english version / version française
Anabases
Eric Baudelaire [see all titles]
Archive Books [see all titles]
Eric Baudelaire Anabases
Edited by Eric Baudelaire and Anna Colin.
Texts by Morad Montazami, Pierre Zaoui, Homay King, Jean-Pierre Rehm.

Graphic design: Regular Jean-Marie Courant.
published in July 2014
bilingual edition (English / French)
16,5 x 23,5 cm (softcover)
304 pages (color ill.)
€32.00
ISBN: 978-3-943620-15-3
EAN: 9783943620153
in stock
 
This book documents an installation by Eric Baudelaire revisiting the political and personal saga of the Japanese Red Army as an anabasys—an allegory of a journey that is both a wandering into the unknown and a return back home.
“This book is not for reading but for wandering. Its lines do not roll out continuously but superimpose each other to infinity, creating not a compendium of knowledge but a web of prescience. It does not follow a logical framework but unfurls a grid with multiple entries. It does not assert a set subject or conclusive postulate. At most it invites us to probe the recesses of a mind in motion, and steeps us in the driving material that brings it to life. It reflects the works it exhibits, the documents it discloses and the commentary it generates: it aspires to ubiquity. Anabasis, the very real linking thread that stitches it together, serves not just as an archaeological enigma, but also as an allegorical force. The main author of this ocean crossing, Eric Baudelaire, is both a collector of vestiges and a sketcher of wandering lines who has surrounded himself with other meticulous voices (Pierre Zaoui, Homay King, Jean-Pierre Rehm), fellow-travellers in this library secret. Readers will be able to enjoy the gradual unfolding of the story of war and politics whose underlying intellectual and poetic adventure this book enables us to recall—that of its repetitions, ramifications and hybridisations: the story of Anabasis after Anabasis (or from Xenophon's Anabasis to that of Paul Celan by way of Alain Badiou's), from an ancient narrative to its modern reappropriation.”
Morad Montazami
Published following the exhibitions “The Anabasis of May and Fusako Shigenobu, Masao Adachi and 27 years without images” at la Synagogue de Delme, and Gasworks, London, in 2011 and 2012.
Working in photography, video, print making and installation, Eric Baudelaire (born 1973 in Salt-Lake City, USA, lives and works in Paris) is interested in the relationship between images and events, documents and narratives. Recalling factographic practices, his work can involve elaborate staged situations that appear to be real, but are somewhat off-kilter, and place the viewer in a situation of questioning the modes of production and consumption of images. He also uses simple techniques of assemblage, sampling and mechanical reproduction, applied to real documents, to playfully extract fictive narratives or new formal vocabularies.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Anabases
Eric Baudelaire [tous les titres]
Archive Books [tous les titres]
Eric Baudelaire Anabases
Edité par Eric Baudelaire et Anna Colin.
Textes de Morad Montazami, Pierre Zaoui, Homay King, Jean-Pierre Rehm.

Conception graphique : Regular Jean-Marie Courant.
paru en juillet 2014
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
16,5 x 23,5 cm (broché)
304 pages (ill. coul.)
32.00 €
ISBN : 978-3-943620-15-3
EAN : 9783943620153
en stock
 
Cet ouvrage documente une installation d'Eric Baudelaire retraçant l'épopée politique et personnelle de l'Armée rouge japonaise revisitée comme une anabase, allégorie d'un voyage qui est à la fois une errance vers l'inconnu et un retour vers chez soi.
« Le présent ouvrage n'est pas à lire mais à arpenter. Ses lignes ne se déroulent pas dans la continuité mais se superposent à l'infini, créant non pas un ensemble de savoirs mais un tissu de présciences. Il ne suit pas un plan logique mais déploie une grille à entrées multiples. Il ne revendique pas de sujet définitif, ni de postulat démonstratif, tout au plus nous offre-t-il à visiter les coulisses d'une pensée en mouvement et à nous imprégner de la matière motrice qui l'anime. Il est à l'image des travaux qu'il expose, des documents qu'il divulgue et des commentaires qu'il génère : ubiquiste. L'Anabase ou le fil rouge toutefois bien réel qui le suture fait autant office d'énigme archéologique que de puissance allégorique. L'auteur principal de cette traversée océanique, Eric Baudelaire, est à la fois un collectionneur de traces et un monteur de lignes d'erre qui s'est entouré d'autres voix méticuleuses (Pierre Zaoui, Homay King, Jean-Pierre Rehm) venant à leur tour parachever ce secret de bibliothèque. Le lecteur pourra ainsi apprécier le déploiement progressif de cette histoire guerrière et politique dont cet ouvrage nous fait remémorer l'aventure intellectuelle et poétique sous-jacente ; celle de ses reprises, ramifications et hybridations : l'histoire de l'Anabase d'après l'Anabase (ou de L'Anabase de Xénophon à celle de Paul Celan en passant par celle d'Alain Badiou), d'un récit antique à sa réappropriation moderne. »
Morad Montazami
Publié suite aux expositions « L'anabase de May et Fusako Shigenobu, Masao Adachi et 27 années sans images » au la Synagogue de Delme et à Gasworks, Londres, en 2011 et 2012.
A travers ses photographies, ses vidéos, ses impressions et ses installations, Eric Baudelaire (né en 1973 à Salt-Lake City, Etats-Unis, vit et travaille à Paris) interroge la relation entre image et événement, document et narration. Evoquant les pratiques factogaphiques, ses mises en scène de réalités déformées posent à l'audience la problématique des modes de production et de consommation de l'image. Il utilise également des techniques élémentaires d'assemblage, de sample et de reproduction mécaniques qu'il applique à des documents réels afin d'en extraire des récits fictifs ou de nouveaux vocabulaires formels.