english version / version française
Fleurs fantômes
Gabriel Orozco [see all titles]
Art centers, museums, galleries & varia [see all titles]
Gabriel Orozco Fleurs fantômes
Texts by Chantal Colleu-Dumond and Patricia Falguières.

Graphic design: Paul Carlos, Pure+Applied, New York.

Published by Grappa Studio.
published in October 2016
bilingual edition (English / French)
22 x 30 cm (hardcover, cloth binding)
152 pages (color ill.)
€48.00
ISBN: 978-2-7466-8830-8
EAN: 9782746688308
in stock
 
Catalogue of Orozco's eponymous in-situ work at Château de Chaumont-sur-Loire: inspired by the princely apartments's old tapestries, the installation looks back at the castle's history and draws on a reflection on memory.
Gabriel Orozco visited the old guest apartments of Prince and Princess de Broglie (the last private owners of Château de Chaumont-sur-Loire) for but a few moments when his gaze was drawn straight to the torn wallpaper remains—so discreet that they were no longer noticed. These faded impressions, modest vestiges, extremely fragile traces of a past now behind us, immediately captured the imagination of this exceptional artist, who had been invited to “take over the château” as part of a special commission for the Centre-Loire Valley region. In his fascination with the remnants of the old tapestries that once graced the walls of these rooms—closed off and forgotten about since 1938—Orozco devoted hours to studying the palimpsest of the floral tapestries, still hanging on these old walls: photographing them over a considerable amount of time whilst listening to the echoes of ages past. For in these very rooms, now consigned to history, kings and queens from all over Europe once spent time and slept—sometimes for just a few hours—at the turn of last century, invited as guests to sumptuous parties and celebrated hunts. The artist, whose work is inspired by the quest for traces, remnants, marks left by men, has chosen an approach that looks back at the history and memory of the château at Chaumont-sur-Loire. In these fragments of old, timeworn, threadbare tapestries, Gabriel Orozco detected traces of these lives now long gone by: a matrix of a subtle meditation on space and time. The works on display in the “guest bedrooms” of the château evoke the details and the damage of the ancient wallpaper, whose elegant floral motifs have been recreated using a unique, time-consuming process of spraying oil onto canvas. The faltering impression mirrors the feeling of unease that grips visitors as they encounter these works and these blemished walls that are now in plain sight. In this way Orozco reveals not just the designs and colors that had until now faded into the background, but also the emotion suspended in the rooms. Through this poetic promenade, along the walls and complex walkways of the west and south wings of two floors of the château, Orozco invites us to partake in a dialogue with the mystery and the memory of a unique environment that is rendered omnipresent.
Published on the occasion of the eponymous exhibition at Domaine Régional de Chaumont-sur-Loire – Center for Arts and Nature, from April 5, 2014, to December 31, 2016.
Gabriel Orozco (born 1962 in Jalapa, Mexico, lives and works in Paris, Mexico, and New York) studied at the Escuela Nacional de Arte Plasticas and then the Circulo de Bellas Artes in Madrid. His first personal exhibition was put on in 1983 and, from the early 1990s, he made a name for himself as one of the leading artists of his generation on the international stage. His work has been displayed in many prestigious museums including: Musée d'Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, (1995 and 1998), Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles (2000 and 2001), Serpentine Gallery, London (2004), Hirshhorn Museum, Washington D.C. (2004), Palacio de Cristal, Museo Nacional Centre de Arte Reina Sofia, Madrid, (2005), Museo del Palacio de Bellas Artes, Mexico (2006) and Museum Ludwig, Cologne (2006). He has taken part in the Venice Biennale (1993, 2003 and 2005), the Whitney Biennial (1997) and Documenta X (1997) and XI (2002).
His work has been the focus of a travelling retrospective from 2009 to 2011 at the MoMA (New York), Centre Pompidou (Paris), Kunstmuseum (Basle) and Tate Modern (London). His recent personal exhibitions include Asterisms, Deutsche Guggenheim, Berlin and Musée Guggenheim, New York (2012), Natural Motion, Kunsthaus Bregenz, Austria (2013) and Thinking in Circles, Fruitmarket Gallery, Edinburgh (2013).

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Fleurs fantômes
Gabriel Orozco [tous les titres]
Centres d'art, musées, galeries & varia [tous les titres]
Gabriel Orozco Fleurs fantômes
Textes de Chantal Colleu-Dumond et Patricia Falguières.

Conception graphique : Paul Carlos, Pure+Applied, New York.

