Pascal Pinaud

 
Pascal Pinaud (born 1964, lives and works in Nice) is one of the most talented artists of this generation. Since the 1990s, he has questioned the principles of painting to better advance as a painter. A graduate of the Villa Arson art school in Nice, he contributes to the excitement of theory and practice that generates among the best artists of the moment.
Exhibited early on in his career, he has established the principles of a work that have led him to produce different series and to connect his creation to the gestures and methods of production borrowed from industry, the artisanal or certain situations from daily life.
He offers paintings, sculptures, photographs and installations where a history of our creative and transformative capacities of reality blends with the history of the arts. He thus raises the question of their relationships between our physical and mental environment and design, architecture, a certain poetry of everyday life and an “ordinary adventure” that belongs to us all. He analyzes, he diverts and brings us to places where forms make it possible to experience “a thousand lives.” He often evokes the dialogue of his work with those of Gérard Gasiorowski, Bertrand Lavier, John Armleder, Noël Dolla as well as with certain painters of American abstraction from the 1980s such as Philip Taaffe or Jonathan Lasker. He has exhibited in numerous museums and art centers around the world, from the Mamco in Geneva to the Frac Bretagne. His works are present in major public and private international collections including the Museum Ludwig in Vienna and the MNAM in Paris. At every stage of his work, he has chosen an experimental position which brings into play the vitality of art, that of sight, of the creative gestures within a society which he uses as a permanent source of inspiration and artistic invention.

See also Thomas Golsenne: Pascal PinaudSerial Painter; Eric de Chassey: Pascal PinaudTranspainting.

(external link : www.pascalpinaud.org)
 
Pascal Pinaud - Horizon mural - Dessins 1989-2017
2018
French edition
MAMCO - Monographs
Pascal Pinaud's drawings and paper works.
Pascal Pinaud - Magnetic Abstraction
2017
bilingual edition (English / French)
Frac Bretagne
Gathering Pascal Pinaud's most recent works, this monograph features numerous exhibition views highlighting the artist's scenographic qualities and his relationship with design, furnishing and architecture. This edition includes two essays and a long interview.


 top of page

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Pascal Pinaud
 
Pascal Pinaud (né en 1964, vit et travaille à Nice) est un des artistes les plus talentueux de cette génération qui, à partir des années 1990, a remis en question les principes de la peinture pour mieux continuer à peindre. Issu de l'École d'art de la Villa Arson (Nice), il participe à l'effervescence théorique et pratique qui génèrera parmi les meilleurs artistes du moment.
Très vite exposé, il pose les principes d'une œuvre qui l'amène à travailler à des séries différentes et à associer sa création à des gestes et des méthodes de production, empruntés à l'industrie, à l'artisanat ou à certaines situations de la vie quotidienne.
Il propose alors des peintures, des sculptures, des photographies, des installations où une histoire de nos capacités créatrices et transformatrices du réel se mixe avec l'histoire des arts. Il pose ainsi la question de leurs relations entre notre environnement physique et mental et le design, l'architecture, une certaine poésie de l'« every day life », une « aventure ordinaire » qui est le bien de tous. Il analyse, il déroute, il nous conduit sur des terrains où les formes permettent d'expérimenter « mille vies ». Il évoque souvent le dialogue de son œuvre avec celles de Gérard Gasiorowski, Bertrand Lavier, John Armleder, Noël Dolla ou encore avec certains peintres de l'abstraction américaine des années 1980 comme Philip Taaffe ou Jonathan Lasker. Il a exposé dans de nombreux musées ou centres d'art à travers le monde, depuis le Mamco de Genève jusqu'au Frac Bretagne. Ses œuvres sont présentes dans de grandes collections internationales publiques ou privées, celle du Musée Ludwig à Vienne comme celle du MNAM à Paris. À chaque étape de son œuvre, il choisit une position expérimentale qui met en jeu la vitalité de l'art, celle de la vue, des gestes créatifs au sein d'une société qu'il utilise comme une source permanente d'inspirations et d'inventions plastiques.

Voir aussi Thomas Golsenne : Pascal PinaudSerial Painter ; Eric de Chassey : Pascal PinaudTranspainting.
 
(lien externe : www.pascalpinaud.org)
 

 
2016
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
Frac Bretagne
Organisé autour de deux essais et d'un entretien au long cours, ce panorama des récents travaux de l'artiste niçois s'appuie sur de nombreuses vues d'expositions, mettant ainsi en valeur les qualités scénographiques de son œuvre et ses relations avec le design, le mobilier et l'architecture.