english version / version française
Peeping Tom’s Digest #04 – Paris (Le Grand and beyond)
Peeping Tom's Digest [see all issues]
  Peeping Tom’s Digest Paris (Le Grand et au-delà)
published in June 2016
bilingual edition (English / French)
17 x 24 cm (softcover)
324 pages (ill.), inserted poster 68 x 96 cm
€20.00
ISBN: 979-10-95226-00-0
EAN: 9791095226000
in stock
 
Peeping Tom's Digest is an experimental, empirical and subjective publication dedicated to contemporary artistic practices. This issue, dedicated to Paris, teases out an offbeat and distanced portrait of the Parisian and French scene, through contributions from 70 participants, the restitution of work groups (dinners, performances, round table) and a residence at CNEAI (Paris suburban art center).
This fourth issue of Peeping Tom's Digest is unusual in taking as a starting point the city of Paris, where the members of Peeping Tom reside. To conserve a necessary distance in regards to a scene they were already familiar with, the collective privileged initiatives and actors for whom a certain detachment (geographic, temporal, emotional, economic, ideological, etc.) was chosen or imposed: foreigners living in Paris or in residency, French people based abroad, nomads and dromomaniacs passing through, initiatives situated in Parisian suburbs or elsewhere in France, the student milieu, actors who have left the artistic scene or whose financial independence placed them outside of the art world, the points of view of other professions, isolated, transversal or unclassifiable practices, etc. The contributions as a whole question notions of territoriality, affiliations, and isolation, and draw a portrait, one largely made in counter-relief, of the “Parisian art scene.”
The collective's residency at the CNEAI (Centre National Edition Art Image in Chatou, a Parisian suburb) between 2014 and 2015, allowed the establishment of five work groups, organized around events, both private and public, which nourished the editorial concept: dinners, performances, round tables, etc.
This bilingual issue brings together more than 70 participants in about forty texts and artistic contributions in both French and English. It is accompanied by a poster showing the genealogy and common thread of its elaboration as well as a supplement entitled RURAL, Special Limousin. An online extension presents unseen contributions.
Contributions by 4taxis (Michel Aphesbero and Danielle Colomine), A constructed World (Geoff Lowe and Jacqueline Riva), Adel Ghezal, Angélique Buisson, Arnaud Labelle-Rojoux, Axelle Bonnard, Barbara Manzetti, Barbara Soyer (The Drawer), Béatrice Gross, Charles de Meaux (Anna Sanders Films), Christine Rebet, Cyrille Weiner, Dimitri Mallet, Ekaterina Shcherbakova, Eleanor Ivory Weber, Emilie Renard (La Galerie Noisy-le-sec), Estelle Hanania, Esther Lowe, Eva Barto, exo exo (Elisa Rigoulet and Antoine Donzeaud), Fabien Vallos, Fabrice Reymond, Fenêtreproject (Dustin Cauchi and Francesca Mangion), Florence Bonnefous (Air de Paris), Florence Parot (Centre Pompidou), Francesco Urbano Ragazzi, Galerie Chantal Crousel, Gisèle Vienne, Gaël Gittard, Hélène Deléan, Hendrick Hegray, Jade Boyeldieu d'Auvigny, Jean-Luc Verna, Jesse Sykes, Joseph Marzolla, Julie-Anne Côté, Julie Higonnet, Kathy Alliou (Beaux-Arts de Paris), Lara Sarcevic, Laurent Niget, Lidwine Prolonge, Lucio Girondo, Lucy Watts, Lorraine Châteaux, Marc Nicolas (La Femis), Marcelline Delbecq, Mathilde Villeneuve (Les Laboratoires d'Aubervilliers), Maxime Bichon, Mohamed Bourouissa, Natsuko Uchino, Nicolas Boone, Nicolas Knight, Olivier Cadiot, Patric Chiha, Patrice Blouin, Patrice Joly (la Biennale de Belleville, Zérodeux, Zoo galerie), Patricia Brignone, Quentin Euverte, Sarina Basta (Fondation Gulbenkian), Samon Takahashi, Sébastien Pluot, Shanaynay, Sophie Cavoulacos (Moma, NY), Sophie Lamm, Stephen O'Malley, Sylvie Boulanger (Cneai), Thomas Fort, Treize (Fanny Schulmann, Olga Rozenblum, Lætitia Paviani, Pascaline Morincôme, Mathis Collins and Gallien Déjean), Valérie Pihet (SPEAP - Sciences Po, Dingdingdong), Yann Sérandour.
Peeping Tom's Digest is an experimental and subjective publication dedicated to contemporary art. Each issue focuses on trends and movements of a particular geographic area and highlights the artists and initiatives represented within it. The point of departure for each edition is a residency of the Peeping Tom collective lasting several months in the chosen city, region or country. Deliberately empirical, without critical, theoretical or historical pretensions, its approach allows them to veer off the beaten path. Not only sharing the work, the artists, and the artistic and cultural efforts they encountered, each volume also aims to reveal the specificity of a depicted art scene: the curatorial process and the structure of the magazine (graphic design, format, number of pages and so on) varies from issue to issue reflecting the characteristics and stakes of each locale. The genealogy of the experiment and its numerous protagonists are showcased in the publication as an inserted poster.
Peeping Tom is also a publishing structure for monographs and artists' books (see the publishers page).

