english version / version française
Utopies
Martin Le Chevallier [see all titles]
Frac Bretagne [see all titles]
Martin Le Chevallier Utopies
Foreword by Jean-Marc Huitorel.

Published by Galerie Jousse Entreprise, Paris, with Frac Bretagne, Rennes.
published in October 2016
bilingual edition (English / French)
16,5 x 22 cm (softcover)
168 pages (48 color ill. & 78 b/w ill.)
€15.00
ISBN: 978-2-9518449-6-4
EAN: 9782951844964
in stock
 
First monograph dedicated to artist and filmmaker Martin Le Chevallier: a thorough introduction to his entire body of work (films, site-specific interventions, interactive pieces, performances and processes).
Utopies provides insight into the multiple issues and threads running through his body of work—be they political, poetic, or fanciful—and it examines the collage, détournement and parasitical practices he puts into play to generate a different way of looking at the contemporary world. The reader will find here a portfolio, an introductory text by art critic and curator Jean-Marc Huitorel, and an inventory of the artist's production from 1999 to 2016. Each piece is described and documented with images, technical specifications, diagrams, and transcriptions of texts from the works.
Martin Le Chevallier was born in May 1968. He came to the field contemporary art at the end of the 1990s after working as a graphic designer. Interactivity informed his early pieces: a game of video surveillance, a parody of an automatic voice response system, interactive videos, etc. He then turned to films and video installations, treating questions of utopia, globalization, or political beliefs with a unique mix of humor and poetry. Simultaneously, he created a whole series of process- or context-based works: he had himself audited by a consulting firm; he secured a pool in the Tuileries Gardens with toy-size remote-controlled patrol boats; he set up bleachers in the window of a gallery to suggest that the world is a theater, etc. Martin Le Chevallier lives and works in Paris.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Utopies
Martin Le Chevallier [tous les titres]
Frac Bretagne [tous les titres]
Martin Le Chevallier Utopies
Avant-propos de Jean-Marc Huitorel.

Publié par la galerie Jousse Entreprise, Paris, avec le Frac Bretagne, Rennes.
paru en octobre 2016
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
16,5 x 22 cm (broché)
168 pages (48 ill. coul. et 78 ill. n&b)
15.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-9518449-6-4
EAN : 9782951844964
en stock
 
Première monographie consacrée à l'artiste plasticien et réalisateur Martin Le Chevallier, permettant de découvrir l'ensemble de sa production : films, interventions in situ, pièces interactives, performances et processus.
Utopies révèle les enjeux qui traversent cette œuvre à la fois politique, poétique et fantaisiste et montre comment, par des jeux de collages, de détournements ou de parasitages, il donne à regarder autrement le monde contemporain. Le livre comprend un portfolio, un texte introductif écrit par le critique d'art et commissaire d'exposition Jean-Marc Huitorel et un inventaire des réalisations de l'artiste de 1999 à 2016. Chaque œuvre est décrite et documentée : images, données techniques, schémas et textes issus des œuvres.
Martin Le Chevallier est né en mai 68. Après avoir été graphiste, il est venu à l'art contemporain à la fin des années 1990. Il réalise d'abord des œuvres interactives : jeu de vidéosurveillance, parodie de serveur vocal, vidéos interactives, etc. Puis il se tourne vers d'autres supports : des films ou des installations vidéo qui traitent, avec humour ou poésie, d'utopie, de mondialisation ou de croyances politiques. Simultanément, il investit des formes processuelles ou contextuelles : il se fait auditer par un cabinet de consulting, il sécurise un bassin du jardin des Tuileries à l'aide de petits bateaux de police télécommandés, il dispose des gradins dans la vitrine d'une galerie afin de suggérer que le monde est un théâtre… Martin Le Chevallier vit et travaille à Paris.