english version / version française
Volume – What You See Is What You Hear #05
miscellaneous [see all issues]
  Volume – What You See Is What You Hear
published in October 2012
bilingual edition (English / French)
21 x 27 cm (softcover)
128 pages (color & b/w ill.)
€18.00
ISBN: 978-2-919217-08-3
EAN: 9782919217083
in stock
 
5th issue of the contemporary art journal about sound, devoted to the complex relationships between visual and sound forms (critical texts, historical analysis, interviews, artist's interventions...): Céleste Boursier-Mougenot, Erik Bünger, Destroy All Monsters, Julien Discrit & Thomas Dupouy, Rashid Johnson, Kapwani Kiwanga, Claude Lévêque, Haroon Mirza, Kristin Oppenheim, Katie Paterson, Ugo Rondinone, Cauleen Smith, artistic contributions by Meris Angioletti, Isabelle Giovacchini and Joachim Koester...
Whatever their degree of “fidelity”, technologies have progressively imposed themselves on our daily life, following the example of the telephone. While the development of modern systems of telecommunication has enabled individuals to be “put in touch”, with growing facility, certain individuals have discovered in them a way to enter into contact with mysterious forces, even, in the case of transcommunication, to perceive signs of the hereafter through troubling visual and auditory apparitions. Immaterial and dissociated from its bodily envelope, the voice thus disembodied, recorded and/or transmitted through the channels of technology, manifestly bears witness to an absence as much as a form of spectrality.
Somewhere between ghost and phantasm, “spirits” tend to get lost… Like a control tower, the brain guides perception and states of consciousness, which can be altered or disturbed by sensorial or psychic phenomena – in particular those due to the ingestion of psychotropic and other hallucinogenic substances. Projecting and thus exteriorizing these “interior voyages”, certain artistic processes and experiments in immersion attempt to reconstitute the sensations and effects of these experiences, all the while participating themselves in the production of mental images.
Bilingual (English/French) and biannual, VolumeWhat You See Is What You Hear is the first magazine devoted to sound issues in art, and to the complex relationships between visual and sound forms, both in contemporary art and history.
Volume is neither a musical magazine, nor a magazine about sound art; rather, it sees sound from the angle of the visual arts. The history of relations between sound and art is not recent, but the past few years have seen many more works, exhibitions, publications and other events whose aesthetic and theoretical content attests to a growing interest in this medium, and the various ways it is used. Through a broad range of critical and artistic contributions, it is Volume's intent to represent a platform observing and analyzing this dynamic, while at the same time being sure to re-position it within a historical perspective.
What You See Is What You Hear also publishes various editorial projects in the form of books.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
 



version française / english version
Volume – What You See Is What You Hear n° 05
Volume – What You See Is What You Hear [tous les numéros]
  Volume – What You See Is What You Hear
paru en octobre 2012
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
21 x 27 cm (broché)
128 pages (ill. coul. et n&b)
18.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-919217-08-3
EAN : 9782919217083
en stock
 
Le cinquième numéro de la revue d'art contemporain sur le son (textes critiques et monographiques, analyses historiques, entretiens, interventions d'artistes...) se penche sur des phénomènes liés à la perception et aux états de conscience modifiés voire altérés, des expériences immersives et cognitives, peuplées d'histoires de fantômes et traversées de voyages intérieurs ou intergalactiques.
Au sommaire : Céleste Boursier-Mougenot, Erik Bünger, Destroy All Monsters, Julien Discrit & Thomas Dupouy, Rashid Johnson, Kapwani Kiwanga, Claude Lévêque, Haroon Mirza, Kristin Oppenheim, Katie Paterson, Ugo Rondinone, Cauleen Smith, interventions artistiques inédites de Meris Angioletti, Isabelle Giovacchini et Joachim Koester...
Quel que soit leur degré de « fidélité », les technologies se sont progressivement imposées dans notre quotidien, à l'instar du téléphone. Si le développement des systèmes de télécommunication modernes a permis aux individus d'être « mis en relation » avec une facilité croissante, certains ont pu y déceler le moyen d'entrer en contact avec des forces mystérieuses, voire, dans le cas de la transcommunication, de percevoir des signes de l'au-delà au travers d'apparitions visuelles et sonores troublantes. Immatérielle et dissociée de son enveloppe charnelle, la voix ainsi désincarnée, enregistrée et/ou véhiculée par les canaux de la technologie, témoigne manifestement d'une absence autant que d'une forme de spectralité.
Entre fantôme et fantasme, les « esprits » ont tendance à se perdre... Telle une tour de contrôle, le cerveau aiguille la perception et les états de conscience, lesquels peuvent être altérés ou perturbés par des phénomènes sensoriels ou psychiques – dus notamment à la prise de psychotropes et autres substances hallucinogènes. En projetant, et ainsi en extériorisant ces « voyages intérieurs », certaines démarches artistiques et expériences immersives tentent d'en restituer les sensations et les effets, en même temps qu'elles participent à leur tour de la production d'images mentales.
Bilingue et semestrielle, VolumeWhat You See Is What You Hear se présente comme la première revue d'art contemporain spécialisée sur le son. Ni revue musicale, ni revue d'art sonore, Volume envisage le son du point de vue des arts plastiques.
Si l'histoire des relations entre le son et l'art n'est pas récente, ces dernières années ont vu se multiplier œuvres, expositions, publications et autres événements dont le contenu esthétique et théorique témoigne d'un intérêt croissant pour ce médium et la diversité de ses usages. À travers un large éventail de contributions critiques et artistiques, Volume entend constituer une plate-forme d'observation et d'analyse de cette dynamique, tout en veillant à la replacer dans une perspective historique.
Les six numéros parus entre 2010 et 2013 constituent désormais une collection close.
La plateforme What You See Is What You Hear poursuit ses activités au travers d'un programme curatorial et éditorial (voir la rubrique éditeurs).