english version / version française
Peter Downsbrough
 
The work of visual artist, photographer and film artist Peter Downsbrough (1940, New Bunswick, N.J.) has had a major impact on the perception of art.The varied work of the artist-ranging from sculpture and books to photography, video, and film-maintains a complex relationship with architecture and typography, while also drawing on the achievements of the early avant-garde (Bauhaus, De Stijl) and Minimal Art. In terms of form, the work of Downsbrough is highly rigorous and exhibits a powerful geometric sense, restricting itself primarily to the use of line, plane, negative space (cutting away), and delimitation. In addition to his spatial manipulations, the artist also has a keen interest in place, as is evidenced in his cartographical works and city photographs.
Downsbrough studied architecture and art. Around the mid-1960s, after several years of work and exploring materials, an evolution took place with resulted, in 1970, in the work with the Two Pipes (outside), Two Dowels (inside), and Two Lines (on paper). At the same time, he also started taking photographs to document these pieces. Buy taking photographs of "cuts" that already existed in the urban landscape. Some of these photographs were used in books, some appeared in magazines, but it wasn't until 1960 that they showed up in exhibitions. From 1977 on, Downsbrough realized several videos as well as audiotapes. A record was made in 1978 and released in 1982. In 1980, on the Spectacolor Board on Times Square, N.Y., he realized a piece, a 30 second spot shown once every hour for four days and documented it in a short film, "7 come 11". The work with maquettes as a means of exploring space and structure started around 1983. The first commissioned public work was a wall piece realized in Rennes, France, 1990. Today, all these disciplines occupy the field of his activities.
 

 
2015
Centre des livres d'artistes (CDLA)
Artist's book in two volume.

2010
Art centers, museums, galleries & varia
€25.00 €12.50
A static shot of a railroad bridge with a suburban train in one way then another, evoking the positioning in space and the passage of time.

2010
Art centers, museums, galleries & varia
€25.00 €12.50
A sound and visual construction between two static shots on the axis of a street lined with bungalows: the crossroads of a busy street, with trucks and cars; the main street of an average city in North America, the immersion of the camera into the highway flows...

2010
Art centers, museums, galleries & varia
€25.00 €12.50
The camera explores a port area and progresses along the sand or gravel mounds, between two static shots on a double drawbridge downtown. A film about the juxtaposition, separation and collection of elements.

2010
Art centers, museums, galleries & varia
€25.00 €12.50
The camera follows the walls of a warehouse and pauses before each closed opening, producing a series of "paintings" that punctuate shots of the city, its organization and flow.

2010
Art centers, museums, galleries & varia
€25.00 €12.50
A sound, linguistic and visual composition unfolds from a meeting room located in the heights of a skyscraper at La Défense in Paris. A film about the inside/outside relationship, the built environment as the natural environment for men.

2010
Art centers, museums, galleries & varia
€25.00 €12.50
Three buildings beside water, a map of a North American city, the flow of a highway with distant hills in the background, a slow passage on a suspension bridge towards a business center: a film about the passage of time and displacement.

2010
Art centers, museums, galleries & varia
€25.00 €12.50
A few piano chords on warehouses shots where human presence is discreet. A film about economy, its organization and its laws, the prima of the structure on what animates it.

2010
Art centers, museums, galleries & varia
€175.00 €75.00
Special offer for the purchase of the 7 DVDs by Peter Downsbrough.

2010
English edition
Incertain Sens
Artist's book.

2009
Sub Rosa
An audio work by Peter Downsbrough, in collaboration with two musicians of the Buffle collective Xavier Garcia-Bardon and Benjamin Franklin.

2007
French edition
Jannink
This publication, conceived by Peter Downsbrough, includes three unpublished texts and constitutes a real artist's book. A work on the notion of position and centring which questions the relationship between space and language.

2007
Jannink
This publication, conceived by Peter Downsbrough, includes three unpublished texts and constitutes a real artist's book. The limited edition is accompanied with a box set signed and enhanced with the stamp of two parallel lines, as well as an original work, folded and inserted in the book.

2005
bilingual edition (English / French)
Art centers, museums, galleries & varia
€14.00 €9.00
Monograph with texts by Eva González-Sancho, Michel Gauthier, Line Herbert-Arnaud and Richard Klein, exploring different aspects of Downsbrough's work (movies, maps, space...).

2004
An urban journey.

2004
Le Fresnoy
A video triptych.

2004
French edition
MAMCO
Reference monograph.

2004
without text
Art centers, museums, galleries & varia
€17.00 €10.00
Artist’s book: an invitation to travel by way of a mappemonde punctuated by lines and photographs of city spaces.

2003
last available copies!
A b/w movie realized in digital video, on the road and between machines.

2002
no text
Incertain Sens
Artist's book.


Le Consortium
out of print
16 color postcards.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Peter Downsbrough
 
Figure majeure de l'art contemporain, Peter Downsbrough (né en 1940 à New Bunswick, New Jersey) opère depuis le début des années 1970 dans le sillage du minimalisme, au croisement de l'art conceptuel et de l'art concret. Ses nombreuses pratiques artistiques – sculpture, photographie, commande publique, livres, films, pièces sonores, appliquées, lors d'interventions discrètes, à l'espace urbain – sont fondées sur la notion de position et de cadrage, et interrogent le rapport à l'espace et le language. Artiste de la simplicité et du dénuement, il structure l'espace en créant des volumes discrets mais clairement visibles à l'aide d'un vocabulaire plastique épuré, constitué de figures géométriques simples, de lignes, de mots ainsi que de surfaces peintes. La combinaison des éléments linguistiques et géométriques formalise ainsi des espaces structurés induisant une multiplicité de lectures.
 

