english version / version française
Elvan Zabunyan
 
Elvan Zabunyan, contemporary art historian, is a teacher at University Rennes 2 and art critic. Her research is about North-American art from the 1960s and particularly the turning point of the year 1970 around racial and feminist questions. She has been working since the beginning of the 1990s on the issues shown by cultural studies, postcolonialist theories and gender studies, trying to build, thanks to critical thoughts, a methodology of history of contemporary art articulated around a cultural, social and political history. She published Black is a color, A History of African American Art (Dis Voir, 2004), she co-edited several books and wrote many articles in collective works, exhibition catalogues and periodicals.
 

 
2013
French edition
First monographic book on the unique work of Korean-American artist Theresa Hak Kyung Cha (1951-1982), at the crossroads of performance, of conceptual art, of video and of poetry.

2004
French edition
Dis Voir
In Black is a Color, contemporary art historian and curator Elvan Zabunyan proposes a new approach to contemporary art and its history through the practice of Black American artists from the Harlem Renaissance to today.

2004
English edition
Dis Voir
In Black is a Color, contemporary art historian and curator Elvan Zabunyan proposes a new approach to contemporary art and its history through the practice of Black American artists from the Harlem Renaissance to today.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Elvan Zabunyan
 
Historienne de l'art contemporain, Elvan Zabunyan est maître de conférences habilitée à l'université Rennes 2 et critique d'art. Ses recherches portent sur l'art nord-américain depuis les années 1960 et notamment le tournant 1970 autour des questions raciales et féministes. Elle travaille depuis le début des années 1990 sur les problématiques issues des cultural studies, des théories postcoloniales et des études de genre en cherchant à construire, grâce à ces pensées critiques, une méthodologie de l'histoire de l'art contemporain articulée autour d'une histoire culturelle, sociale et politique. Elle a publié Black is a color, une histoire de l'art africain américain (Dis Voir, 2004), co-dirigé plusieurs livres et a écrit de nombreux articles dans des ouvrages collectifs, des catalogues d'exposition et des périodiques.
 

 
2013
Les presses du réel – Critique, théorie & documents
Première publication dédiée à l'œuvre singulière de l'artiste coréenne-américaine Theresa Hak Kyung Cha (1951-1982), à la croisée de la performance, de l'art conceptuel, de la vidéo et de la poésie.

2004
Dis Voir – Arts visuels – Essais
Recherche historique et analyse critique richement illustrée, Black is a Color retrace l'émergence d'une identité artistique – celle des artistes noirs américains, de la Harlem Renaissance à nos jours –, et ses multiples formes de représentation (peinture, sculpture, photographie, vidéo et performance).

2004
édition anglaise
Dis Voir – Arts visuels – Essais
Recherche historique et analyse critique richement illustrée, Black is a Color retrace l'émergence d'une identité artistique – celle des artistes noirs américains, de la Harlem Renaissance à nos jours –, et ses multiples formes de représentation (peinture, sculpture, photographie, vidéo et performance).