english version / version française
The American Tetralogy
Philippe Terrier-Hermann [see all titles]
BlackJack editions [see all titles] - Monographs & artists' books [see all titles]
Philippe Terrier-Hermann The American Tetralogy
Texts by André S. Labarthe, Masha Tupitsyn, Veronica Gonzalez, Mark von Schlegell.
published in February 2013
bilingual edition (English / French)
30 x 23 cm (hardcover)
160 pages (color ill.)
€30.00
ISBN: 978-2-91806-314-8
EAN: 9782918063148
in stock
 
Artist's book based on Philippe Terrier-Hermann's eponymous film project, produced in California with thirty American and European actors (Douglas Booth, Ashley Hinshaw, Nana Agyapong, Béatrice Rosen, Sharon Stone, Roxane Mesquida, Nicole Garcia...). A staging of reality that questions the fictionality of cinema.
“It is precisely because of these once iconic, and now hackneyed, depictions, in fact, that we often do the things we do, are the people we are, and move to the cities we move to. We do it not simply to live the way people live in those films, in the roles those cities play on film, or the roles we play in those cinematic cities, which is its own fantasy and construction, as Thom Andersen explains in Los Angeles Plays Itself, but to look like the people in those films. This is what Terrier-Hermann’s film stills in The American Tetralogy – pictures based on an “imagined” movie, a premise only plausible and intelligible, if we possess a collective cinematic epistemology – show us. Movies, photographs, and advertising have taught us not only what it means to live, but what it looks like to live, for we do not so much have inner lives anymore, as outer ones.”
Masha Tupitsyn
See also Philippe Terrier-Hermann – La Trilogie française (postcards).
Philippe Terrier-Hermann (born in 1970 in France) studied at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. In 1998, he directed his first films: Accident Providentiel at the Rijksakademie in Amsterdam and Executive Partner in Tokyo. In Brussels in 2000, he directed Marie-Ange Dutheil in Grégoire. He then used the Villa Medici as the setting for Romans in which Caterina Murino and Luisa Ranieri made their first appearances. In 2003 he gave Andy Gillet his first role in Mamonaku mon amour, shot in Japan. Thanks to A. Weerasethakul, he cast Banlop Lomnoi for The Pride of Siam. In 2009, The Rift, with Simon Buret and Andy Gillet, was selected by numerous film festivals, including Indie Lisboa, Pantin and Hors Pistes in Paris. Since 2000, his work has been presented at the Busan Biennal in Korea, the Sharjah Biennal of UAE, Triennale of Prague, Villa Arson in Nice, De Appel Amsterdam, Museum voor Fotografie in Antwerp, Centro Reina Sofia in Madrid, Jeu de Paume, Pompidou Center, Grand Palais, Centre National de la Photographie, la Fémis and at the Cinémathèque française in Paris. Some of his films are part of the collection of the Pompidou Center in Paris.
Philippe Terrier-Hermann has also published four books including Internationales, Fascination & Romans, 106 beautés japonaises and 93 beautés hollandaises.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
The American Tetralogy
Philippe Terrier-Hermann [tous les titres]
BlackJack éditions [tous les titres] Monographies & livres d'artistes [tous les titres]
Philippe Terrier-Hermann The American Tetralogy
Textes de André S. Labarthe, Masha Tupitsyn, Veronica Gonzalez, Mark von Schlegell.
paru en février 2013
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
30 x 23 cm (relié)
160 pages (ill. coul.)
30.00 € 17.00 €
(offre spéciale)
ISBN : 978-2-91806-314-8
EAN : 9782918063148
en stock
 
Livre d'artiste basé sur le projet cinématographique éponyme de l'artiste, photographe, réalisateur et écrivain : quatre séries d'images tirées de sa « tétralogie américaine », réalisée intégralement en Californie avec une trentaine d'acteurs américains et européens (Douglas Booth, Ashley Hinshaw, Nana Agyapong, Béatrice Rosen, Sharon Stone, Roxane Mesquida, Nicole Garcia...). Une revisitation de territoires et de figures cinématographiques mythiques, dans une mise en scène de la réalité qui interroge la fictionnalité du cinéma.
« C'est précisément à cause de ces représentations autrefois emblématiques et aujourd'hui éculées, que souvent nous faisons les choses que nous faisons, que nous sommes qui nous sommes, allons vivre dans les villes où nous allons vivre. Et nous ne le faisons pas uniquement pour vivre comme les gens vivent dans ces films, dans les rôles que ces villes jouent dans les films ou les rôles que nous jouons dans ces villes cinématographiques, qui sont leur propre fantasme, leur propre construction, comme l'explique Thom Andersen dans Los Angeles Plays Itself, mais pour ressembler aux gens qui sont dans ces films. C'est ce que nous montrent les photos de Terrier-Hermann dans American Tétralogy : des images tirées d'un film “imaginé”, une prémisse qui n'est plausible et intelligible que si nous possédons une épistémologie cinématographique commune. Les films, les photos et la publicité nous ont appris non seulement ce que vivre veut dire, mais également ce à quoi ressemble la vie, dans la mesure où nous avons désormais plus de vies extérieures que de vies intérieures. »
Masha Tupitsyn
Voir aussi Philippe Terrier-Hermann – La Trilogie française (cartes postales).
Philippe Terrier-Hermann est né en 1970 à Clermont-de-l'Oise. Après des études à la School of the Art Institute of Chicago et à la Rijksakademie à Amsterdam, il a séjourné à Rome (Villa Médicis), à Paris (Cité internationale des arts), à Tokyo, à Buenos Aires et à Bangkok afin de réaliser différents travaux de photos et de films. Depuis 2000, il a exposé notamment au Centre National de la Photographie à Paris, au Fotografie Museum à Anvers, à la Galerie Poller à Francfort, à la Maison Grégoire à Bruxelles, à la Villa Arson à Nice, à la Triennale de Prague, à la Biennale de Pusan en Corée et la Biennale de Sharjah aux Émirats arabes unis. Ses films ont été projetés au Centre Pompidou à Paris, au SuperDeluxe à Tokyo, aux Établissement d'en face projects à Bruxelles, à De Appel arts centre à Amsterdam et au Jeu de Paume à Paris. Certains de ses films figurent dans les collections du Musée national d'art moderne. Il a publié plusieurs ouvrages dont Fascination & Romans, Internationales, 106 beautés japonaises et 93 beautés hollandaises. Il a réalisé son premier long métrage, La Dérive, présenté dans plusieurs festivals en France et à l'étranger (Hors Pistes, Festival Côté Court de Pantin, IndieLisboa) et sorti en salle en 2009.