english version / version française
Egypt [back to index]
 

Sub Rosa
On Elephantine, his new Northern Spy/Sub Rosa album, Cairo-based Maurice Louca guides a 12-piece ensemble through a panoramic 38-minute odyssey, which he describes as his most ambitious project yet. Elements of free improvisation, Sun Ra's cosmic jazz, gorgeous Arabic melody, trancelike African and Yemeni music and minimalism meet in his wholly unique compositional vision. Louca also makes vital contributions on guitar and piano, and inspires stirring performances from a global lineup.

English edition
Sternberg Press – Histoire, critique et théorie
This study traces the history of a cultural and artistic landscape that has taken shape since the year 2000, with the Internet. Omar Kholeif aims to put into context a new language for seeing, feeling, and being that has emerged through post-millennial technologies, and argues for a nuanced understanding of the post-digital condition.

English edition
ZamânZamân Books (livres)
This publication examines the place of Egyptian Modernist painter Hamed Abdalla in transnational modern art history. Mobilizing the personal archives and library of the artist, Arabecedaire reflects on Abdalla's journeys and influences, bringing to light a vast and rich body of material which guided his painting practice.

French edition
ZamânZamân Books (livres)
This publication examines the place of Egyptian Modernist painter Hamed Abdalla in transnational modern art history. Mobilizing the personal archives and library of the artist, Arabécédaire reflects on Abdalla's journeys and influences, bringing to light a vast and rich body of material which guided his painting practice.

English edition
Mousse – Mousse Publishing (livres)
A mystery tale illustrated with artworks by twelve contemporary artists.

bilingual edition (English / French)
Jeu de Paume – Monographies
Companion book to Basim Madgy's eponymous video: a dreamlike tale about the ocean and its secrets.

bilingual edition (German / French)
Jannink – L'art en écrit
Through stamps and photographs, the Austrian artist tells the story of her mystical and artistic experience in the Sinai desert (the dust jacket is hand-painted by the artist).

bilingual edition (English / Arabic)
Sternberg Press – Monographies et livres d'artistes
A series of narrative portraits and accompanying images of his recent sculptures by Egyptian artist, musician and writer.

bilingual edition (English / French)
Kamel Mennour
Marie Bovo's urban landscapes: different sets of pictures inspired by the Mediterranean culture and architecture, taken in Marseilles or in Cairo since 2007, with an essay and an interview.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Égypte [retour à l'index]
 

édition anglaise
Sternberg Press – Histoire, critique et théorie
Cette étude retrace l'histoire du paysage culturel et artistique qui a pris forme depuis l'an 2000 avec le développement de l'internet. Omar Kholeif s'engage dans une contextualisation du nouveau langage visuel et sensitif qui a émergé à travers les technologies du nouveau millénaire, proposant une réflexion critique et nuancée de la condition post-numérique.

ZamânZamân Books (livres)
Cette publication examine la place du peintre moderniste égyptien Hamed Abdalla dans l'histoire de l'art moderne transnational. Mobilisant les archives personnelles et la bibliothèque de l'artiste, Arabécédaire revient sur le parcours et les influences d'Abdalla, mettant en lumière un vaste et riche corpus de matériaux qui ont guidé sa pratique picturale.

édition anglaise
ZamânZamân Books (livres)
Cette publication examine la place du peintre moderniste égyptien Hamed Abdalla dans l'histoire de l'art moderne transnational. Mobilisant les archives personnelles et la bibliothèque de l'artiste, Arabécédaire revient sur le parcours et les influences d'Abdalla, mettant en lumière un vaste et riche corpus de matériaux qui ont guidé sa pratique picturale.

édition anglaise
Mousse – Mousse Publishing (livres)
Disparition, complot, meurtre, société secrète, êtres hybrides… Hassan Khan livre un récit mystérieux fidèle aux ingrédients du genre, illustré par douze artistes contemporains.

édition bilingue (français / anglais)
Jeu de Paume
Extension éditoriale du projet vidéo éponyme de Basim Magdy, un récit onirique en immersion dans l'océan (dans le cadre du programme « Satellite » organisé par le Jeu de Paume et le CAPC).

édition bilingue (français / allemand)
Jannink – L'art en écrit
L'artiste autrichienne, au travers de tampons et de photographies, fait le récit de son expérience mystique et artistique dans le désert du Sinaï (la jaquette du livre peinte à la main par l'artiste fait de chaque exemplaire une œuvre unique).

édition bilingue (anglais / arabe)
Sternberg Press – Monographies et livres d'artistes
Une série de récits illustrés par les sculptures récentes de l'artiste, musicien et écrivain égyptien.

édition bilingue (français / anglais)
Kamel Mennour
Les paysages urbains de Marie Bovo : plusieurs ensembles d'œuvres inspirées des cultures méditerranéennes, qui accordent une large place à l'architecture, avec un essai et un entretien.