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Peeping Tom’s Digest n° 04 – Paris (Le Grand et au-delà)
Peeping Tom's Digest [tous les numéros]
  Peeping Tom’s Digest Paris (Le Grand et au-delà)
paru en juin 2016
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
21 x 24,5 cm (broché)
324 pages (ill.), affiche insérée 68 x 96 cm
20.00 €
ISBN : 979-10-95226-00-0
EAN : 9791095226000
en stock
 
La revue expérimentale et subjective dédiée à l'exploration des scènes artistiques à travers le monde fait escale à Paris et dresse un portrait décalé et distancié de la scène parisienne et française, à travers la restitution de groupes de travail et grâce aux contributions de 70 intervenants (artistes, collectifs, écrivains, curateurs, enseignants, étudiants, sociologues ou encore urbanistes), qui interrogent la notion d'auteur, d'expertise et la légitimité d'une scène artistique, du marché de l'art et d'initiatives plus audacieuses. Numéro intégralement bilingue français / anglais.
Ce quatrième numéro de la revue Peeping Tom's Digest a pour particularité de prendre pour point de départ Paris, ville de résidence des membres de Peeping Tom. Pour conserver une distance nécessaire à l'égard d'une scène qui lui était familière, le collectif a privilégié les initiatives et les acteurs pour qui un certain recul (géographique, temporel, émotionnel, économique, idéologique, etc.) était choisi ou subi : étrangers vivant à Paris ou en résidence, Français basés à l'étranger, nomades et dromomanes de passage, initiatives situées en banlieue parisienne ou en province, le milieu étudiant, acteurs ayant quitté la scène artistique ou ayant une autonomie financière en dehors du monde de l'art, regard d'autres professions, pratiques isolées, transversales, inclassables, etc. L'ensemble des contributions questionne les notions de territorialité, d'appartenance et de cloisonnement et dresse un portrait, majoritairement en creux, de « la scène artistique parisienne ».
La résidence du collectif au Cneai (Centre National Edition Art Image à Chatou en banlieue parisienne) entre 2014 et 2015, a permis la mise en place de cinq groupes de travail autour d'évènements, privés ou publics, venant alimenter la conception éditoriale du livre : diners, performance, table ronde, etc.
Entièrement bilingue français / anglais, ce numéro réunit plus de 70 intervenants autour d'une quarantaine de textes et de contributions artistiques. Il est accompagné d'un poster rendant visible la généalogie et le fil conducteur de son élaboration ainsi que d'un supplément RURAL, spécial Limousin. Une extension en ligne présentera des contributions inédites.
Contributions de 4taxis (Michel Aphesbero et Danielle Colomine), A constructed World (Geoff Lowe et Jacqueline Riva), Adel Ghezal, Angélique Buisson, Arnaud Labelle-Rojoux, Axelle Bonnard, Barbara Manzetti, Barbara Soyer (The Drawer), Béatrice Gross, Charles de Meaux (Anna Sanders Films), Christine Rebet, Cyrille Weiner, Dimitri Mallet, Ekaterina Shcherbakova, Eleanor Ivory Weber, Emilie Renard (La Galerie Noisy-le-sec), Estelle Hanania, Esther Lowe, Eva Barto, exo exo (Elisa Rigoulet et Antoine Donzeaud), Fabien Vallos, Fabrice Reymond, Fenêtreproject (Dustin Cauchi et Francesca Mangion), Florence Bonnefous (Air de Paris), Florence Parot (Centre Pompidou), Francesco Urbano Ragazzi, Galerie Chantal Crousel, Gisèle Vienne, Gaël Gittard, Hélène Deléan, Hendrick Hegray, Jade Boyeldieu d'Auvigny, Jean-Luc Verna, Jesse Sykes, Joseph Marzolla, Julie-Anne Côté, Julie Higonnet, Kathy Alliou (Beaux-Arts de Paris), Lara Sarcevic, Laurent Niget, Lidwine Prolonge, Lucio Girondo, Lucy Watts, Lorraine Châteaux, Marc Nicolas (La Femis), Marcelline Delbecq, Mathilde Villeneuve (Les Laboratoires d'Aubervilliers), Maxime Bichon, Mohamed Bourouissa, Natsuko Uchino, Nicolas Boone, Nicolas Knight, Olivier Cadiot, Patric Chiha, Patrice Blouin, Patrice Joly (la Biennale de Belleville, Zérodeux, Zoo galerie), Patricia Brignone, Quentin Euverte, Sarina Basta (Fondation Gulbenkian), Samon Takahashi, Sébastien Pluot, Shanaynay, Sophie Cavoulacos (Moma, NY), Sophie Lamm, Stephen O'Malley, Sylvie Boulanger (Cneai), Thomas Fort, Treize (Fanny Schulmann, Olga Rozenblum, Lætitia Paviani, Pascaline Morincôme, Mathis Collins et Gallien Déjean), Valérie Pihet (SPEAP - Sciences Po, Dingdingdong), Yann Sérandour.
Peeping Tom's Digest est une revue expérimentale et subjective dédiée à la création contemporaine, dont chaque numéro est consacré à la scène artistique d'un territoire donné (une ville, un pays, une région), choisi en fonction de sa pertinence artistique, mais aussi des rencontres et opportunités. L'avant-garde artistique de chaque ville est alors sondée au cours d'une résidence de quelques mois du collectif Peeping Tom, qui en présente les découvertes au lecteur – œuvres inédites d'artistes de divers horizons (photographie, vidéo, peinture, sculpture, musique, théâtre, danse, performance, design, etc.), initiatives artistiques et culturelles. Modifiant sa structure et adaptant son approche curatoriale à chaque numéro (une affiche insérée schématise le processus et la méthode), afin de refléter les problématiques et les enjeux spécifiques de chaque scène artistique, la revue fonctionne comme une véritable exposition d'art contemporain sur papier et constitue une plate-forme transdisciplinaire inédite pour des artistes émergents.
Peeping Tom est également une structure éditoriale qui publie des ouvrages monographiques (voir la rubrique éditeurs).