english version / version française
John Miller
 
Among such contemporaries as Mike Kelley and Jim Shaw, but also Tony Oursler and Stephen Prina, John Miller (born 1954 in Cleveland, Ohio, lives and works in New York City and Berlin) embodies a singular position: he articulates the synthesis of an ideologically committed critique of representation with a postconceptual shift toward the “real.” Using completely stereotyped genres (figurative painting, travel photography, landscape painting, and so on), Miller, like Sherrie Levine and Richard Prince, has, since the end of the 1970s, challenged the function of the author and the concomitant loss of aura of the artwork. Yet this critique is for him only a means of revealing the repressed aspect of the ideological aggregates of day-to-day late-capitalist Western culture.
First noticed for his brown “faux” abstract painting and objects recovered by a brown impasto, he resisted to what he calls “aesthetic appropriation” by regularly shifting his practice, introducing series such as the “Middle of the Day” photographs, game show sets and paintings, and golden maquettes through the 1980s and 1990s. This strategy of resistance to a reduction of his work to any critical tag explains why, despite the early critical recognition of his work by theoreticians such as Hal Foster, he is still overlooked among his generation.
Also a writer, John Miller became in 1987 the US Editor for Artscribe; he founded Acme Journal in 1991. For the past two decades, he has written intensively and published texts in Artforum, October and Texte zur Kunst, as well as in numerous museum publications. He has taught art at Columbia University, the School of Visual Art in New York, Yale University, and Cooper Union.

See also: John Miller & Jutta Koether.
 
(external link: lownoon.com)
 

 
2012
English edition
JRP|Ringier
The production/reception dialectic.

2010
bilingual edition (English / German)
JRP|Ringier
Including newly commissioned essays, this reference monograph attempts to remap Miller's entire oeuvre by articulating its development through various series, media, and aesthetic strategies.

2000
English edition
JRP|Ringier
From “polemical” texts to extensive theoretical essays, passing through Ed Ruscha, Bruce Nauman or John Baldessari, these writings have proved to be among the most challenging ones.

1999
bilingual edition (English / French)
Le Magasin
€30.00 €16.00
Retrospective catalogue featuring a chronology of the artist's works, an introduction by Yves Aupetitallot and Lionel Bovier, texts by Mike Kelley, John Miller, and Nancy Spector, and an interview with the artist by Robert Nickas

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
John Miller
 
Aux côtés de Mike Kelley, de Jim Shaw, mais aussi de Tony Oursler ou de Stephen Prina, John Miller (né en 1954 à Cleveland, Ohio, vit et travaille à New York et à Berlin) incarne une position singulière dans l'art contemporain, et représente une synthèse entre une critique radicale de la représentation et un retour post-conceptuel vers le « réel ». Utilisant des genres surdéterminés (peinture figurative, photographie de voyage, peinture de paysages, etc.), Miller joue depuis la fin des années 1970 sur la valorisation de la fonction de l'auteur et la diminution concomitante de l'aura de l'œuvre, partageant certaines préoccupations de Sherrie Levine et de Richard Prince, tout en résistant à la tentation d'une simple « appropriation esthétique ». Ce refus de toute réduction de son travail à un pur discours critique, qui s'est illustré dans l'évolution d'une œuvre complexe à partir des années 1980, explique sans doute sa relative confidentialité, malgré la reconnaissance critique de théoriciens comme Hal Forster.
Egalement écrivain, John Miller a travaillé comme rédacteur américain pour Artscribe à partir de 1987 et a fondé Acme journal en 1991. Depuis une trentaine d'années, il a écrit intensément et publié des textes dans Artforum, October et Texte zur Kunst, ainsi que dans de nombreux catalogues d'exposition. Il a enseigné l'art à l'université de Columbia, à l'école des arts visuels à New York, à l'université de Yale et à la Cooper Union.

Voir aussi : John Miller & Jutta Koether.
 
(lien externe : lownoon.com)
 

 
2012
édition anglaise
Les presses du réel – Écrits d'artistes
La dialectique production / réception dans l'œuvre de l'artiste-écrivain américain (textes 1989-2009).

2010
édition bilingue (anglais / allemand)
JRP|Ringier – Monographies de référence
Incluant plusieurs nouveaux essais, cette monographie de référence parcourt l'œuvre de Miller en articulant son développement autour de différentes séries, de divers médiums et stratégies esthétiques.

2000
édition anglaise
Les presses du réel – Écrits d'artistes
Des courts textes “polémiques” aux essais théoriques développés, en passant par Ed Ruscha, Bruce Nauman, Richard Artschwager ou John Baldessari, ce recueil d'écrits de l'artiste américain répond de manière stimulante au pluralisme esthétique actuel et renverse certaines valeurs.

1999
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
Le Magasin
30.00 € 16.00 €
Catalogue rétrospectif comprenant une chronologie raisonnée des œuvres de l'artiste, une introduction d'Yves Aupetitallot et Lionel Bovier, des textes de Mike Kelley, John Miller et Nancy Spector, et un entretien de Robert Nickas avec l'artiste.