english version / version française
Feminine Futures – Valentine de Saint-Point – Performance, Dance, War, Politics and Eroticism
Les presses du réel Performing & sound arts [see all titles]
  Feminine Futures – Valentine de Saint-Point Performance, Danse, Guerre, Politique et Érotisme
Edited by Adrien Sina.
Texts by Adrien Sina, Giovanni Dotoli, RoseLee Goldberg (Performa), Nancy G. Moore, Philippe de Lustrac, Sander L. Gilman, Frédérique Poissonnier, Maja Durinovic, Sarah Wilson, Patricia Guinard, Eric-Noël Dyvorne, Barbara Ballardin.

Graphic design: Adrien Sina.
published in December 2011
texts in French, English, Italian, German
23,5 x 30 cm (hardcover)
512 pages (2500 color ill.)
€48.00
ISBN: 978-2-84066-351-5
EAN: 9782840663515
in stock
 
A reexamination of the role of female avant-gardes in the fields of performance and dance: a comprehensive publication with over 2500 color illustrations, together with documentary material on Valentine de Saint-Point, Marinetti, Futurism, Canudo, Russian Ballets, German and American expressionism (original photographs, manuscript letters, drawings, woodcuts, manifestos, first editions and ephemera).
“Feminine Futures”, an exhibition curated by Adrien Sina, was staged for the Performa Biennial at the Italian Cultural Institute in New York in 2009. It focused on the role of early twentieth-century female avant-gardes in the field of performance and dance. Structured around a unique personal collection, it included a significant number of previously unpublished pieces, some of which subsequently featured in “Danser sa vie” at the Centre Georges Pompidou in 2011-2012.
The examination of hitherto unknown source material – photographs, films or manuscripts unknown to art historians or public collections opens new horizons here. The premises of modernity are challenged with new material, in particular the documentation of ephemeral actions which left few traces.
The reader confronts the very origins of performance and the interdisciplinary practices that have inspired generations of artists through the twentieth century and up to today. A female history of the avant-garde is pioneered here, freed from the hegemony of the “isms”, defined by dominant male artists. A new repertoire of creations and acts of dissidence may be traced through this magnificent archive and book.

This publication is depicts as well a history of photography. An exceptional filed of convergence is opened in the encounter between dance, movement, body language and photography. Genuine artistic strategies remain behind technical processes and their specific pictorial qualities. The photographic pieces of “Feminine Futures” are also witnesses of the history of photography. Half a century of imaginative mutation between the years 1890' and 1940'... From albumen paper, silver or radium bromides to silver prints, a large chromatic spectrum of chemical experiments are gathered, between stability and self-destruction of the visible matter.
Peaks of plastic and artistic mastery are reached in the collaboration between photographers and choreographers such as Isaiah West Taber or Harry C. Ellis with Loïe Fuller, Hixon-Connelly or Herman Mishkin with Vera Fokina and Anna Pavlova, Lou Goodale Bigelow or Nickolas Muray with Ruth St. Denis, Isadora Duncan and Arnold Genthe, Charlotte Rudolph and Hugo Erfurth with Mary Wigman and Gret Palucca, Barbara Morgan and Chris Alexander or Isamu Noguchi with Martha Graham, Maurice Seymour and Siegfried Enkelmann with Ruth Page and Harald Kreutzberg...

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Feminine Futures – Valentine de Saint-Point – Performance, Danse, Guerre, Politique et Érotisme
Les presses du réel – domaine Arts de la scène & arts sonores [tous les titres] – collection Nouvelles scènes [tous les titres]
  Feminine Futures – Valentine de Saint-Point Performance, Danse, Guerre, Politique et Érotisme
Edité par Adrien Sina.
Textes de Adrien Sina, Giovanni Dotoli, RoseLee Goldberg (Performa), Nancy G. Moore, Philippe de Lustrac, Sander L. Gilman, Frédérique Poissonnier, Maja Durinovic, Sarah Wilson, Patricia Guinard, Eric-Noël Dyvorne, Barbara Ballardin.

Conception artistique : Adrien Sina.
paru en décembre 2011
édition française / textes en anglais, italien, allemand
23,5 x 30 cm (relié)
512 pages (2500 ill. coul.)
48.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-84066-351-5
EAN : 9782840663515
en stock
 
Un réexamen du rôle des avant-gardes féminines dans le champ de la performance et de la danse : une publication somptueuse avec plus de 2500 illustrations en couleur, ensemble de documents autour de Valentine de Saint-Point, de Marinetti, du futurisme, de Canudo, des Ballets Russes, de l'expressionnisme allemand et américain (photographies, lettres manuscrites, dessins, gravures, manifestes, éditions originales et programmes).
Focalisée sur un réexamen du rôle des avant-gardes féminines du début XXe siècle dans le champ de la performance et de la danse, la première étape de l'exposition Feminine Futures, conçue par Adrien Sina, a lieu à la Biennale Performa de New York en 2009, à l'Italian Cultural Institute. Structurée autour d'une collection personnelle unique, elle comprend d'innombrables œuvres inédites dont une partie a été présentée dans le cadre de l'exposition Danser sa vie, au Centre Georges Pompidou en 2011-2012.
Le retour à la source à travers des documents photographiques, filmiques ou manuscrits en partie inconnus des historiens de l'art et des collections publiques, permet de franchir une nouvelle étape dans la recherche des prémices de la modernité dans ces zones peu explorées des actions éphémères qui laissent peu de traces matérielles.
Nous sommes là aux origines de la performance et des pratiques pluridisciplinaires qui ont inspiré plusieurs générations d'artistes tout au long du siècle dernier jusqu'à aujourd'hui. Une matrice incontournable reste ici à explorer pour le décryptage des dissidences et des innovations sans lesquelles l'art au féminin n'aurait jamais eu sa propre histoire – insoumise à l'hégémonie des « ismes » initiés par des artistes au masculin.

Une convergence exceptionnelle est née de la rencontre entre la danse, le mouvement, l'expression corporelle et la photographie. De véritables stratégies artistiques sous-tendent les procédés techniques et leurs qualités picturales spécifiques pour asseoir dans la mémoire collective des univers de création novatrice. Les pièces photographiques de Feminine Futures sont aussi un témoignage précieux de l'histoire de la photographie. Un demi-siècle de mutation, entre les années 1890 et 1940... Du papier albuminé, des bromures d'argent ou de radium aux épreuves argentiques, des palettes chromatiques à chimie évolutive se développent jusqu'à l'autodestruction de la matière visible.
Des sommets de maestria plastique et artistique sont atteints dans des collaborations entre photographes et chorégraphes comme Isaiah West Taber ou Harry C. Ellis avec Loïe Fuller, Hixon-Connelly ou Herman Mishkin avec Vera Fokina et Anna Pavlova, Lou Goodale Bigelow ou Nickolas Muray avec Ruth St. Denis, Isadora Duncan et Arnold Genthe, Charlotte Rudolph ou Hugo Erfurth avec Mary Wigman et Gret Palucca, Barbara Morgan et Chris Alexander ou encore Isamu Noguchi avec Martha Graham, Maurice Seymour ou Siegfried Enkelmann avec Ruth Page et Harald Kreutzberg...