : politique, économique, ethnique, religieuse, voire de plus en plus climatique. Et même si la plupart de ces migrations existent depuis le développement des États-nations et l'apparition de nouvelles frontières, il nous faut admettre que « notre époque a produit plus de réfugiés, de migrants, de personnes déplacées, d'exilés, qu'il n'y en a jamais eu dans l'histoire ». Devant l'ampleur de ces déplacements obligés et pour contourner le marché lucratif des passeurs, Catherine Wihtol de Wenden, spécialiste des migrations internationales, plaide pour un droit de migrer, un droit à la mobilité, même si l'hospitalité n'est pas toujours au rendez-vous.
Fondé en 1987 à Montréal, Espace art actuel est un périodique bilingue qui se consacre à la promotion des pratiques artistiques en lien avec le domaine de la sculpture, de l'installation ou de toute forme d'art associée à la notion de la spatialité. À raison de trois parutions par an (janvier, mai, septembre), la revue publiée par le Centre de diffusion 3D à Montréal offre visibilité et dynamisme aux scènes artistiques canadiennes et québécoises. Espace art actuel est dirigé depuis 2013 par André-Louis Paré.