english version / version française
Les rescapés
Vidya Gastaldon [see all titles]
Art centers, museums, galleries & varia [see all titles]
Vidya Gastaldon Les rescapés
Texts by Marco Pasi and Gaëlle Rageot-Deshayes, conversation between Vidya Gastaldon and Timothée Chaillou.

Published by the musée de l'Abbaye Sainte-Croix - MASC, Les Sables d'Olonne.
published in July 2016
bilingual edition (English / French)
21 x 23 cm (softcover)
104 pages (color ill.)
€25.00
ISBN: 978-2-913981-59-1
EAN: 9782913981591
in stock
 
New monograph.
Through her drawings, paintings and fabric installations, the Franco-Swiss artist Vidya Gastaldon nurtures a protean aesthetic, both humble and psychedelic, claiming a form of simplicity and economy of means. Her recent series of oil paintings (Healing Painting, 2013-) is the best illustration of her approach. An assiduous visitor of Emmaus and Caritas charity centers, she recovers, adopts and repaints forgotten canvases of Sunday painters, bringing new life to them and reintroducing them into the circuit of a possible perspective. Between ecological thinking and esotericism (reincarnation, transmigration of souls), Vidya Gastaldon juggles with a plurality of spiritual and artistic references - borrowing from art history as well as from pop culture, Hindu deities and Biblical stories - always with much distance and an undeniable sense of humor.
Published on the occasion of the eponymous exhibition at the musée de l'Abbaye Sainte-Croix - MASC, Les Sables d'Olonne, from June 19 to September 25, 2016
Initially associated with Jean-Michel Wicker, over the years Vidya Gastaldon (norn 1974 in Besançon, france, now lives and works in Geneva) has developed a universe immersed in a hippie and psychedelic aesthetic, in New Age, and in minimalist abstraction, as well as devalued practices such as sewing or DIY.
Through her series of drawings, her films, and her sculptures in wool and other “craft” materials, the artist deploys an aesthetic of "states" rather than of formal or theoretical references, where notions of pleasure and experience find a new force.

See also Vidya Gastaldon & Jean-Michel Wicker.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Les rescapés
Vidya Gastaldon [tous les titres]
Centres d'art, musées, galeries & varia [tous les titres]
Vidya Gastaldon Les rescapés
Textes de Marco Pasi et Gaëlle Rageot-Deshayes, conversation entre Vidya Gastaldon et Timothée Chaillou.

Publié par le musée de l'Abbaye Sainte-Croix - MASC, Les Sables d'Olonne.
paru en juillet 2016
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
21 x 23 cm (broché)
104 pages (ill. coul.)
25.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-913981-59-1
EAN : 9782913981591
en stock
 
Nouvelle monographie : un large aperçu du travail de Vidya Gastaldon (peintures et installations) de 2009 à 2016, avec deux essais et un entretien.
À travers ses dessins, peintures et installations en tissu, l'artiste franco-suisse Vidya Gastaldon nourrit une esthétique protéiforme, humble et psychédélique qui revendique une forme de simplicité et d'économie de moyens. Sa récente série de peintures à l'huile (Healing Painting, 2013-) en est la plus belle illustration. Arpentant les Emmaüs ou Caritas, elle récupère, adopte et repeint des toiles de peintre du dimanche oubliés afin de leur insuffler une nouvelle vie et de les réintroduire dans le circuit d'un regard possible. Entre pensée écologiste et ésotérisme (réincarnation, transmigration des âmes), Vidya Gastaldon jongle avec une pluralité de références spirituelles et artistiques – empruntant à l'histoire de l'art comme à la pop culture, aux divinités hindoues comme aux récits bibliques – avec toujours beaucoup de distance et d'humour.
Cette monographie, constituant le 131e numéro des Cahiers de l'Abbaye Sainte-Croix, est publiée à l'occasion de l'exposition éponyme au musée de l'Abbaye Sainte-Croix - MASC, Les Sables d'Olonne, du 19 juin au 25 septembre 2016.
Associée de longue date avec Jean-Michel Wicker, Vidya Gastaldon (née en 1974 à Besançon, vit et travaille à Genève) a développé au fil des années un univers proche de l'esthétique hippie et psychédélique, du New Age et du minimalisme abstrait. A travers ses dessins, ses films et ses scupltures en laine ou en carton, l'artiste déploie une esthétique des « états » loin de toute référence formelle ou théorique, où les notions de plaisir et d'expérience trouvent une force nouvelle.

Voir aussi Vidya Gastaldon & Jean-Michel Wicker.