 
2015
Centre des livres d'artistes (CDLA)
Livre d'artiste en deux volumes.

2010
Centres d'art, musées, galeries & varia
25.00 € 12.50 €
Un plan fixe sur un pont ferroviaire avec un train de banlieue dans un sens puis dans l'autre à partir duquel s'élabore une composition qui évoque le positionnement dans l'espace et le passage du temps.

2010
Centres d'art, musées, galeries & varia
25.00 € 12.50 €
Une construction visuelle et sonore entre deux plans fixes sur l'axe d'une rue bordée de bungalows : le carrefour d'une avenue bruyante avec ses camions, ses automobiles ; l'artère centrale d'une ville moyenne nord-américaine ; l'immersion de la caméra dans les flux autoroutiers...

2010
Centres d'art, musées, galeries & varia
25.00 € 12.50 €
La caméra explore une zone portuaire et progresse le long de monticules de sable ou de gravier, entre deux plans fixes sur un double pont-levant situé dans un centre ville. Un film sur la juxtaposition des éléments, ce qui les sépare et les rassemble.

2010
Centres d'art, musées, galeries & varia
25.00 € 12.50 €
La caméra longe la façade d'un entrepôt et marque une pause devant chaque ouverture close produisant ainsi une série de « tableaux » qui scandent des prises de vues sur la ville, son organisation et ses flux.

2010
Centres d'art, musées, galeries & varia
25.00 € 12.50 €
Une composition sonore, linguistique et visuelle se déploie à partir d'une salle de réunion située dans les hauteurs d'un gratte-ciel du quartier de la Défense à Paris. Un film sur le rapport intérieur/extérieur, l'environnement construit comme milieu naturel pour l'homme.

2010
Centres d'art, musées, galeries & varia
25.00 € 12.50 €
Trois immeubles lointains au bord d'une vaste étendue d'eau, le plan d'une ville nord américaine, les flux d'une autoroute avec de lointaines collines en arrière-plan, la lente traversée d'un pont suspendu en direction d'un centre d'affaires. Un film sur le passage du temps et le déplacement.

2010
Centres d'art, musées, galeries & varia
25.00 € 12.50 €
Quelques notes de piano accompagnent des travellings dans des entrepôts de marchandises où la présence humaine se fait discrète. Un film sur l'économie, son organisation et ses lois, le prima de la structure sur ce qui l'anime.

2010
Centres d'art, musées, galeries & varia
175.00 € 75.00 €
Offre spéciale pour l'achat des 7 films réalisés par Peter Downsbrough sur DVD en 2010.

2010
édition anglaise
Incertain Sens – Livres et éditions d'artistes
Livre d'artiste.

2009
Sub Rosa
Une collaboration sonore entre Peter Downsbrough et les musiciens Xavier Garcia-Bardon et Benjamin Franklin, prolongeant musicalement l'univers esthétique évanescent de l'artiste.

2007
Jannink – L'art en écrit
Cet ouvrage, qui regroupe trois textes inédits et dont Peter Downsbrough a réalisé la maquette, constitue un véritable livre d'artiste. Un travail sur la notion de position et de cadrage qui interroge le rapport entre l'espace et le langage.

2007
Jannink – L'art en écrit
Cet ouvrage, qui regroupe trois textes inédits écrits en 1986 et dont Peter Downsbrough a réalisé la maquette, constitue un véritable livre d'artiste. L'édition de tête est accompagnée d'un boîtier signé et réhaussé au tampon de deux lignes parallèles par l'artiste ainsi que d'une œuvre originale, pliée et insérée dans le livre.

2005
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
Centres d'art, musées, galeries & varia
14.00 € 9.00 €
Monographie publiée suite à plusieurs grandes expositions, avec des textes de Eva González-Sancho, Michel Gauthier, Line Herbert-Arnaud et Richard Klein, faisant le point sur différents aspects de l'œuvre de Downsbrough (le film, la carte géographique, l'espace).

2004
Les presses du réel – Art contemporain
Un voyage d'une ville à l'autre, montrant comment la perception de l'espace urbain est modifiée par les déplacements et les contextes différents.

2004
Le Fresnoy
Un tryptique vidéo.

2004
MAMCO – Monographies
Monographie de référence.

2004
sans texte
Centres d'art, musées, galeries & varia
17.00 € 10.00 €
Livre d'artiste : une invitation au voyage à travers une mappemonde ponctuée de lignes et de photographies d’espaces urbains.

2003
Les presses du réel – Art contemporain
derniers exemplaires disponibles !
Un film noir et blanc qui s'inscrit dans la continuité des expérimentations multimédia de Peter Downsbrough, réalisée en caméra numérique : la route défile, les automobiles passent, les machines travaillent.

2002
sans texte
Incertain Sens – Livres et éditions d'artistes
Livre d'artiste.


Le Consortium – Editions d'artistes
épuisé
16 cartes postales couleur (vues de New York et de Dijon).