Publié par Grappa Studio.
paru en octobre 2016
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
22 x 30 cm (relié, couv. toilée)
152 pages (ill. coul.)
48.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-7466-8830-8
EAN : 9782746688308
en stock
 
Catalogue consacré à l'installation éponyme réalisée par Gabriel Orozco dans les appartements princiers du Château de Chaumont-sur-Loire : une interrogation sur l'histoire et la mémoire inspirée des tapisseries anciennes ornant les murs du domaine.
A peine avait-il découvert les anciens appartements des invités du Prince et de la Princesse de Broglie, derniers propriétaires privés du Château de Chaumont-sur-Loire, que le regard de Gabriel Orozco s'est aussitôt porté sur les restes de papiers peints déchirés que nul ne voyait plus, tant ils étaient infimes. Ces impressions fanées, ces vestiges modestes, ces traces si ténues d'un passé disparu ont aussitôt frappé l'esprit de cet immense artiste, invité à « habiter le château » dans le cadre d'une commande spéciale de la Région Centre-Val de Loire. Fasciné par les restes des tapisseries anciennes qui ornaient les murs de ces pièces fermées et abandonnées depuis 1938, Gabriel Orozco s'est longuement imprégné du palimpseste des tapisseries fleuries subsistant sur ces murs anciens, qu'il a longuement photographiés, sensible à ces vibrations d'époques révolues. En ces chambres, en effet, aujourd'hui oubliées, vécurent et dormirent, parfois pour quelques heures, au début du siècle dernier, nombre de rois et reines, venus de toute l'Europe, invités en ces lieux pour des fêtes fastueuses et des chasses fameuses. C'est dans une démarche d'interrogation de l'histoire et de la mémoire du château que l'artiste, dont l'œuvre entière est marquée par la quête des traces, des restes, des empreintes des hommes, se situe à Chaumont-sur-Loire. Il a décelé dans ces fragments de tapisseries anciennes usées par les années, les signes de ces vies depuis longtemps enfuies, matrice d'une méditation subtile sur l'espace et le temps. Les œuvres qui jalonnent les « chambres des invités » du château reprennent des détails et des blessures de ces papiers anciens, dont les élégants motifs floraux sont reconstitués grâce à un procédé unique et lent de projection à jet d'huile sur toile. Le tremblé de l'impression est à l'aune du trouble qui saisit le visiteur en ces lieux, face au dialogue lié par ces œuvres et les murs imparfaits qui s'offrent au regard. L'artiste révèle ainsi ces signes et ces couleurs qui jusqu'alors échappaient à la vue, autant qu'il révèle l'émotion en suspens dans ces pièces. C'est à ce dialogue avec le mystère des lieux et cette mémoire diffuse, que nous invite Gabriel Orozco par cette poétique promenade, empruntant les chemins de ronde et les cheminements complexes des ailes ouest et sud, sur deux étages du château.
Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition éponyme au Domaine Régional de Chaumont-sur-Loire – Centre d'Arts et de Nature, du 5 avril 2014 au 31 décembre 2016.
Gabriel Orozco (né en 1962 à Jalapa, Mexique, vit et travaille à Paris, Mexico et New York) fait ses études à la Escuela Nacional de Artes Plasticas à Mexico et au Circulo de Bellas Artes à Madrid. Sa première exposition personnelle a lieu en 1983 et, dès le début des années 1990, il s'impose comme l'un des artistes majeurs de sa génération sur la scène internationale. Il a exposé dans de nombreux musées prestigieux : Musée d'Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, (1995 et 1998), Musée d'Art Contemporain, Los Angeles (2000 et 2001), Serpentine Gallery, Londres (2004), Hirshhorn Museum, Washington D.C. (2004), Palacio de Cristal, Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia, Madrid, (2005), Museo del Palacio de Bellas Artes, Mexico (2006), Museum Ludwig, Cologne (2006). Il a participé à la Biennale de Venise, (1993, 2003 et 2005), à la Biennale du Whitney (1997), à la Documenta X (1997) et XI (2002).
Son travail a fait l'objet d'une rétrospective itinérante de 2009 à 2011 au MoMA (New York), au Centre Pompidou (Paris), au Kunstmuseum (Bâle) et à la Tate Modern (Londres). Ses expositions personnelles récentes incluent « Asterisms », Deutsche Guggenheim, Berlin et Musée Guggenheim, New York (2012), Natural Motion, Kunsthaus Bregenz, Autriche (2013), « Thinking in Circles », Fruitmarket Gallery, Edinburgh (2013).