english version / version française
Sonsbeek – A New Standard for Outdoor Exhibitions – 1971-1986 (DVD)
JRP|Ringier [see all titles] Bureau des Videos (DVD) [see all titles]
  Sonsbeek A New Standard for Outdoor Exhibitions – 1971-1986 (DVD)
Edited by Yves Aupetitallot.
Texts by Yves Aupetitallot and Jef Cornelis.

Published with Argos, Brussels.
published in November 2016
bilingual edition (English / French)
DVD Multizone, PAL/SECAM
76', 24 pages booklet (10 b/w ill.)
€25.00
ISBN: 978-3-03764-447-8
EAN: 9783037644478
in stock
 
Expanding its mapping of landmark exhibitions and curatorial history from the 1960s to today, the “Archives” series dedicates its fifth DVD to Sonsbeek, an art manifestation held in 1971 and 1986 in and around Arnhem (Netherlands). Mainly showcasing large installations and sculptures in natural surroundings, these two events are crucial to the history of outdoor exhibitions, shifting the boundaries of traditional sculpture.
Held six years before the first “Sculpture Projects Münster” (1977), “Sonsbeek 1971,” curated by Wim Beeren, questioned the traditional concept of sculpture and exhibition, introducing film and video, and environmental art—notably through the now canonical examples of Robert Smithson, Panamarenko, and Claes Oldenburg. Fifteen years later, “Sonsbeek 1986,” curated by Saskia Bos, proposed another rethinking of the exhibition by offering the visitor a “scaterred experience.” The artworks were exhibited in specially designed glass pavilions throughout Sonsbeek park. Presenting the actuality of “new sculpture,” the show brought together works by Katharina Fritsch, Michael Asher, Luciano Fabro, Ettore Spalletti, Thomas Schütte, Jan Vercruysse, Reinhard Mucha, Mario Merz, Hidetoshi, and James Casebere.
Filmed by Jef Cornelis with his habitually acute sense of dramaturgy and his provocative mise-en-scène of theoterical conflicts, Sonsbeek Buiten de Perken (1971) and Spaziergaenger mit Hund-Sonsbeek (1986) constitute a unique moving image documentation of those pioneering art events that renewed the exhibition format. Yves Aupetitallot's illustrated essay in the booklet offers essential reference points that elucidate the context and debates of these pivotal outdoor exhibitions.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Sonsbeek – A New Standard for Outdoor Exhibitions – 1971-1986 (DVD)
JRP|Ringier [tous les titres] Bureau des Vidéos (DVD) [tous les titres]
  Sonsbeek A New Standard for Outdoor Exhibitions – 1971-1986 (DVD)
Edité par Yves Aupetitallot.
Textes de Yves Aupetitallot et Jef Cornelis.

Publié avec Argos, Bruxelles.
paru en novembre 2016
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
DVD Multizone, PAL/SECAM
76', livret 24 pages (10 ill. n&b)
25.00 €
ISBN : 978-3-03764-447-8
EAN : 9783037644478
en stock
 
Le cinquième titre de la collection « Archives » dédiée aux pratiques curatoriales et à l'histoire des expositions, consacré aux expositions « Sonsbeek 1971 » et « Sonsbeek 1986 » à Arnhem aux Pays-Bas, deux événements artistiques cruciaux dans l'émergence des expositions en plein air et la remise en question des frontières traditionnelles de la sculpture.
Six ans avant la première édition du « Sculpture Projects Münster », la manifestation « Sonsbeek 1971 » commissionnée par Wim Beeren bousculait déjà les codes traditionnels de la sculpture et de l'exposition en introduisant le film et la vidéo ainsi que l'art environnemental – avec la présence notable de Robert Smithson, Panamarenko et Claes Oldenburg. Quinze années après, la commissaire Saskia Bos présente « Sonsbeek 1986 », une relecture de la précédente édition à travers un parcours d'exposition fragmenté en plusieurs pavillons de verre spécialement conçus pour l'événement au sein du parc de Sonsbeek. Présentant l'actualité de la « nouvelle sculpture », « Sonsbeek 1986 » expose les travaux de Katharina Fritsch, Michael Asher, Luciano Fabro, Ettore Spalletti, Thomas Schütte, Jan Vercruysse, Reinhard Mucha, Mario Merz, Hidetoshi et James Casebere.
Réalisés par Jef Cornelis et dotés de son sens habituel de la dramaturgie et de la mise-en-scène des oppositions théoriques, Sonsbeek Buiten de Perken (1971) et Spaziergaenger mit Hund-Sonsbeek (1986) constituent une documentation unique autour de deux événements pionniers qui ont su renouveler le format de l'exposition. L'essai illustré de Yves Aupetitallot met en perspective le contexte et les débats qui ont vu surgir les deux éditions de « Sonsbeek ».