english version / version française
Phill Niblock
 
One of the most important multimedia artists of his generation, American minimalist composer, filmmaker and video artist Phill Niblock (born in 1933 in Anderson, Indiana, lives and works in New York) has produced a multidisciplinary work. His “Intermedia Art” features a combination of minimalist music, conceptual art, structural cinema, systematic or even political art, and has actively contributed to transform our perception and experience of time.
Admittedly one of the greatest experimental composers of our time, Phill Niblock initiated his career as a photographer and film director. A jazz passionate, he moved to New York in 1958 where he started photography In the mid-1960s, specializing in portraits of jazz musicians (Duke Ellington, Charles Mingus, Billy Strayhorn...). In the middle of the 1960s, he made his first films for the dancers and choreographers of the Judson Church Theater. From 1968 on, Phill Niblock focused on music and composed his first pieces, which, according to the artist, should be listened to at loud volume in order to explore their overtones. He pursued his film projects independently with The Movement of People Working, a series of films lasting over 25 hours, made between 1973 and 1991, in which the repetitive nature of work movements acts as a direct echo to his musical compositions.
Since the mid-1960s, his analogue photographic work explores New York's architecture and urban planning. The sequencing and layout of his images offer a mapping of the location and object photographed, such as the areas in South Bronx (1979) fallen into disuse or the facades of SoHo Broadway district (1988). Phill Niblock is particularly interested in the screening of moving images – films and slideshows. Produced between 1966 and 1969, Six Films, a series of short films with sound realized with 16mm film, heralds his experimental method through portraits of artists and musicians such as Sun Ra and Max Neuhaus.
In 1968, the artist started experimenting a combination of his visual productions with his musical scores in order to create sound architectural and environmental compositions. Recreated by the artist for the first time since its last presentation in 1972 for the purpose of this exhibition, the Environments series extracts the reality of different surroundings through images, all the while generating a dense and intense temporary environment of projected images, music and movements throughout the museum space.
Phill Niblock is the director of Experimental Intermedia, a foundation born in the flames of 1968's barricade-hopping.
 
(external link: www.phillniblock.com)
 

 
2013
bilingual edition (English / French)
Frac Franche-Comté
An overview of American minimalist composer, filmmaker and video artist Phill Niblock's work since the 60's, through about twenty essays and interviews by musicologists, art critics and historians, various documents, scores, and more than 8 hours of videos on DVDs.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Phill Niblock
 
Phill Niblock (né en 1933 à Anderson, Indiana, vit et travaille à New York et à Gand) propose depuis plus de quarante ans une œuvre pluridisciplinaire. Son art « intermedia » associe musique minimaliste, art conceptuel, cinéma structurel, art systématique ou encore politique, et s'active à modifier notre perception et notre expérience du temps.
Reconnu comme l'un des grands compositeurs expérimentaux de notre époque, Phill Niblock débute sa carrière artistique comme photographe et cinéaste. Passionné de jazz, il s'installe à New York en 1958. Niblock débute la photographie en 1960 et se spécialise dans les portraits des musiciens de jazz (Duke Ellington, Charles Mingus, Billy Strayhorn...). Au milieu des années 1960, il réalise ses premiers films pour les danseurs et chorégraphes du Judson Church Theater. A partir de 1968, Phill Niblock se consacre à la musique et compose ses premières pièces qui doivent – comme le précise l'artiste – être écoutées à fort volume pour en explorer les sur-harmoniques (overtones). Il poursuit indépendamment ses projets cinématographiques dont The Movement of People Working (le mouvement des gens qui travaillent), une série de films de plus de 25 heures réalisée entre 1973 et 1991 où la gestuelle répétitive du travail s'offre en écho direct à ses compositions musicales.
Depuis le milieu des années 1960, son œuvre photographique réalisée en argentique dépeint l'architecture et l'urbanisme new-yorkais. La séquence et l'agencement des vues proposent une cartographie du lieu et de l'objet photographié, tels que le quartier désaffecté au sud du Bronx en 1979 ou les façades du district de SoHo Broadway en 1988. Phill Niblock s'intéresse plus particulièrement à la projection d'images en mouvement – films et suites de diapositives. Produit entre 1966 et 1969, Six Films, une suite de courts-métrages sonores réalisés en film 16 mm, annonce sa démarche expérimentale au travers de portraits d'artistes et musiciens dont Sun Ra et Max Neuhaus.
A partir de 1968, l'artiste expérimente l'association de ses productions visuelles à son œuvre musicale pour créer des compositions architecturales et environnementales. La série des Environments, recréé par l'artiste pour la première fois depuis sa dernière présentation en 1972, extrait, par l'image, la réalité de plusieurs environnements, tout en créant un environnement temporaire dense et intense d'images projetées, de musique et de mouvements dans l'espace du musée.
Ancien professeur du College of Staten Island (City University de New York), Phill Niblock est depuis 1985 le directeur de l'Experimental Intermedia Foundation de New York, dont il est artiste / membre depuis 1968. Il est le producteur de Music and Presentation Intermedia depuis 1973 (environ 1000 représentations) et dirige le label XI Records de l'Experimental Intermedia.
La musique de Phill Niblock est disponible sur les labels XI, Moikai, Mode et Touch. Le label Extreme a publié un DVD de ses films.
 
(lien externe : www.phillniblock.com)
 

 
2013
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
Les presses du réel – Arts de la scène & arts sonores
Un panorama des activités de l'artiste multimédia et compositeur new-yorkais depuis les années 1960, à travers une vingtaine d'essais de musicologues, de critiques et d'historiens de l'art, des entretiens, divers documents et plus de 8 heures de vidéos sur DVD inclus.