english version / version française
Martin Beck
 
Martin Beck (born 1963 in Bludenz, Austria, lives and works in New York and Vienna), an artist whose interests lie at the intersection of art, design, architecture, and historical inquiry, is concerned with shifts and changes of perspective that occurred in the period of late modernism; how their material, formal, and social structure impacts contemporary culture. A number of projects developed over time include investigations into the history of communal living, notably the famous American commune of Drop City; the emerging discourse on ecology and politics at the 1970 International Design Conference in Aspen, Colorado; student protest and history writing in the case of the brutalist Art and Architecture Building by Paul Rudolph at Yale University; and the impact of modularity on the exhibition, exemplified by designer George Nelson's Struc-Tube display system, etc. Beck distills from these references a paradoxical coexistence of emancipatory promises and logics of control that run through and between them.
An interrelated concern for Beck is what generates form making and what rules govern it, whether it be forms of organization, display, communication, enunciation, knowledge, or research and how it comes together, operates, and is perceived in the format of the exhibition. Conversely, in using the exhibition as a medium, Beck asks how the exhibition and the artworks therein provide and negotiate a space for this investigation.
Martin Beck holds a professorship at the Academy of Fine Arts of Vienna. In conjunction with his artistic practice, Beck also writes critically about art, design, and architecture. He occasionally also works as an exhibition designer.
 

 
2017
English edition
Sternberg Press
This publication both documents and extends Martin Beck's cycle of exhibition and residency at the Carpenter Center for the Visual Arts in Harvard. This two-year long project focused on the exhibition histories and academic pursuits of the Carpenter Center, built in 1963 by Le Corbusier.

2015
English edition
Archive Books
Summer Winter East West discusses Martin Beck's engagement with display not only as a tool of presentation but also as a form of communication—within and beyond the realm of the exhibition.

2014
bilingual edition (English / French)
Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery, Concordia University
Ten years of artmaking by Martin Beck, at the intersection of art, design, architecture, and historical inquiry.

2012
English edition
Sternberg Press
A visual environment that reflects the interrelations between art, architecture, design, ecology, and social movements.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Martin Beck
 
Martin Beck (né en 1963 à Bludenz, Autriche, vit et travaille à New York et à Vienne), un artiste dont les intérêts se situent à l'intersection de l'art, du design, de l'architecture et de l'histoire, se penche sur les transitions et les changements de perspective qui sont apparus à la fin du modernisme et sur la façon dont leurs structures matérielles, formelles et sociales affectent la culture contemporaine. Plusieurs de ses projets de recherche portent ainsi sur l'histoire de la vie en communauté : sur la célèbre commune américaine de Drop City, sur l'émergence du discours écologiste et politique à l'International Design Conference d'Aspen au Colorado, en 1970, sur les manifestations étudiantes et l'historiographie en rapport avec l'édifice brutaliste Art and Architecture de Paul Rudolph, à l'Université Yale, sur l'impact de la modularité sur les expositions, telle que conçue par le designer George Nelson dans son système Struc-Tube, etc. À partir de ces références, Beck distille une coexistence paradoxale de promesses émancipatoires et de logique de contrôle qui traversent et sous-tendent chacune d'elles.
Une préoccupation connexe, chez Beck, concerne ce qui génère la mise en forme et les règles gouvernant cette mise en forme, que ce soient des formes d'organisation, d'exposition, de communication, d'énonciation, de savoir ou de recherche, et leur façon de se rencontrer, d'opérer et d'être perçues dans le contexte de l'exposition. Inversement, en utilisant l'exposition comme médium, Beck interroge la manière dont l'exposition et l'œuvre d'art offrent et se disputent un espace où mener cette recherche.
Professeur à l'Académie des beaux-arts de Vienne, Martin Beck est également critique d'art, d'architecture et de design. Il travaille aussi parfois en tant que designer d'exposition.
 

 
2017
édition anglaise
Sternberg Press – Monographies et livres d'artistes
Cette publication documente et poursuit le cycle d'expositions et la résidence de Martin Beck au Carpenter Center for the Visual Arts à Harvard. Ce projet de deux ans avait pour objet la mise en perspective de l'histoire académique et curatoriale du Carpenter Center, construit en 1963 par Le Corbusier.

2015
édition anglaise
Archive Books
Avec Summer Winter East West, Martin Beck décide de traiter de l'exposition comme forme de communication en invoquant conjointement l'histoire moderne de l'exposition et celle des communautés contre-culturelles des années 1960 et 1970.

2014
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen, Université Concordia
Un examen de la production artistique de Martin Beck sur une douzaine d'années, à l'intersection de l'art, du design, de l'architecture et de l'histoire.

2012
édition anglaise
Sternberg Press – Catalogues
Les interactions entre art, architecture, design, écologie et mouvements sociaux.