english version / version française
News from Nowhere – Zurich Laboratory
Moon Kyungwon & Jeon Joonho [see all titles]
JRP|Editions [see all titles] Catalogues, Biennales & Collections [see all titles]
 Moon Kyungwon & Jeon Joonho News from Nowhere Zurich Laboratory
Edited by Raphael Gygax and Heike Munder.
Texts by Joe Jeong Hwan, Heike Munder, Tobias Peper, Urban-Think Tank.
published in September 2015
bilingual edition (English / German)
17,5 x 23,5 cm (hardcover)
144 pages (27 color & 35 b/w ill.)
€40.00
ISBN: 978-3-03764-436-2
EAN: 9783037644362
in stock
 
This monographic publication delivers an in-depth exploration of Moon & Jeon's collaborative project “News from Nowhere” premised on a postapocalyptic scenario: humanity has been almost entirely wiped out and is forced to reconsider long-held convictions that may no longer be tenable.
Initiated in 2012, the project “News from Nowhere” premiered at Documenta (13) and is designed as a steadily evolving ensemble. Moon & Jeon have established an interdisciplinary and participatory platform where renowned experts from the fields of product and fashion design, architecture, urban planning, and medical and biotechnology research discuss the urgent issues of our time with the audience. For the exhibition “News from Nowhere: Zurich Laboratory” at the Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Moon & Jeon have invited Urban-Think Tank and the Future Cities Laboratory, two hubs for visionary thinking affiliated with ETH Zurich, the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich. The thematic focus is on the constitution and construction of communities. To approach these topics, the artists and their collaborators have transformed the gallery into a place of interaction and communication. The book presents a comprehensive overview of the former exhibition stations in Kassel and Chicago alongside documentation of the project's realization in Zurich. In addition the book contains discussions about the role and function of art in our contemporary world, ranging from cultural to economical questions.
Published on the occasion of the eponymous exhibition at Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Zurich, from August 28 to November 8, 2015.
The Korean artists Moon Kyungwon & Jeon Joonho make work that addresses elemental questions concerning contemporary civilization in light of political, socioeconomic, and ecological changes. They were the recipient of Multitude Art Prize by Multitude Foundation (2013); Noon Award at Gwangju Biennale (2012); 2012 Korea Artist Prize. They live and work in Seoul.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
News from Nowhere – Zurich Laboratory
Moon Kyungwon & Jeon Joonho [tous les titres]
JRP|Editions [tous les titres] Catalogues, biennales & collections [tous les titres]
 Moon Kyungwon & Jeon Joonho News from Nowhere Zurich Laboratory
Edité par Raphael Gygax et Heike Munder.
Textes de Joe Jeong Hwan, Heike Munder, Tobias Peper, Urban-Think Tank.
paru en septembre 2015
édition bilingue (anglais / allemand)
17,5 x 23,5 cm (relié)
144 pages (27 ill. coul. et 35 n&b)
40.00 €
ISBN : 978-3-03764-436-2
EAN : 9783037644362
en stock
 
Monographie consacrée au projet participatif de Moon Kyungwon & Jeon Joonho, News from Nowhere repose sur une projection post-apocalyptique : en voie d'extinction, l'humanité se voit forcée de reconsidérer des certitudes profondes devenues intenables.
Initié en 2012, le projet « News from Nowhere » créé à la Documenta (13) est conçu comme un ensemble en constante évolution. Moon & Jeon ont établi un dispositif interdisciplinaire et participatif où des experts dans les divers domaines du design de produits, de la mode, de l'architecture, de l'urbanisme et de la recherche médicale et biotechnologique échangent avec le public sur les questions cruciales de notre temps. Pour l'exposition « News from Nowhere: Zurich Laboratory » au Musée Migros für Gegenwartskunst, Moon et Jeon ont invité Urban-Think Tank et Future Cities Laboratory, deux plate-formes dédiées à la prospective affiliées à l'ETH Zurich, l'École polytechnique fédérale. Le projet de l'exposition zurichoise se fonde sur la constitution et la construction de communautés. Pour aborder ces sujets, les artistes et leurs collaborateurs ont transformé la galerie en un lieu d'interaction et de communication. Le livre présente un aperçu complet des d'expositions antérieures à Kassel et Chicago ainsi qu'une riche documentation consacrée à celle de Zurich.
Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition éponyme au Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Zurich, du 29 août au 8 novembre 2015.
Les artistes coréens Moon Kyungwon & Jeon Joonho abordent la civilisation contemporaine à la lumière des changements politiques, socio-économiques et écologiques. Ils sont les lauréats du Multitude Art Prize de la Multitude Foundation (2013), du Noon Award au Gwangju Biennale (2012) et du Prix 2012 de l'artiste coréen. Ils travaillent et vivent à Séoul.