english version / version française
Jesper Just [see all titles]
Les presses du réel Contemporary art [see all titles]
Jesper Just <!---->
Edited by Frédéric Grossi.
Texts by Fabien Danesi, Katell Jaffrès, Jesper Just.

Graphic design: Xavier Antin.
published in July 2015
bilingual edition (English / French)
16 x 24 cm (softcover)
96 pages (color & b/w ill.)
€19.00
ISBN: 978-2-84066-802-2 / 978-2-84711-059-3
EAN: 9782840668022
in stock
 
New monograph.
In his film work, Jesper Just links images of an exceptional quality to sound and music. Enigmas disrupt the narrative, creating a poetry-liberating tension. The artist leaves spectators with their own doubts and emotions. The work conceived for the Palais de Tokyo consists of an audiovisual installation and a spatial intervention, which transforms both the space and the visitor's journey. The One World Trade Center, an iconic and controversial skyscraper, is as much the scene of the films, as a character in itself. It functions as a phantom limb, while also standing for resilience. The films follow two characters: a young girl, who is not an individual but embodies the ideals of youth and feminity conveyed today, and a disabled child. The characters mirror, oppose and interact, to explore themes of ableism and agency as well as the boundaries of body and selfhood.
This monograph gathers a conversation with Jesper Just and Katell Jaffrès, curator of Patrick Neu's exhibition at the Palais de Tokyo, an essay by Fabien Danesi, a portfolio of views of the exhibition, a selection of stills from films by Jesper Just created between 2002 and 2013, a group of stills from Servitudes, Jesper Just's nine new films, and notes on a selection of the artist's works.
Fabien Danesi is an art historian. He's managing the programme of the Pavillon Neuflize OBC, the research lab of the Palais de Tokyo.
Katell Jaffrès is a curator at the Palais de Tokyo.

Published on the occasion of Jesper Just's solo exhibition at the Palais de Tokyo, “Servitudes,” from June to September 2015.

Published in cooperation with Les presses du réel, this series of monographic books accompanies the Palais de Tokyo's exhibition program. Richly illustrated, with many views of the exhibition, accessible to all, each book will offer the reader an extended experience of the encounter with the artists' work. The artists' words will appear alongside original contributions by theoreticians, art critics, and curators, providing the reader with a deeper understanding of each artist's background and of the genesis of their project for the Palais de Tokyo. These books will allow the reader to follow the evolution of the artists' reflection on their work. Reproductions of artworks, preparatory documents, visual references, and studio views will bear witness to each step in the artist's process and accompany interviews and essays.
Born 1974 in Copenhagen, Jesper Just lives and works in New York.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
 



version française / english version
Jesper Just [tous les titres]
Les presses du réel – domaine Art contemporain [tous les titres] – collection Palais de Tokyo (Paris) [tous les titres]
Jesper Just <!---->
Edité par Frédéric Grossi.
Textes de Fabien Danesi, Katell Jaffrès, Jesper Just.

Conception graphique : Xavier Antin.
paru en juillet 2015
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
16 x 24 cm (broché)
96 pages (ill. coul. et n&b)
19.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-84066-802-2 / 978-2-84711-059-3
EAN : 9782840668022
en stock
 
Nouvelle monographie.
Dans son travail filmique, Jesper Just associe les images, d'une qualité exceptionnelle, au son et à la musique. L'énigme vient perturber la narration et la tension créée laisse émerger la poésie. L'artiste livre ainsi le spectateur à ses interrogations et ses émotions. La création conçue pour le Palais de Tokyo est composée d'une installation audiovisuelle et d'une intervention spatiale transformant l'espace et le parcours du visiteur. Le One World Trade Center, gratte-ciel iconique et controversé, est autant le décor des films qu'un personnage en soi. Il a fonction de membre fantôme et constitue aussi le témoignage d'une résilience. Les films suivent deux personnages : une jeune fille, qui n'apparaît pas comme un individu mais incarne les idéaux de jeunesse et de féminité véhiculés aujourd'hui, et une enfant handicapée. Les personnages se reflètent, s'opposent et interagissent, pour explorer les concepts de capacitisme et d'autonomisation, questionnant ainsi les limites du corps et de l'individualité.
Cette monographie rassemble une conversation entre Jesper Just et Katell Jaffrès, commissaire de l'exposition de Jesper Just au Palais de Tokyo, un essai de Fabien Danesi, un portfolio de vues de l'exposition, d'images extraites de films de Jesper Just réalisés entre 2002 à 2013, un ensemble d'images extraites de Servitudes, les neuf nouveaux films réalisés par Jesper Just, et un ensemble de notices sur une sélection d'œuvres de l'artiste.
Fabien Danesi est historien de l'art. Il est responsable du programme du Pavillon Neuflize OBC, le laboratoire de création du Palais de Tokyo.
Katell Jaffrès est curatrice au Palais de Tokyo.

Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition personnelle de Jesper Just au Palais de Tokyo, « Servitudes », du 24 juin au 13 septembre 2015.

Coéditée avec Les presses du réel, la collection de livres monographiques dans laquelle s'inscrit cet ouvrage est publiée en lien avec les expositions du Palais de Tokyo. Richement illustrés, comprenant de nombreuses vues de l'exposition, accessibles à tous, ces livres permettent de poursuivre l'expérience de la rencontre avec l'œuvre de l'artiste. Les propos des artistes, les contributions inédites de théoriciens, de critiques d'art et de commissaires d'expositions permettent de mieux comprendre le parcours de chaque artiste et la genèse de son projet au Palais de Tokyo. Le lecteur peut ainsi assister au cheminement d'une pensée. Des vues d'atelier, reproductions d'œuvres, documents préparatoires et images de référence témoignent des processus créateurs et complètent entretiens et essais.
Né en 1974 à Copenhague, Jesper Just vit et travaille à New York.