english version / version française
Steffani Jemison
 
Steffani Jemison (born 1981 in Berkeley, California, lives and works in Brooklyn, New York.) uses time-based, photographic and discursive platforms to explore “progress” and its alternatives. Building on a practice that places African American history and culture at the intersection of Conceptual Art, Jemison's work considers how inherited visual strategies both limit and expand our access to history more broadly.
She holds an MFA from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago (2009) and a BA in Comparative Literature from Columbia University (2003). She has participated in artist residencies at Smack Mellon, Brooklyn; the International Studio and Curatorial Program, Brooklyn; Project Row Houses, Houston; and the Core Program at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston. In 2015, she presented her new multipart commission Promise Machine at the Museum of Modern Art.
Jemison's work has been exhibited nationally and internationally at venues including the Brooklyn Museum; the Drawing Center; LAXART; the New Museum; the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Art; the Studio Museum in Harlem; Laurel Gitlen; and Team Gallery.
 
(external link: www.steffanijemison.com)
 

 
2017
bilingual edition (English / French)
Jeu de Paume
Catalogue dedicated to a video project on the practice of gospel mime within the African-American church. This subject is an opportunity for Jemison to express her interest in language and gesture, and on the discursive dimension of African American culture.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Steffani Jemison
 
Steffani Jemison (née en 1981 à Berkeley, Californie, l'artiste vit et travaille à Brooklyn, New York) utilise des dispositifs temporels, tant photographiques que discursifs, pour interroger l'idée de « progrès » et ses alternatives. Prolongeant une pratique qui situe l'histoire et la culture afro-américaine au carrefour de l'art conceptuel, le travail de Jemison interroge les stratégies visuelles dont nous avons hérité et la façon dont elles peuvent limiter ou élargir notre accès à l'histoire.
Elle est titulaire d'une maîtrise de la School of the Art Institute de Chicago (2009) et d'une licence en littérature comparée de l'université Columbia (2003). Elle a participé à différents programmes de résidence pour artistes, dans le cadre notamment de Smack Mellon, Brooklyn ; International Studio and Curatorial Program à Brooklyn ; Project Row Houses à Houston Elle présente en 2015 sa commande pluripartite « Promise Machine » au Museum of Modern Art de New York.
Le travail de Steffani Jemison est exposé aux Etats-Unis et à l'étranger, notamment par le Brooklyn Museum (New York), le Drawing Center (New York), LAXART (Los Angeles), le New Museum (New York), l'Académie royale danoise des Beaux-arts (Copenhague), le Studio Museum de Harlem (New York), Laurel Gitlen, la Team Gallery, entre autres.
 
(lien externe : www.steffanijemison.com)
 

 
2017
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
Jeu de Paume – Monographies
Catalogue consacré à un projet vidéo sur la pratique du gospel mime au sein de l'église afro-américaine. L'occasion pour Steffani Jemison d'exprimer son intérêt pour le langage et le geste, et la dimension discursive de la culture des Africains-Américains (dans le cadre du programme « Satellite » organisé par le Jeu de Paume et le CAPC).