english version / version française
Marguerite Humeau [see all titles]
Les presses du réel Contemporary art [see all titles]
Marguerite Humeau <!---->
Edited by Frédéric Grossi.
Text by Rebecca Lamarche-Vadel.
Interviews with Marguerite Humeau by Bernard Buigues and Carl Safina.

Graphic design: Helmo.

Published with Nottingham Contemporary.
published in July 2016
bilingual edition (English / French)
16 x 24 cm (softcover)
96 pages (ill.)
€17.00
ISBN: 978-2-84066-896-1 / 978-2-84711-070-8
EAN: 9782840668961
in stock
 
First monograph.
Myths, fantasies and speculations lie at the heart of Marguerite Humeau's work. Always treading the line between research and fiction, her projects result from in-depth investigations and collaborations with specialists and scientists. At the Palais de Tokyo and Nottingham Contemporary, Humeau is offering a series of unique physical and sensory experiences. Her exhibition FOXP2 is named for the gene whose mutation enabled the arrival of articulate language at the source of our humanity. Here the artist is re-enacting the origins of life and the development of conscious life forms. Imagining a world where giant elephants dominate the planet, Humeau has artificially designed creatures endowed with emotions and consciousness.
Rebecca Lamarche-Vadel is a curator at the Palais de Tokyo.
Bernard Buigues is a French explorer. He has organized numerous expeditions to the North Pole and Siberia. He is the founder of Mammuthus, a scientific program aimed at constructing a record of paleobiodiversity through the collection and preservation of fossils throughout the Siberian Arctic. He defines himself as “a mammoth hunter without weapon.”
Carl Safina is the Endowed Professor for Nature and Humanity at Stony Brook University (NY), where he co-chairs the Alan Alda Center for Communicating Science and runs the not-for-profit Safina Center. His books include Beyond Words; What Animals Think and Feel (2015).

Published on the occasion of Marguerite Humeau's solo exhibition at the Palais de Tokyo, from June to September 2016, and at Nottingham Contemporary, from October 2016 to January 2017.

Published in cooperation with Les presses du réel, this series of monographic books accompanies the Palais de Tokyo's exhibition program. Richly illustrated, with many views of the exhibition, accessible to all, each book will offer the reader an extended experience of the encounter with the artists' work. The artists' words will appear alongside original contributions by theoreticians, art critics, and curators, providing the reader with a deeper understanding of each artist's background and of the genesis of their project for the Palais de Tokyo. These books will allow the reader to follow the evolution of the artists' reflection on their work. Reproductions of artworks, preparatory documents, visual references, and studio views will bear witness to each step in the artist's process and accompany interviews and essays.
Born 1986 in France, Marguerite Humeau lives and works in London.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Marguerite Humeau [tous les titres]
Les presses du réel – domaine Art contemporain [tous les titres] – collection Palais de Tokyo (Paris) [tous les titres]
Marguerite Humeau <!---->
Edité par Frédéric Grossi.
Texte de Rebecca Lamarche-Vadel.
Entretiens avec Marguerite Humeau par Bernard Buigues et Carl Safina.

Conception graphique : Helmo.

Publié avec Nottingham Contemporary.
paru en juillet 2016
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
16 x 24 cm (broché)
96 pages (ill.)
17.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-84066-896-1 / 978-2-84711-070-8
EAN : 9782840668961
en stock
 
Première monographie, s'inscrivant dans la collection publiée avec Les presses du réel en lien avec les expositions du Palais de Tokyo, avec des vues d'exposition et une sélection d'œuvres emblématiques, deux entretiens, un essai et un ensemble de notices.
Mythes, fantasmes et spéculations sont au cœur de l'œuvre de Marguerite Humeau. Toujours situés aux frontières de la recherche et de la fiction, les projets de Marguerite Humeau sont le fruit d'investigations approfondies et de collaborations avec des spécialistes et scientifiques. Au Palais de Tokyo et à Nottingham Contemporary, elle propose de vivre une expérience unique, physique et sensorielle. Avec son exposition « FOXP2 » – nom du gène dont la mutation a permis l'apparition du langage articulé, à la source de notre humanité –, l'artiste rejoue l'origine de la vie et celle du développement de formes de vies conscientes. En imaginant un monde où des éléphants géants domineraient la planète, elle crée artificiellement des créatures douées d'émotions et de conscience.
Rebecca Lamarche-Vadel est commissaire d'exposition au Palais de Tokyo.
Bernard Buigues est un explorateur français. Il a organisé de nombreuses expéditions au Pôle nord et en Sibérie. Il est le fondateur le programme scientifique Mammuthus destiné à constituer une archive de la paléo-biodiversité de la région arctique sibérienne au travers de la collecte et la conversation de fossiles. Il se définit comme « un chasseur de mammouth sans arme ».
Carl Safina est professeur à la chaire Nature et Humanité de l'université de Stony Brook (NY), où il co-préside le Alan Alda Center for Communicating Science et dirige l'organisation à but non lucratif Safina Center. Son dernier livre paru est Beyond Words; What Animals Think and Feel (2015).

Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition personnelle de Marguerite Humeau​ au Palais de Tokyo, du 23 juin au 11 septembre 2016, et à Nottingham Contemporary, du 15 octobre 2016 au 8 janvier 2017.

Coéditée avec Les presses du réel, la collection de livres monographiques dans laquelle s'inscrit cet ouvrage est publiée en lien avec les expositions du Palais de Tokyo. Richement illustrés, comprenant de nombreuses vues de l'exposition, accessibles à tous, ces livres permettent de poursuivre l'expérience de la rencontre avec l'œuvre de l'artiste. Les propos des artistes, les contributions inédites de théoriciens, de critiques d'art et de commissaires d'expositions permettent de mieux comprendre le parcours de chaque artiste et la genèse de son projet au Palais de Tokyo. Le lecteur peut ainsi assister au cheminement d'une pensée. Des vues d'atelier, reproductions d'œuvres, documents préparatoires et images de référence témoignent des processus créateurs et complètent entretiens et essais.
Née en 1986 en France, Marguerite Humeau vit et travaille à Londres. Elle est la lauréate 2017 du Zurich Art Prize.