english version / version française
Michel Butor & Dan Graham
 
Michel Butor (born 1926 in Mons-en-Barœul, France) is a writer, essayist and poet. He redefined the genre of the novel, notably with Second Thoughts (1957), further developing new forms with Mobile (1962). During the Sixties, he engages in an experimental way, writing travel stories, dream narratives and other fundamental works with painters, musicians and photographers. Also a teacher in such places as Egypt, Manchester and Geneva, Butor the traveler is the recipient of numerous literary prizes.

Dan Graham (born in 1942, lives in New York City) is a highly influential figure in the field of contemporary art, both as an artist and as a well-respected critic and theorist. He was the founding director of the John Daniels Gallery (1964–1965), where he presented Sol LeWitt's first solo exhibition and showed works by Donald Judd, Dan Flavin, and Robert Smithson. Graham is known for his early conceptual work for magazines, his groundbreaking video work, and his site-specific architectural pavilions.

See also Michel Butor; Dan Graham; Gabriele Basilico & Dan Graham.
 

 
2015
English edition
Sternberg Press
In the fall of 2013, Dan Graham and Mieko Meguro traveled with Donatien Grau to a town in the French Alps to meet Michel Butor, one of the foremost innovators of postwar literature. This is their conversation.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Michel Butor & Dan Graham
 
Michel Butor (né en 1926 à Mons-en-Barœul) est un écrivain, essayiste et poète. Il a participé à définir le genre du Nouveau roman avec La Modification (1957, Prix Renaudot), avant de développer de nouvelles formes narratives (Mobile, 1962). Durant les années soixante, il embrasse une voie expérimentale et publie des carnets de voyages (Le Génie du lieu), des récits oniriques, des poèmes et d'importants ouvrages en collaboration avec des peintres, des musiciens et des photographes. Également enseignant en Égypte, à Manchester ou encore à Genève, Butor le voyageur est lauréat de nombreux prix littéraires (Grand prix de l'Académie française, Prix Mallarmé, Grand Prix de la SACEM) venus couronner une riche carrière.

Dan Graham (né en 1942, vit et travaille à New York) est une figure parmi les plus influentes dans le champ de l'art contemporain, bien sûr en tant qu'artiste mais également comme critique et théoricien. Célèbre pour ses premiers travaux conceptuels pour des magazines, ses œuvres vidéo révolutionnaires et ses installations architecturales spécifiques, Dan Graham fut le fondateur et le directeur de la John Daniels Gallery (1964-1965), où il a présenté la première exposition monographique de Sol LeWitt et a montré les travaux de Donald Judd, Dan Flavin et Robert Smithson.

Voir aussi Michel Butor ; Dan Graham ; Gabriele Basilico & Dan Graham.
 

 
2015
édition anglaise
Sternberg Press – Histoire, critique et théorie
À l'automne 2013, Dan Graham et Mieko Meguro se rendent avec Donatien Grau dans les Alpes françaises afin d'y rencontrer Michel Butor, l'un des plus grands innovateurs de la littérature d'après-guerre. Voici la retranscription de leur conversation (postface de Paul McCarthy).